We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with Friends”
Review of The Swan

The Swan
Ranked #11 of 56 Restaurants in West Malling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 28 - USD 57
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Swan is an independent leading Kent restaurant bringing modern dining to the lively market town of West Malling. The restaurant and bar combines stylish design and bespoke furnishings, creating a relaxed yet vibrant atmosphere. Along with the sleek cocktail bar and restaurant, upstairs there is a lounge bar and three private dining rooms, perfectly suited for both social and business gatherings. In the warmer months, the elegant garden is open for diners, drinkers and events. The peaceful top terrace is the perfect wedding venue. Open all day The Swan offers imaginative dining seven days a week. The brunch is one of the best served in the area; healthy options such as granola, caramelised grapefruit, fresh juices or classic dishes including eggs benedict, salt beef hash and a full English. The a la carte menu comprises robust and creative flavours, with a selection of grills and seasonal favourites. In addition, the midweek set menu also offers fabulous value.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A return visit for us but with friends who had not been before. The food was excellent. Starters of crispy egg with mushroom and chorizo, tuna sashimi and crab salad were all beautifully prepared and presented and very tasty. The main course dishes did not disappoint either. The skate was perfectly cooked, the cheese soufflé was tasty and well presented and the duck confit and pork belly went down really well. The only issue I had was the very small side dishes for the price charged. Service was good although sometimes over eager which made things feel slightly rushed at times. All in all a great meal. We will all be back.

Thank deanh206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Dean

Thank you for you taking the time to write a review, your feedback is highly valued and I will ensure all staff are made aware of your kind comments. I will talk to the head chef about your observations regarding the side dishes and will also speak to the General Manager about the service - this is extremely useful to us as it indicates to us where we can improve.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2018

Went with the family on a Sunday. Disappointment all round. Started with vodka and tonic served in schoolroom tumblers with tap tonic. Lager ok in frosted glasses.
Main course served in pasta plates. All very unappertising. Dessert of apple and rhubarb crumble served All in a bowl together a la school dinners. It did not used to be like this here as we have been visiting for 14 years.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edwardKingsHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Edward

Thank you for taking the time to write following your recent visit. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us. Please be advised we don't have tonic fed through a tap at either bar, we provide Fever Tree tonic as a mixer. Our choice of glassware and crockery seems to displease you, I'll advise the bar staff and kitchen team about your observations.

The crumble dish is one of our top selling desserts but it appears to bring back more school memories for you! I will make the chefs aware of your comments, feedback is always welcome.

You say that you have been a loyal customer for 14 years and we greatly appreciate that fact. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Visited here recently with a large family party to celebrate Mothers Day. Great food & service in a pleasant ambience. Interesting menu which presented the challenge at every course of wanting many on the dishes listed but only being able to choose one! - Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Stuart W

Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted you enjoyed celebrating Mother's Day with us. Come back soon, we'd love to see you.

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed the full breakfast. Tasty and decent sized serving for the price. Nice clean venue, efficient if not overly-friendly staff. Tables are quite close together and i struggled to hear our own conversation. Toilets are modern but were out-of hand-wash, the hand lotion was wonderful, i immediately bought some! Would not rush back for the noise reason, sorry .

Thank Treats999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Treats

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. Hopefully one day we will be able to welcome you back, we would love to see you again.

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing service pancakes were lovely water was also amazing I would love to go again highly recommend

Thank ryatA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear ryatA

Thank you for your wonderful review! Do come back soon, we would love to see you again. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan also viewed

West Malling, Kent
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing