We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unforgettable Experience Not to Be Missed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Changuinola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soposo Rainforest Adventures
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We read about Soposo Rainforest Adventures in a guide book while planning a trip to Panama and I did not imagine what an amazing, unique adventure we had in store for us. We were very prepared for the trip due to the help of Demecia as we prepared for our trip to Panama. We went in early April when there was no mud and very little rain which is a plus. We had an easy trip to the river from Bocas del Toro and were met upon our arrival from the islands and taken to the river. We felt very honored to be welcomed into the William's home and enjoyed delicious, tradional meals and great conversation with the William's family and the staff. It's amazing what you will see in the rainforest and you will not find better guides for the area. We only had 2 days/1 night with Soposo and I would have definitely wanted a few more nights there because there is so much to see and do. This will be an unforgettable experience for anyone with a yearning for adventure and for a trip that is out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shiya14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Soposo Rainforest Adventures
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2009

I had the privilege to visit the Soposo Rainforest Adventures in March 2008. While in graduate school studying Community & Conservation/EcoTourism I found myself searching for potential sites focused on community-based ecotourism. Having explored Costa Rica extensively while living there for 4 years, I had the desire to search outside the normal travel experience and wanted to explore the natural & cultural heritage of Panama. When I came across Soposo Rainforest Adventures, I was amazed! It was excited to see that a small indigenous community consisting of 11 villages of only 3000 people still govern under a monarchy, practice traditional agriculture, hunting/fishing, & dancing, lived on the border of the La Amistad International Park. This area is known to be one the most biologically diverse areas in all of Central America and upon arrival I discovered the rich cultural history dated back at least 3000 years. I met up with Celestino, founder of Soposo and my guide through the history of the Naso people. The Naso, or “Tjër Di”, take their name from the Rio Teribe, their mythological river; one can immediately understand this mysticism as you move up the Rio Teribe in a traditional dugout canoe; the flora & fauna, while spectacular, is masked by the presence of cultural history this area holds. But this mystical river and the Naso are not without threats - they face the loss of their cultural identity, encroaching development, and the building of hydroelectric dam which could change the face of Rio Teribe and the Naso people. Celestino and his mother prepared wonderful meals and the accommodations were superb! I most enjoyed our talks and discussions regarding the history of their people, and how they are taking action to protect their traditional lifestyle and culture (and the ride back down the river on a balsa float Celestino and his brother made in less than an hour). I would suggest to anyone who is interested in stepping back and appreciating a unique culture to visit Celestino, his family, Soposo Rainforest Adventures, and the Naso people. Please feel free to contact me with questions at [-].

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank rlchappell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2007

We were fortunate enough to have the opportunity to visit Soposo Rainforest Adventures and the home of the Williams family. We never thought that Panama had so much to offer, especially culture-wise. It was amazing to meet and get to know a number of friendly Naso indians. So much of their original culture is still intact that it seems like we had stepped back in time. The Naso were more than willing to share their traditional ways with us, everything from their handicrafts to food preparation to botanical medicine. It was an eye opening trip.

The beauty of the area is also worth mentioning. It was the first time in our lives that we were actually surrounded by the lushness of the tropical rainforest. We got to see toucans, parrots, iguanas and even a sloth!!!

We would recommend it to anyone looking for a real rainforest adventure!!

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

The majority of our time in Panama was spent with the Naso Indians. We stayed with Celestino & Demecia Williams ( Soposo Rainforest Adventures ) and their son Zaven in their village. Celestino never left our side and made sure that we got around safely from our first day to the very last. Demecia helped us with all of the planing and logistics of the trip. This trip would not have been possible without them. We are very grateful for having such wonderful hosts and guides. If you are interested in a rainforest adventure I would highly recommend going with Soposo.

I would like to give a special thanks to Celestino’s parents for welcoming me into their home. To his brothers, Michael, Jason and Max for guiding me through the jungle, helping me carry my equipment and playing games in our down time. And to Coco for helping me with my backpack even though it weighed almost has much as him. This was truly a trip of a lifetime and an experience that I will not forget.

Michael & Kate
Salem, MA
USA

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adigro84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Soposo Rainforest Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soposo Rainforest Adventures

Address: Area Teribe | Changuinola, Changuinola 0103, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Changuinola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Changuinola
Price Range: $187 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soposo Rainforest Adventures offers the experience of a lifetime to adventure seeking guests. Join us on a journey into the land of indigenous Naso tribe of the tropical rainforest of Bocas del Toro Panama. Travel by dugout canoe, learn about ancient traditions, witness a plethora of wildlife and relax in traditionally constructed bungalows. Guided one day and multiple day tours are available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing