We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, spacious low rise modern hotel”
Review of Cositel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cositel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coutances
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious low rise modern hotel”
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We stayed here for a weekend whilst attending a wedding in the town. The hotel is quite modern and is spacious and laid out in nice gardens. It is set a little out of the centre of town and would be a 20 minute uphill walk if thats were you need to be. The room was a reasonable size and whilst it could do with redecoration had everything we needed. The staff were very helpful and when we arrived early in the morning after getting the overnight ferry they let us have our room early and let us have breakfast. The bar and food were also friendly and good value. Large free car parking was also a bonus. I wouldn't stay here for a whole holiday but for one or two nights when touring or driving to the ferry its ideal.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    122
    55
    22
    7
See reviews for
30
146
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diggle UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Having stayed in other 2 star hotels in France I can say this is the best. Yes the rooms were dated but they were spacious, spotlessly clean, everything worked and was completely comfortable. As for the food. We had, probably, the best meals of our holiday on the two nights we stayed. Staff were polite and helpful, it was easy to find and well positioned, so I can thoroughly recommend it for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlstravelsDiggleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

In French, Bof means something that is really average. And that's the case with this hotel.
The green setting is nice and the place is rather modern. But then rooms are rather cheap and the bathrooms in poor condition (no shower, etc.). The breakfast is also so so and the restaurant gently overpriced.
I guess this place is really overrated on this site, or maybe it is that this recent hotel is ageing by the day.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krsto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillesCositel, Directeur at Cositel, responded to this review, 24 August 2009
Good morning,
Thank you for staying in Cositel in Coutances.
In fact, most of our rooms have a bath. We will renovate rooms and bathrooms next winter. Afterward, our hotel will have more showers.
About breakfast, we offer a standard buffet breakfast which is really appreciated (cheese, ham, fruits salad, eggs, coffee, milk, cereals, ...)
We are surprised by your comment, most of our guests are really satisfied of their stay in Cositel.
Hope for welcoming you once again.
Best Regards
Cositel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

This two star hotel deserves at least another half star. The common areas, including the outdoor garden with koi fish pond, are most pleasant, the food was good, the room was of a decent size (a lot like a typical American chain hotel with two double beds) except there was no shower, only a tub, but with plenty of hot water. The young front desk staff were all quite nice and helpful. This is a rare (in my limited experience) French hotel that has a computer for guest use - for free. Cable t.v. included CNN. It was quiet and although not in town, was a most comfortable place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msts80231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

The Cositel is located outside of the city centre of Coutances, but still within walking distance (20 minutes).

The environment is pleasant with all rooms offering a view into the garden. The rooms are OK sizewise, the bathrooms have a tub. The facilities are in good condition. Unfortunately the windows are small, so the rooms are quite dark.

The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming, free Internet access (Wi-Fi and 2 PCs) is available.

Do not miss the Hotel Restaurant "Le Pommeau". It is the best retaurant in town, with excellent French cuisine and fresh seafood. The 3 course Menus for 21 € and 33 € are highly recommended

  • Liked — the excellent restaurant
  • Disliked — the architecture and the room furnishing is a bit outdated
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank riehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coutances
3.2 km away
Ibis Budget Coutances
Ibis Budget Coutances
#1 of 3 in Coutances
176 reviews
10.4 km away
La Villa Julia
La Villa Julia
#1 of 3 in Agon-Coutainville
161 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel La Pocatiere
Hotel La Pocatiere
#3 of 3 in Coutances
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 km away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
9.6 km away
Le Mascaret
Le Mascaret
#1 of 1 in Blainville-sur-Mer
93 reviews
8.7 km away
L'Hostellerie de la baie
L'Hostellerie de la baie
#1 of 1 in Regneville-sur-Mer
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Coutances

Been to Cositel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cositel

Property: Cositel
Address: 29 rue de Saint Malo, 50200 Coutances, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Coutances
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coutances
Price range (per night): $88 - $181
Hotel Class:3 star — Cositel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cositel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cositel Hotel Coutances

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing