We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
458
87
18
11
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
87
18
11
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife wine list lovely hotel two nights perfect hosts could not have been more charming town decorated dining room white chocolate hotel owners dining experience special stay yogurt last stop special dietary requirements course dinner cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

This is a truly amazing hotel to stay.... from the moment that we were greeted to the moment that we left, this could not have been any better! The hotel was well worth the detour to spend a night here... to be repeated next time we’re back in France!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank stevensH7628WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Room and bathroom were beautiful and functional. Dining room and breakfast area in a glassed in veranda were very pleasant. Ownwers were attentive. However, we signed up for demi pension which includes breakfast and dinner and that was a bit pricey compared to other similar locations to start with. We found the menu offered with this arrangement was very limited and ended up having to pay supplements for everything which made the dinner expensive! Food was very good, though!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank BoardingPass267981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Few hotels give one such a good welcome as Le Clos - the owner comes out to meet one and is more than helpful with luggage and details of one's room and everything else one needs to know. Relais hotels are not always up to this standard of welcome

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

I've written so much about this hotel but it has never failed us. We just visited again in September 2018 and it was still lovely. Eric and Odile welcome us like old friends which is just what you want after a long drive. The room and food were excellent as usual and we enjoyed a very comfortable night's sleep. Looking forward to next time.

Room tip: The garden rooms are more modern but all are very comfortable
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Le Clos lies approximately half way between Calais and the Atlantic coast resorts and provided a memorable start to our holiday in Ile-de-Re. From the moment you swing in the gates you know you are staying in a hotel run with attention to detail and passion. I can honestly say I have never seen a more perfectly raked gravel drive.

The hotel is family run, and that shows from the first greeting to the last “Bon voyage”. There are 16 rooms in the ‘Clos’ and a separate garden lodge. There is a spa and indoor pool and beautiful grounds to enjoy if you have time. Make sure you do the short walk into the lovely historic town centre or explore the ancient walls. Well worth it.

We had a standard garden room which was delightful, sufficiently spacious and well furnished. A quirky elevated bathroom made it even more appealing. The decoration, crisp linen, fresh rose and complimentary chocolates made it special.

We love our fine dining, a passion we have pursued throughout the UK and Europe. We were hoping for a classic French experience and Le Clos did not disappoint. Aperitifs served in the delightful conservatory followed by dinner in the beautiful dining room made a memorable evening. The carefully balanced menu using local produce and home grown vegetables and herbs offers delicious choices, matched with an extensive wine list. The owners provide the service personally and it was faultless, even with a full dining room.

Le Clos is a premium experience, but it delivered on every front for us and we found it great value. It will be our stopover of choice next time we pass that way.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SteadyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews