We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average.”
Review of Backwater Ripples

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Backwater Ripples
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were nice and spacious, the pool was nothing to write home about, the restaurant was priced well. We had a buffet dinner one night and the food was cold. We also gave our laundry to be done, and they lost five articles and a pair of shorts had more stains on it after washing then before. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelcritic786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 371 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

Rooms are not clean, be careful when paying extra for lake view rooms. Staff very unfriendly especially at the reception and swimming pool. Sub standard rooms, AC not working most of the time. Not going back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yasubmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I enjoyed the food, my son enjoyed the fishing and swimming pool, my wife enjoyed the Traditional dance and peace full nature, all of us enjoyed the food, before I went there lot of reviews are telling the hotel food was not great so I have a doubt running in my mind about food. Nevertheless we visited the place . But I had been asked after each and every meal "Sir How about food" a girl standing out of the food hall and noted the food comments of customers.
Evening dinner has limited variety but overall a very good food "But we are arranged a group tour so we had all food are in buffet manner" But I have ordered some foods directly from restaurant to my room to taste some sea food items like (Kari mean it will coated and cooked in banana leaf ) I was not expect this type the taste is OK but the price more than Rs.500/- little bit costly for a single fish
I have a very good experience its is really great what do you want ?, Cricket, yes you can play with your friends, Cycling ,yes you can enjoy a ride around the resort , Swimming yes you can do up to 8 (we allowed) Fishing yes you can near your cottage or near the lake. Ayurveda massage yes it is very nice with the people but one thing I want to tell I can hear lot of noises from the reception area during my course it is very disturbing during massage . I have taken massage in some other places like shanthigiri and Bangkok the surrounding are very quite so we slept quickly but here that is the problem. I have complaint with their guest book also .but overall the massage is OK . So you will definitely forget all the things outside the resort your business, your home, all of it. really nice room Really nice atmosphere let us check my photos and videos

Room Tip: cottages near to reception area by the side of lake have beautiful views of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godsownson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

i stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days on my Kumarakom trip with my parents and sibling. We had a duplex cottage and it was wonderful for a family of 4. The resort overall is fantastic with a spectacular view of the lake. Houseboats keep sailing past the resort whole day. The staff is very hospitable, prompt with service and very keen on making your stay memorable. The same holds for the restaurant staff in the resort. The food in the breakfast and dinner buffets was very good too.Backwater ripples made my family trip enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: Prefer a room with the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hubbleflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Hi,
If you are going there with reviews then waste of time and money. I have been there, not at all value for money,no lift, sunset cruise is nothing interesting its only an hour, nothing to see, its just a small water body, food service is late and not on time.
Its considered start hotel but better to call it Motel in terms of service. Hair started itching due to beds

Room Tip: Just dont choose anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.1 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
800 reviews
3.3 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
349 reviews
1.4 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
742 reviews
4.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.3 km away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwater Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Ripples

Address: Kumarakom PO, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#7 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $134 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backwater Ripples 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backwater Ripples offers 34 luxury independent cottages in a variety of styles to cater various requirements. The accommodation is spacious, private and superbly appointed with state of the art designer amenities and personalized services. The resort has wide range of facilities to make sure a comfort and memorable stay in our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Backwater Ripples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kumarakom
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing