We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveller rating
469
88
19
11
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
88
19
11
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife wine list lovely hotel perfect hosts could not have been more charming town decorated dining room white chocolate spent two nights special stay yogurt last stop special dietary requirements course dinner cooked breakfast roquefort ancient walls
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 603 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Le Clos lies approximately half way between Calais and the Atlantic coast resorts and provided a memorable start to our holiday in Ile-de-Re. From the moment you swing in the gates you know you are staying in a hotel run with attention to detail and passion. I can honestly say I have never seen a more perfectly raked gravel drive.

The hotel is family run, and that shows from the first greeting to the last “Bon voyage”. There are 16 rooms in the ‘Clos’ and a separate garden lodge. There is a spa and indoor pool and beautiful grounds to enjoy if you have time. Make sure you do the short walk into the lovely historic town centre or explore the ancient walls. Well worth it.

We had a standard garden room which was delightful, sufficiently spacious and well furnished. A quirky elevated bathroom made it even more appealing. The decoration, crisp linen, fresh rose and complimentary chocolates made it special.

We love our fine dining, a passion we have pursued throughout the UK and Europe. We were hoping for a classic French experience and Le Clos did not disappoint. Aperitifs served in the delightful conservatory followed by dinner in the beautiful dining room made a memorable evening. The carefully balanced menu using local produce and home grown vegetables and herbs offers delicious choices, matched with an extensive wine list. The owners provide the service personally and it was faultless, even with a full dining room.

Le Clos is a premium experience, but it delivered on every front for us and we found it great value. It will be our stopover of choice next time we pass that way.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank SteadyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

We spent a couple of days around Chartres and stayed in LE CLOS recently. Booking was smooth and we were very impressed by the kindness and professionalism of the owners. We really felt at home, were given very good advice about visiting the charming town of Verneuil and were showed beautiful gestures of attention like a bottle of water for the drive home.

Dinner was in the restaurant, impeccable service and cuisine. All the produce are locally sourced, bio and from permaculture.

The gardens are lush, the entire place refurbished with carefully chosen materials and fabrics... they say the devil is in the detail, but with such exquisite attention to detail, heaven must be close nonetheless

We only wished we had stayed longer as we did not have time to enjoy the pool.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank loisvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit to Le Clos - it won’t be our last.

We have visited several Relais Château and we rate Le Clos as one of the absolute best. Odille and Eric are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they are extremely helpful and friendly, in fact the whole team are first class. Everywhere is well kept, spotlessly clean and high quality with very comfortable rooms and beds.

We would also highly recommend dining in the restaurant, something that we are often hesitant to do because sometimes when you recommend somewhere you can be let down. But not here - The food and wine is outstanding and there are some exceptional bottles of Calvados to try. If you have nothing else, try the Roquefort with white chocolate - sublime! You haven’t lived until you’ve tasted this!

We love it so much that we’re already planning next year’s visit - it’s a great stop over on the way back up home from holiday.

Just try Le Clos, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lisatV9266AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Le Clos Relais & Chateaux in the beautiful town of Verneuil-sur-Avre. The owners Odile and Eric Brial have lovingly restored the 19th century castle and it is absolutely beautiful. The perfect mix of old and new with lots of the original details combined with a beautiful new atrium, sweeping gardens and gorgeous rooms and bathrooms. The personal care the owners brought to our stay made it even more perfect - their enthusiasm and energy for customer service is wonderful. The dinner at their restaurant was delicious, perfectly plated - 2 young and innovative chefs! The spa was lovely as well, with a heated pool and hammam. We will definitely return and highly recommend this perfect property: definitely 5 stars! Thank you Odile and Eric for a memorable stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MVR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Really, I suppose, my review should be between four and five stars (still very good) but I had a few niggles...it was quite expensive and the room, though delightful, was quite small with a not very user (or particularly disabled) friendly bathroom.

But enough of that....The Boy and I went a couple of nights ago and had a lovely break on our drive back from the Dordogne. The house and grounds are pretty stunning (albeit there's a busy road not far away!) and there is a lovely little pool and some other activities to keep the children happy.

The food in the evening was quite wonderful. We had a little mackeral pate (quite wonderful, I thought), a piece of delicious home made fois gras (VERY more-ish),
langoustine ravioli with a langoustine to complement it and a very delicious langoustine broth to accompany it, beautiful guinea fowl on a bed of yummy vegetables and wonderful poached peaches with cream and ice cream. It is a small staff (but very nice and dedicated0 mainly husband and wife but I think I saw a young chef hovering in the background.

As I said before it was quite expensive at over 1000 Euros but that did include two very nice rooms, a six course menu and and a couple of glasses of delicious old Calvados and a couple or more of glasses of Champagne.

All in all, a very pleasant stay (and even The Boy enjoyed it!) I would definitely give it a try......

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews