We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of St Claire

the special view from the front terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the special view from the front terrace
the newly extended front terrace location
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
the special view from the front terrace
the newly extended front terrace
location
the front terrace
sitting room
sitting room with woodburning stove
the new downstairs cloakroom
the new travertine wetroom
the fabulous wetroom
the upper deck in the back garden
the main front bedroom with kingsize bed
front bedroom
the newly painted kitchen and ceramic hob
another view of the fabulous kitchen
we now have a little utility area
a few luxuries!
the new bunk room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Malpas, Truro, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
debs4419
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

St Claire is a beautiful cottage in a stunning location, everything you could possibly need is there for you, the shower room is just wonderful, we used all the facilities and also had excellent food in The Heron Inn. Beautiful walk in to Truro down the creek road and on the way back stop off at Trennick Mill for wine and food, the council and the local community have been working on a lovely little location called Sunny Corner, perfect place for a picnic. This cottage is so handy for the ferry to Falmouth, St Mawes and Trelissick.......highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you for your detailed review and we are so pleased that the cottage lived up to expectations. We believe that we have made it into a super place to stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValSDubli...
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home from home !!”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cosy cottage in Cornwall was everything we wished for and more!!
The most comfortable bed ever !!!
Thank you Judy for all the little extra touches that made our stay so special.
Valerie & Lorcan

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at St Claire. The king size bed and the view from the bed are so often commented on.
I believe in providing a few extra little things that add to the overall experience.
Best wishes
Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My parents plus myself returned to St. Claire once again (our 3rd visit), that should tell you all you need to know about the property. The cottage is equipped to an excellent standard, it is in excellent condition and is spotlessly clean, with many little extra touches that make you feel wanted and at home. A home from home in an excellent location, being close to the center of Cornwall with all its attractions and less than two miles from Truro which has plenty of things to do & see. This visit was later in the year being September instead of July, but with the mild climate of the area it was perfect.
All 3 of us would highly recommend St Claire for any couple or small family group who want something a bit special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the lower decking with a coffee in the morning.
Liked least: Car parking can very occasionally be difficult.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Thank you for a wonderful review. Maybe a fourth visit in the future?!
We will hopefully make it even better as time goes by.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m7long
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage, perfect location, will 100% return.”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely loved our stay at St Claire, everything you would want from a holiday cottage plus more. Spotlessly clean, with a fantastic wet room! Spectacular views from both terraces, overlooking the estuary. The Heron Pub next door provided excellent food, with excellent service. The only downside (and this is very minor) is the parking... We wouldn't expect to park right outside the door everyday, but on arrival with the car packed full with luggage etc. there was no parking near the cottage. Luckily the very friendly neighbour was heading out and allowed us to park in her space. This is in no way a complaint but a minor warning for others using the cottage in future. We would 100% recommend St Claire and will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the decking area.
Liked least: Parking was sometimes difficult, particularly at the weekend.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are trying to negotiate resident parking spaces , so hope to improve on the parking issues in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSwaz...
Swaziland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views and amazing home”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What an amazingly beautiful place with a view of the river. There were so many added touches in the flat and we felt so welcomed and at home. It's the perfect place to base yourself out of while exploring Cornwall and was both peaceful and close to restaurants/shopping if we needed supplies. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you Katen for a lovely review of St Claire. You are all very welcome to return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing