We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb”
other travellers have booked this property
the special view from the front terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the special view from the front terrace
the newly extended front terrace location
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
the special view from the front terrace
the newly extended front terrace
location
the front terrace
sitting room
sitting room with woodburning stove
the new downstairs cloakroom
the new travertine wetroom
the fabulous wetroom
the upper deck in the back garden
the main front bedroom with kingsize bed
front bedroom
the newly painted kitchen and ceramic hob
another view of the fabulous kitchen
we now have a little utility area
a few luxuries!
the new bunk room
The amazing view one morning in September 2018
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Malpas, Truro, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Chris L
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Everything about the experience from my first contact with Judy White (owner) and from arrival to departure was a pure pleasure, the many special touches at St Claire make you feel like more than just a guest.
St Claire is an excellent property, all that I expected, the location and views are stunning, it is equipped to the highest level and an ideal base for exploring any area of Cornwall as it is central.
My best recommendation is however in 2014, I booked a for week and within 2 days of arriving home I have booked for 2 weeks in 2015, what more can I say!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
We are delighted that you had such a good time and we look forward to having you back again next year.We are already looking at some different touches that you will hopefully enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAiagaiag
1 review
“Sheer bliss.”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Second time in this beautiful cottage. So relaxing. The view from the bedroom is a joy to wake up to. The location is just perfect. Amazing facilities pure luxury. Can't wait to go again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
Thank you for a lovely review and so glad that you will be back!We will continue to add afew different extras.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitlocks
Dorset UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St Claire at Malpas never fails to please us!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We have stayed at St Claire Cottage several times and we always find it inviting and relaxing. It is so very well equipped and it's quiet location is ideal with wonderful views over the river Truro.
We are already planning our next visit!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2014
So glad that your stay was a wonderful experience again.We look forward to welcoming you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike b
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy retreat with fantastic views”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and I spent the last week of October with one of our sons (aged 31) at this cottage. Since we last visited the already luxurious accommodation has been significantly upgraded. We particularly loved the wet room, and the huge double bed in the main bedroom is supremely comfortable, better than home from home. The cottage is set high on a bank over looking a tidal estuary. Its perfectly peaceful and the views are terrific. You can easily walk into Truro to visit its restaurants, pubs and the Cathedral. Id say this cottage offers great value for money. All of the incidentals like towels, bed linen, soaps are provided are included and of and high. A great place for a country break

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bed
Liked least: steep pathway to front door,not good for those unsure on feet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2013
Thank you so much for your review of St Claire and we look forward to welcoming you back another time.We continue to strive to make it a special place to stay and so glad you liked the improvements we made this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Oct 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We will try and continue to improve it even more so that you can return and relax again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing