We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lavalon SeaView Hostel & Bar
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
118
10
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
10
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimor lestebanana pancakeshot showerthe ownerplace to staydorm roomsea viewfree wifinight marketpancake breakfastbook exchangelaundry servicewestern toiletlonely planetfood marketthank you very muchmeet other travellers
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2015

- Nice and social hostel
- Dorm and two double rooms (AC and hot water available, buts costs extra). Rooms a clean and nice.
- Very good local manager, knows everything you need about Kupang and VISA to Timor Leste, sometimes a little bit grumpy, but ok :)
- Motorbike rental service
- Breakfast included (good pancakes)
- Close to the nightmarket
- Free WIFI

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhomomit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

The location is very good with a beautiful view to the beach. The rooms are nice and it is possible to order Western or Indonesian food. The wifi is the best I have seen in Indonesia.
The owner is very friendly and helpfull and knows all you need to know about Kupang. It is sad such a good hostel, is located in Kupang, a city where nothing is happening and not much turists are around, to enjoy a pleasent stay in Lavalon B&B.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
Thank Mulle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Serious, what a good place! I came to Kupang for a visa run to Timor-Leste and the owner Edwin was a great help. He told me everything I needed to know and do for my visa for Timor-Leste and the one for Indonesie for my way back. They helped me with everything without any extra charge. The service is absolutely amazing and the food in the restaurant really, really good! Free coffee and pancakes for breakfast, and if you book the two person rooms, you have the best hot shower of Asia.
Also props for the free water refill, to safe plastic waste!!
Serious guys, check this place out!
Saskia, Amsterdam

Room Tip: The dormbeds are very cheap, 50.000. But the double rooms with view and hot shower are worth every rupiah!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Made B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

I found this place in Lonely Planet. Edwin was very welcoming. He is extremely helpful and taking good care of his guests. The food is good and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The lavalon atmosphere is relax and cozy and I'm definitely planning to go back a third time!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile

My intention of going to west timor was getting a new visa for indonesia in east timor. Edwin is very friendly and helped me a lot and knows what you have to do for the visa. He knows a lot about the region as well. The place has a very nice view. I stayed twice at lavalon so far and I will go once more this month. From this place it s easy to catch a plane or the ferry to rote. The rooms are clean, but it s a good idea to book in advance because now they have two private rooms and one dorm. If you would like to book you should call/message Edwin. You can find his number on his website. Thank you Edwin for my nice stay at lavalon!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews