We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch on wet and windy Easter Sunday”
Review of The Heron Inn

The Heron Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Malpas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Heron Inn is a beautiful waterside pub, with stunning views over the river Fal. We are open all day, every day from 10am, serving freshly prepared homemade meals, ranging from a light lunch to hearty meals, and an excellent range of daily specials. Booking is adviseable but not always necessary.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Although it was wet and windy outside inside the restuarant was warm and welcoming. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was great. We had a mixture of starters all of which were very tasty and ample portion size. Most of our party had the beef for mains and one had Thai fish curry. All the mains were very good and filling so much so we had no room for desert apart from one who managed some ice cream. This was our first trip and we will certainly be back again hopefully when the sun is shining.

Thank Pineapplepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Owner at The Heron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for leaving the review and hope the sun shines on your next visit!

Nick, Amanda & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

A great snack lunch with delicious sandwiches and sweet potato fries side by the fire overlooking the river. Rather busy and only one gentleman behind the bar rushed off his feet but he was pleasant and we had plenty of time so didn't really matter. Food was timely and tasty so all in all a good lunch

Thank Cornish_Waves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Owner at The Heron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your review.

Sometimes we are caught off guard with our staffing levels so apologise if you had to wait.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Nick, Amanda & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Arriving quite late for lunch, we received a warm welcome at The Heron. While waiting for our food to be freshly prepared, we watched herons flying along the river and landing in their nest sites.
The food was of a high quality, hot and tasty. My small portion of fish and chips with peas was absolutely adequate for my needs and really good value. I never could have managed a larger portion size.
Nice glass of rose wine too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Owner at The Heron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Jill

Thank you so much for your kind comments.

We never get bored of the view from The Heron and there is always new wildlife on show throughout the year.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nick, Amanda & The Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Whenever I am visiting Malpas this is the place I take my owners to on our evening walk.
They love the food and very friendly, attentive staff who always find a little treat for me.

Great views too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Owner at The Heron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Lesley

Thank you for your review, this really does boost our team morale!

Nick, Amanda & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

I cannot recommend The Heron Inn enough. Attentive but not overbearing service and the food was exceptional. This is a gem just outside of Truro that you should not miss. To complete tje experience the view of the river is spectacular.

Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Heron Inn also viewed

Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to The Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing