We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place”
Review of Shri Ganesh Hotel

Shri Ganesh Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shri Ganesh Hotel
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Mount Abu
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a bad place”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Got a large but pretty dark room for 200rs, which is about standard. The kitchen did a great banana honey porridge, but the highlight for me was the cooking lesson. 250rs for 2 hours, and I was the only 'student' so was able to do a lot. The food turned out well as well!

The guesthouse swears that hiking by yourself is dangerous, and so does Rough Guide, but I paid for a 500rs walk one day, and then went out by myself the next, and i really should have saved the money. A guide with '160rs permit fee' really seems unnecessary.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    18
    26
    10
    14
See reviews for
4
33
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jodphur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

For some reason Mount Abu really suffers from enough budget guesthouses, and this is the only place in the 600 Rupee mark.

It's very budget - rooms look very tired, but there is hot water and it's in a good location.

If there was more choice it would make them spring into action and actually do something about the state of the place. Unfortunately, this will most likely be your only option.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I have stayed here and I really enjoyed my stay. You get what you pay for, it is a budget option but the rooms are cheap so you can't complain. I found my room was really big compared to other budget options that I had stayed in on my many trips to India. The rooftop is lovely and offers fantastic views, its nice to go and hang out there and if you are feeling like doing something different then you can do yoga or cooking classes. The staff are lovely too!

Don't know why people are moaning about this hotel as it is a budget option, and you get a good room for the price!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

probably the only choice in town as other guesthouses and hotels dont want foriegn tourists, so very unfortunate we were unable to find other accommodation in this town. The staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful. Rooms are small and dirty, bathroom a disgrace even for india! Lonely planet says free yoga in the morning, free walks and able to use the kitchen, none of this is true! Avoid if possible!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TR15784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Abu hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel is pretty basic and in dire need of a renovation. Seems that they are still living off their reputation as a backpacker haven. The room was pricey for what I got, but it was reasonably clean.
The staff are quite helpful and the restaurant uninspiring, but cheap.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Abu
0.0 km away
Hotel Samrat International
Hotel Samrat International
#26 of 39 in Mount Abu
53 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Shiv Villa
Hotel Shiv Villa
#10 of 39 in Mount Abu
124 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Ashoka
Hotel Ashoka
#6 of 39 in Mount Abu
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Aradhana
Hotel Aradhana
#8 of 39 in Mount Abu
121 reviews
14.0 km away
Hotel Shivalik
Hotel Shivalik
#3 of 6 in Abu Road
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shri Ganesh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shri Ganesh Hotel

Property: Shri Ganesh Hotel
Address: Adjoining Sophia School, Mount Abu 307501, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sirohi District > Mount Abu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Mount Abu
Price range (per night): $21 - $91
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shri Ganesh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing