We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property - extraordinarily expensive food!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent property - extraordinarily expensive food!!!!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My review is going to be a mixed bag. After having read all the other gushing reviews of this property, I would not give the same gushing review. After having paid the stiff rates, I expect better value for my money and the resort needs to earn its 5 star billing.

We love staying at any Taj property. Kumarakom is no exception. The location on the shores of Lake Vembanad is just perfect. The day we arrived, the hotel was experiencing some technical problem, so our villa was without water and electricity. Of course, they set it right in 30-45 minutes but it was annoying not to be able to use the bathroom after a long car journey.

We stayed in a room with the private pool at the edge of the property. Needless to say, my son had a fantastic time in the pool. If one is planning a holiday in Kumarakom do splurge a little and book the private pool room. It is worth it. The bathroom is glamorous with an outdoor rain shower, looks good but is not user friendly or convenient. The loo is placed in a tight corner with no health faucet and there are too many creepy crawlies because of the outdoor theme. It can be disconcerting to find a spider climbing up your bath towel as you reach for it after your shower.

The room we stayed in did not have a ceiling fan. So the Air conditioning had to be switched on all night as it was the only means of cooling the room. All of us got up with a headache the next morning due to the non stop air conditioning. Everything else was great. The staff were so courteous and helpful. They just couldn't do enough for you. The only glitch in the whole experience would be the food. I am not complaining about the taste or quality of food. IT was great as keeping with the tradition of the Taj. It was the cost versus the quantity. The portions were teeny weeny as opposed to the cost of the food. We have stayed in several Taj properties before, but nowhere have we ever felt we were being practically robbed!! Atrocious prices for minuscule microscopic portions. Other than this, top star billing for this property. A lovely and relaxing property.

Would we come back? I would have to say yes, for the simple reason nobody in India does hospitality the Taj way.

Room Tip: Go for the private pool rooms. They are worth it. Edge of the property with great views of the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vidyanavin491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
Whilst we are glad that you had a great vacation with us and the family enjoyed the temptation villa,we do apologise for the glitches that you had initially.
We have preserved nature in its pristine beauty in our resort and by doing this ,we try and provide an experience that is totally different to what one would experience in resorts generally.
We do look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    264
    63
    23
    30
See reviews for
522
466
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I decided the moment i stepped in to TAJ kumarakom that i have to tell the whole world about how great that place is .Trust me ..it's beyond what you can express in words ..you got to feel it .The way they make you feel...Hospitality industry should learn from TAJ to follow suit in giving the customers a WOW experience .

When we checked in , we were welcomed with the fresh tender coconut .As i was having Vihaan along with me, the thoughtful receptionist Parvathi got him a nice gift ( a teddy that he still plays with when going to sleep) .She instantly reminded me of my good old days at the park sheraton where i worked once as a guest service assistant.Then Mittu -the front desk attendant escorted us to the room .Little did we expect that he would offer us so many services which came by .He told us we can get a baby cot in the room so that Vihaan can sleep peacefully .Also he informed us that we can avail the services of a baby sitter the next morning .Then he gave us a brief on the room and services and left .Sujay & I were so impressed as it's not the typical artificial smiles that we got that evening ...everyone at TAJ exhibited positive attitude and that is what made a difference to their service.It was like they were not doing a job ,but they were really offering to help us in making our stay a memorable and convenient one .Even at the restaurant , Bipin and another guy -i forget his name but he was a staunch kollywood fan were so friendly that vihaan just went to them easily and they took him for a detour of the restaurant while we enjoyed our dinner .It was all magical-the whole experience of staying at TAJ. The manager of the place also constantly checked if we were comfortable whenever he met us and there were all always asking for Vihaan and interacting with him .The next day i even opted to go for a massage as we were offered a baby sitter to take care of the baby .It was TAJ that gave me the confidence to leave my baby with someone i never knew for two hours to sit back and indulge in a body massage

If i have to start telling about the room -i can go on.I fell in love with the SUNBIRD .That was the name of our room -it was a VILLA ...beautiful room .It had a wonderful balcony which is like an open space that leads to a pond .And the bathroom was opening up to nature scenery..they have put up nets on top...we can overlook the tress and bathe ...but you did have the bath tub a little inside and optional mat curtains were there to close in case you need more privacy ..I loved that bathroom ...Guess after a long time i indulged in some one hour bath :-))


Everything in TAJ was wow ..wow ..wow ...We also had cycles to help you reach the reception , restaurant from the Villa as it was quite far off . I guess after ages -i cycled all the way to and from my Villa -enjoyed it absolutely . If you get a chance- you MUST visit TAJ KUMARAKOM and feel the royal treatment that they offer you !!!!

It's worth every penny that they charge you .....

From that vacation -I turned a TAJ loyalist.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vijayameenakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your heartfelt and enchanting feedback of our hotel.
I am sure this feedback will encourage a lot of visitors to firm upon their decision to choose our hotel whenever they plan a trip to Kumarakom.
As you truly said we try to motivate our employees and make them realise how important vacations are in any individual's life.Hence it is important to treat each guest as a different individual with different needs.This is what helps us provide the sort of service that we do.
We do hope that you will continue to promote the good word and also look forward to welcome you back to the resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

It was a heartwarming experience to stay at kumarakom Taj. They have loads of activities the whole day - like, boating, back water rides, wolf watching, birds watching, cultural dances, village ride, clay pot making, painting, cycling etc. Nice food, mesmerising resort, huge in size (you cana ctually spend abt 3-4 days in the resort itself), n ice food, lovely rooms, a swimming pool and massages to rejuvenate urself. Perfect place for a couple to spend some time together!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smritij6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
As you rightly put it,the variety of activities in our resort make it an extremely blissful experience .These activities are unique in themselves and help one to connect with nature .Many of these activities are such that one would long to do but would find it difficult getting back to practically - for eg .cycling or fishing in our lagoon or pot making
These help children also to also develop a different perspective about life which they might otherwise never come across in the urban world
We look forward to welcome you back to our resort yet again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It is a nice hotel in case you are looking for a place to relax. We were there for our honeymoon. We loved this property.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankur_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you back to celebrate many more momentous occassions in life

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Despite a slight hiccup on arrival when it appeared we were not expected, nothing could fault our 4 night package at this beautiful resort. Every attention to detail is given to the spotless and luxurious accommodation set out on various islands between the Bakers' Bungalow and lagoon and Vembanad Lake. Furniture, ornaments, accessories, spacious outside bathroom and a glorious plunge pool create such a beautiful home that it is hard to make the most of the fascinating backwaters within walking and boating distance of the resort. To add to all this bounty is the adjoining Bird Sanctuary, but no need really to venture that far when the birds come to you.
The staff are friendly, attentive and generous - Prince in particular checked all was well each day and ordered us a packed lunch when realising we had to leave early for our flight. His instructions went slightly awry, but the food was most welcome none-the-less. The ayurvedic doctor gave great advice that sorted out a bad back, and all made us feel part of the family.
Food is absolutely delicious - stick to the local Keralan fare and enjoy every mouthful. Evening snacks after a short cruise on the lake were another lovely touch. To be surrounded by water and not to come across one mosquito is testament to the care and thought that has singled out this Taj property.
My only recommendation for consideration in future improvements is to investigate how to quieten the A/C - but by cooling down the accommodation whilst we were having a wonderful dinner by the diya-bordered lagoon, entertained by local musicians and dancers, we were able to have a most comfortable night each time without any A/C.
Our heart-felt thanks to all who made this such a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmite69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your write up.
I am indeed happy to note that my team members were able to take care of the initial shortcomings and make your stay memorable.
I am happy to also note that you were partcularly impressed with the food served at our resort.
As you mentioned,there are many artificial means using which we keep the water within our premises moving so that ripples are created to prevent breeding of insects and mosquitoes.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.1 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
3.5 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
5.6 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
4.4 km away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.6 km away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): $145 - $352
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing