We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
354
156
28
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
156
28
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrica suitemoroccan stylerabbit warrenbeautiful hotella casa del califataginebeautiful squarelow ceilingssister hotellovely restaurantjunior suiteindividual hotelmany levelsnarrow stairslarge bathroomterrace barno lift
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Sorry guys I have to begin on a negative before moving on to the extremely positive. I personally found the arrival a little stressful. Being a tiny place of course the car parking is not by the hotel so we had to drop the bags off first, collect the card to let us into the car park and then drive to car parking. Then, once back at hotel we had to negotiate narrow staircases to get to our room. Thus we had to pull our cases around the block of the hotel to get to the room rather than attempt to get them up and down the narrow corridor and stairs - extremely hard work for older citizens in searing heat. My advice - do not come with large cases or better still, check beforehand where your room will be and how easy the access will be. For anyone needing help with luggage, forget it. We were travelling around Andalucia for 3 weeks so did have a large case each. Yes, I should have checked it out before!
Once all that was sorted (it took an hour), the hotel and staff were delightful. A really beautifully appointed comfortable space. Our room was clean and spacious with a kettle, teas and coffee provided. Bed, large and very comfortable. Good air conditioning. Very tasteful decor throughout, in keeping with the theme of the town’s history. The hotel has a couple of terraces with charming views over the town where you can order drinks. And there is a treatment room if you should wish to book. Breakfast was really spectacular - lovely wide selection of fruit (fresh and dried), cereals, pastries, squeeze-your-own-orange-juice machine, tea/coffee. You need to request cooked items like omelette etc.. The arrival apart, everything else was super. I would love to visit again minus the luggage. Book ahead if you want to eat in the restaurant attached to hotel. Delicious food and fantastic value.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank northlondongal2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliva_Mera, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank your very much! We are sorry about your arrival but we cannot do anything about the morphology of the town (we wish). We try to help our guests but un high season sometimes we are too busy (like all places in the turistic towns)

We are so grateful about your comment, thank you very much for all the good words

Hope to see you again. Greetings from Vejer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel has a heap of style.
It sits right on the main town square and is surrounded by great restaurants and bars.

We stayed in the Palmera room.
It was a great room with plenty of space.
It was a little noisey at times due to the fact that it overlooked the square.
The restaurant in the hotel is fabulous but you need to book way in advance to get in.
Will be back to this hotel in a flash.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliva_Mera, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and your opinion. We hope you can come back soon. Regards from Vejer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

I was not even sure I liked Moroccan food, but now I know! Beautiful location, friendly staff and fabulous food. It was really a happening spot, diners were happy and congenial. The town was awesome and the restaurant Califa the cherry on top.
Hope you try it.

Room Tip: Did not stay here, only ate here.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank susandY6734ZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

chose our room here, The African Suite, because of other reviews which we’d read about it, although it was perhaps 30-40 E more than other wonderful rooms we happened to see in this incredible hotel. The suite was huge, the bathroom, modern and outfitted with a jacuzzi, was the size of an ordinary hotel room, and the suite was 2-3 size that size, with rooms overlooking the hillside and valley as well as the lovely Spanish Plaza. It was immaculate, contained pots of healthy plants and unique African crafts and photos. Overall effect was stunning, our most beautiful room of many on our Andalusian trip. Breakfasts were terrific, huge spreads of delicious foods, with a be-flowered outdoor patio or indoor room to eat. The town is really spectacular !

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jenkatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

This may be my favourite small hotel in the world. Wonderful staff and service. An amalgamation of several houses which means you get about through a labyrinth of small staircases and ups and downs. Don’t be discouraged if you are worried about getting about, crawl if you have to (I am disabled so I don’t feel I’m being unkind). The rooms have amazing views of the countryside and town. It’s also connected to the two best restaurants in Vejer. The hotel’s Moroccan restaurant and the Califa restaurant in town.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Diogenes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews