We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 5 star at all...”
Review of The Zuri Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Zuri Kumarakom
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
“Not a 5 star at all...”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

First 5* i have been in where I was not served welcome drink and even water on reception when we entered the resort, it was getting served to others why not to us don't know maybe only for foreigners. We booked the honeymoon package in presidential pool suit, I think best in thier list for two nights and no meal for one night. Resort was confused for all the four days regarding our booking and checkout, I had to every day give my checkout date to them. Reception don't answer your queries, they never turn up if you put a query to them, may be they don't understand english.
Ambience is awesome but you won't be able to enjoy due to spidders.
Only boat ride and cycle is available with them rest all is paid.
Sunset cruise I don't liked it at all.
Pool villa even on main pool i din't find any float bed or ring to enjoy. It would have been awesome if they would have provided some things for pool enjoyment in pool villa.

If you are planning stay more then 1 night.... i will say waste of money.

I would have rated the resort terrible if restaurent staff won't have been good. Only things I liked was service at the restaurent and spa. Thanks for the candle light they managed it nicely. Turn down service arrangement was good but reception messed it up.

For me bad experience due to lack of unprofessional reception staff.

Room Tip: Don't go for 404 and 405 presidential suit. They are near houseboat jetty and houseboat kills th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael s, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Your feed back has been most welcome and apologies as you did not receive a welcome drink. I assure you of personalised service when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    366
    104
    40
    33
See reviews for
521
498
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My review is quite late, we stayed at Zuri in the month of Sep 2011 and it was really flawless.We were even upgraded to the lagoon view room on day1 itself, as the ones we had booked were full. Their customer service is exceptional and we got to learn the names of all the staff's , their lives .Every night we would end up talking to the staff & having fun all the way until midnight. Chef Prakash(who isn't working with them anymore) was exceptional in his service, prepared fantastic meals. The breakfast was a perfect mix of different indian and american food, so you are spoilt for choice.So is the lunch and dinner buffet. The rooms are clean, well serviced & it is really the best one in kumarakom. Their internet is spotty, the one in our room never worked..We gave up after a while.. But everything else was perfect. Beautiful views & great people , would always remember their smiling faces and graciousness.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

after staying at lake resort this hotel was a complete disaapoinment, firstly it is a beautiful property provided u want a goa feel, there is nothing traditional about this place at all. the service is very uncharming and unwelcoming. the hotel itself has zero beauty or entertainmen t, unless u stay in the pool villa theer is nothing to enjoy in the hotel. the infinty pool gives u a view of the manmade lagoon, y would u go all the way to kerala and see the manmade lagoon, also the pool villa was ok nothing great, i do not recommend this hotel at all , no charm , zero servive and nothing exotic about it at all. staff is highly confused, no smiles and very ok, afetr paying twice as much as compared to lake resort we did not get even onwe tenth the service, charm ot beauty, i would never go back. breakfast sucked, they did not have traditional south indian cofeee!!!!!!!!!! like hello , i m in south remember

Room Tip: dont choose roomms here stay at kumarakom lake resort or coconut lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Problems from the beginning. To start with we had to wait in the lobby for two hours before a room was available. And it was HOT and Humid. The Internet was not working until the following morning. OK if we are out in the jungle, but not OK in a 5 star resort. On first glance the establishment looked beautiful. But in reality it's “run down” with lots of rotted wood, nicked up furniture.
As the Zuri is in an isolated location, we had no choice but to eat in their restaurant.
We chose their fish restaurant. The food was mediocre, the service was slow and it was overpriced!!!!!. When I questioned the prices the next day, with comparison bills from the fabulous restaurants of the CGH Earth chain, the Zuri did nothing for me but say they were a five star, this is the price. What 5 star?? They should be bending over backwards to please the customer. And by the way later in our vacation we stayed at the very beautiful five star “ the Paul “ in Bangalore, the prices at ”the Paul “ were less then half, the food wonderful, the hotel fabulous!! The Paul knows what five star is! CGH knows what customer service is, and their chefs are amazing.. Zuri take some lessons

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael s, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you so much for your feed back. I found it interesting that you had “comparison” Bills with you, but I am so happy that you brought to my attention.

As you were here you would have seen the new renovation and the display information, which now looks beautiful and surprised you did not mention this.

I hope that when you visit again you will see the wonderful improvements that other have enjoyed as mentioned in there reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We spent one wonderful night at this resort hotel, with its own landscaped lagoon and on the banks of Lake Vembanad. We'd had a long drive through the Western Ghats from Tamil Nadu and were on our way to Kochi. As our photos indicate, the Zuri is a charming place to relax and empty one's mind after a busy and somewhat chaotic day touring.

We'd booked a deluxe lagoon view room and were upgraded from the ground floor to the upper floor, which had superior views and a striking vaulted ceiling. The room felt spacious and we particularly enjoyed sitting on the private balcony overlooking the lagoon with glimpses of the vast Lake Vembanad through the coconut palms. We took a walk through the property and saw the sun set over the Lake. The Zuri is worth visiting for the views alone.

We delayed our checkout until 12 noon so as to enjoy the swimming pool, set in a quiet, private section of the resort.

I'd certainly recommend staying here for more than just one night. The hotel is in a spectacularly beautiful location, none of the rooms overlook one another and the highest wing is just two stories high. There's no sense of crowding or rushing. A nice touch was the complimentary afternoon tea in the gardens. There's no need to leave the property, since the restaurant is very pleasant and there's live entertainment from Indian musicians.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of the lagoon or lake, or both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
3.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.3 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.6 km away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.3 km away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri Kumarakom

Property: The Zuri Kumarakom
Address: V - 235 Karottukayal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): $221 - $704
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If heaven was a place on earth, it would be on the banks of a breathtaking Vembanad Lake that spreads serenely over 205 square kilometres of picture perfect beauty. And it is. Set in 18 verdant acres on the shores of the Vembanad Lake and just 2 hours from the Cochin International Airport, The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala, Resort & Spa is a five–star deluxe spa resort in Kumarakom, set at the heart of the beautiful Southern state of Kerala–fondly referred to as ‘God’s Own Country’. Standing directly beside the Lake, this Kerala resort offers spacious living–dining rooms, traditional Indian–style bedrooms and individual gardens with private plunge pools.Opened in 2006, The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is the winner of the 2007 and 2008 ‘Best Resort Spa Hotel in India’ title. Home to the largest spa in South India, Maya Spa offers not only western and oriental therapies but also authentic Ayurvedic practices at our resort in Kerala. The distinctive Body Temple, picturesquely situated on an island in the centre of the lagoon, is the perfect location for yoga, meditation or simply quiet contemplation.The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic location and world–class amenities. The hotel offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool with water–spouting elephant sculptures and a luxury spa in Kumarakom with Ayurvedic treatments. The Lime Tree, Laguna Bass and Trunk Call Bar serve very good Indian and international cuisine. Experience the heavenly beauty of Kumarakom in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken every sense… to experience pure bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Zuri Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Kumarakom
Radisson Kumarakom
Kumarakom Radisson
The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing