We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic, get-away-from-it-all destination”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to La Tarrade
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to La Tarrade
Relax in the pool during the summer Kitchen/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Welcome to La Tarrade
Relax in the pool during the summer
Kitchen/dining area
Kitchen/dining area
Just to keep the chill off!
Lounge area
Bedroom with king size bed
Bathroom
The rear garden
The fishing lake just over the garden fence
Market day at Excideuil
The Forge at Savignac Ledner
L'eglise at Saint Jean de Cole
Perigueux Cathedral
The Chateau at Jumilhac-le-Grande
Hautefort Chateau
La Grotte de Tourtoirac
Rocamadour by night
River Dordogne viewed from Domme
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Excideuil, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve P
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic, get-away-from-it-all destination”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a wonderful place. It is a very rural setting, so you must be prepared to drive to get bread in the morning, to go to the supermarket or go to a restaurant. There are not many evening restaurants near by, so we were very happy to cook on the charcoal barbecue beside the pool, although the cottage is fully equipped with all the cooking equipment you might need to create your own gastronomic delights.

We had our pre-dinner 'nibbles' and drinks beside the pool every evening (actually, in the pool one evening, when it was so very hot), and we wished we'd brought a couple of wine sleeves, as the wine rapidly warmed up.

Thoroughly enjoyed the markets - especially the one in Excideuil on Thursday mornings. The stalls seem to be spread up all the side streets, so be prepared to spend some time there and explore (and listen to the church clock strike the first couple of lines of the 1812 overture). Also a good opportunity to call into the Internet cafe run by some British folks to catch up on your e-mails (if you really must).

Apart from the farmer driving past a couple of times a day to visit his crops, and a couple of days when the fruit pickers came to thin out the crops, it was really quiet. We wanted to spend a couple of weeks completely relaxing and 'chilling out' - and that's what we got. Heaven!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, lots to see and do.”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

La Tarrade was everything it was reviewed to be, comfortable, well equipped with the added bonus of a private pool. Within easy reach of lots of places of interest, good walks close by, excellent markets at Excedeuil and Perigueux. It deserves the five stars.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford...
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and tranquility.”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from this excellent gite. We have stayed in holiday homes/villas for 25 years in different countries and this is by far the best equipped one ever. From the shower to the mugs, the quality is equal to what you would have in your own home.

The house is at the end of a quiet lane and the only noise we heard were the birds and occasionally the local farmer on his tractor. The pool area is very private and a lovely spot to look down at the lake and spot the different birds. A perfect place to relax and unwind and enjoy the French countryside. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dazbags
inverness
1 review
“Total Bliss”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What to say? Want to go back already and only been home 2 days!!!

The first holiday in about 13 years where I can honestly say both of us have relaxed and felt relaxed.
The Gite wants for nothing and is very homely.We stayed the last week in August and first week in September and really lucked out with the weather and managed to swim in the pool every day.
In a great location and don't really have to go far to find quaint villages/hamlets.The markets were a welcome break to get the 'stores'.

For the wild life buffs, we are by no means experts but from the comfort of the sunloungers did manage to spot Kingfishers,Deer and a Heron that made a daily morning flight to the lake at the bottom of the garden.

The quietness was unbelievable and we found ourselves many times talking in low voices around the pool so as not to make a noise!!!

All in all a fabulous place and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Thanks again for a fantastic break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quietness
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelan...
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A lovely stone cottage at the end of a quiet lane (no passing traffic). View of an apple orchard at the front, large enclosed garden at rear, woodland walk - perfect for a dog, swimming pool and sunbathing area. We stayed out of season so didn't use the pool but can imagine in summer it would be perfect for relaxing - it's very quiet and peaceful.
The cottage is very well equipped - had everything we needed including a generous welcome pack. It is spacious, comfy and importantly - clean, has a fabulous new shower, wood burner and UK TV - essential in November - it snowed!
It's about 1-1 1/2 hrs drive to most places of interest, there is a really good restaurant (la cuisine) in Thiviers @ 10 miles away.
The owners couldn't have been more helpful as we booked very last minute.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing