We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic resort with wonderful views”
Review of The Zuri Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Zuri Kumarakom
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We spent one wonderful night at this resort hotel, with its own landscaped lagoon and on the banks of Lake Vembanad. We'd had a long drive through the Western Ghats from Tamil Nadu and were on our way to Kochi. As our photos indicate, the Zuri is a charming place to relax and empty one's mind after a busy and somewhat chaotic day touring.

We'd booked a deluxe lagoon view room and were upgraded from the ground floor to the upper floor, which had superior views and a striking vaulted ceiling. The room felt spacious and we particularly enjoyed sitting on the private balcony overlooking the lagoon with glimpses of the vast Lake Vembanad through the coconut palms. We took a walk through the property and saw the sun set over the Lake. The Zuri is worth visiting for the views alone.

We delayed our checkout until 12 noon so as to enjoy the swimming pool, set in a quiet, private section of the resort.

I'd certainly recommend staying here for more than just one night. The hotel is in a spectacularly beautiful location, none of the rooms overlook one another and the highest wing is just two stories high. There's no sense of crowding or rushing. A nice touch was the complimentary afternoon tea in the gardens. There's no need to leave the property, since the restaurant is very pleasant and there's live entertainment from Indian musicians.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of the lagoon or lake, or both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

988 - 992 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

I got to know from Tripadviser reviews that if you stay in this hotel then book a pool villa room to have an awesome view of Vembanad lake and it was very true. We booked a pool villa and were quite happy to see the villa and amenities provided inside. The only issue was the prying eyes of the passing by boats as the pool was not secured from outside, people in passing by boats can see your pool and some people even come ready with their cams and video cams. I reported this to the authorities. Except for this, my stay was very pleasant, the property is very nice, food was ok though not great.

Room Tip: Go for Pool Villas if you want to have an non-restricted view of the Vembanad lake, though these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saurabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked zuri resort for a official goal-setting meet - with delegates from all our India locations. I must admit, that from the very entrance to the resort, we all were thrilled and hoping for a very good 3 days ahead of us - and it was fulfilled by the competent management and very friendly staff at the property. The food spread was amazing, the taste were authentic and i must say that all of us indulged,
About the rooms - they were just amazing - including the huge bathrooms :-)
The service was up to mark quick but not too much imposing. Even the conferences were set by the hotel staff - without any issues.
The pool was nice, so were the facilities like sauna, jacuzzi and gym with steam.

I am sure, I will be going back again - with family and friends!

Room Tip: Lagoon view - always
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preetamkabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael s, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

We welcome groups and conferences and your presence on the property gave everyone a positive energy, so I would like to thank you for your most friendly visit and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We booked a two night stay at Zuri not really knowing what to expect.Much to our amazement this resort turned out to be the perfect place for complete relaxation.The location is fabulous, the service great,our cottage was very comfortable.The only thing that fell short was the food.We expected more local Kerela dishes in the Buffet,both in veg and non-veg.The food left much to be desired,otherwise we had the most perfect holiday,short and sweet!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkiChennai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael s, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

We try to cater for all culinary tastes. At any time you can request the chef for your preferences. During check in we do take note of your indicated meal expectations. Many thanks for your feed back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Had a wonderful stay here. I had a suite that was incredibly comfortable. Air conditioning could have been a little stronger, but it wasn't the end of the world. Bathroom was gigantic. I loved the private outdoor shower, connected to the bathroom. After a long, hot and sweaty day, it was perfect.

The food and dining options were fantastic. I feel that most big resorts outside of the US offer westernized cuisine, obviously to make the western tourists feel more at home. I was really impressed, however, to find that the Zuri specialized in local Keralan cuisine and fresh seafood....all was fantastic. No complaints.

I would recommend this hotel to someone who's been traveling throughout India for a while and just wants to relax and pamper themselves for a few days (tops). You're not going to see the real India by coming to the Zuri and the Zuri only. But if you're going to make the trip to see the Keralan backwaters, this is not a bad place to set up shop for a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.3 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
767 reviews
3.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.8 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
343 reviews
0.2 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
736 reviews
2.3 km away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri Kumarakom

Address: V - 235 Karottukayal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $231 - $880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If heaven was a place on earth, it would be on the banks of a breathtaking Vembanad Lake that spreads serenely over 205 square kilometres of picture perfect beauty. And it is. Set in 18 verdant acres on the shores of the Vembanad Lake and just 2 hours from the Cochin International Airport, The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala, Resort & Spa is a five–star deluxe spa resort in Kumarakom, set at the heart of the beautiful Southern state of Kerala–fondly referred to as ‘God’s Own Country’. Standing directly beside the Lake, this Kerala resort offers spacious living–dining rooms, traditional Indian–style bedrooms and individual gardens with private plunge pools.Opened in 2006, The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is the winner of the 2007 and 2008 ‘Best Resort Spa Hotel in India’ title. Home to the largest spa in South India, Maya Spa offers not only western and oriental therapies but also authentic Ayurvedic practices at our resort in Kerala. The distinctive Body Temple, picturesquely situated on an island in the centre of the lagoon, is the perfect location for yoga, meditation or simply quiet contemplation.The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic location and world–class amenities. The hotel offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool with water–spouting elephant sculptures and a luxury spa in Kumarakom with Ayurvedic treatments. The Lime Tree, Laguna Bass and Trunk Call Bar serve very good Indian and international cuisine. Experience the heavenly beauty of Kumarakom in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken every sense… to experience pure bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Zuri Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Kumarakom
Radisson Kumarakom
Kumarakom Radisson
The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing