We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely jubbly”
Review of Faros Taverna

Faros Taverna
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 18
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The oldest and the best tavern in Sami since 1942 !!
Reviewed 1 November 2018

This waterside taverns offers a limited range on its menu, all the better to keep its quality high. Next to the iconic Mermaid, favourite dining place for the crew of the 'Mandolin' film, except for the reclusive Nick Cage, Eat here if you can get a table, the food is almost as good as Mama Puel's next door.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018

Lunch time stop in Sami which travelling around the island. Faros Taverna is located on the harbour front with stunning views of the sea.
We ordered special omelettes which were average in appearance and taste.
Service was slow.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ceini0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We had two very nice meals here during our stay. Nothing much to say other than great food and service.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank hazzybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

As of the very good rating on trip advisor we went to this restaurant right by the harbour of Sami. We got disappointed- I will tell you why.

The seating is right by the water but not very cozy at all’s Our waiter was ok friendly but not more than that - just doing a job but no passion. We ordered different food - spinach pastry as a starter and then a met pie as well as pork souvlaki as for the main dish. The food did not taste and special at all. The meat pie which we enjoyed eating the other day in a different restaurant on the island was dry and not very tasty. The pork souvlaki was ok but the meat seamed a little rare. The side salads were unseasoned and the vegetables contained were unripe. We got drinks in dirty glasses - there was still lipstick from the guest before on the glass. All together unfortunately a very disappointing meal.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank daftdairyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

I had sea bass first day and chicken/bacon souvlaki the second. Both were great.

Great service from a Walter Matthau relative.

Can only recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank CA-Gloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Faros Taverna also viewed

Sami, Cephalonia
Sami, Cephalonia
 

Been to Faros Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing