We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
24
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfort pool car grounds florence
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We have just returned from 9 days in Le Civette and had a very lovely time. The traditionally decorated apartments are very quiet and peaceful and ideally located for access to Florence and other nearby Tuscan towns.

The owner, Marco, made us feel very welcome and gave us some great advice on the best places to visit during our stay.

The apartments were very clean and tidy, the gardens were very pretty and the outdoor pool overlooks vineyards and olive groves.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnaGol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

It was the dream Tuscan honeymoon. So close to Florence, but the rolling hillsides just out your front door. Picture perfect. We rented a car to visit Siena, Pisa and San Gimignano, but used the bus for many day trips into Florence city. If we didn't live so far from Italy, we would come back to LeCivette every summer! Just amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We've just returned from 4 nights at the Le Civette and would have stayed for longer if we could have changed our flights!

A lovely little place to stay outside of florence, that feels a million miles away.

Marco [the owner's] hospitality was excellent, you really felt like you were staying with friends.

The apartment was small, clean and adequately equipped.

The pool and sun loungers were just perfect for working on our tans!

We didn't have a car, and in hindsight we did wish we had hired one, but we were still able to get to the grocery store by bus and stock up. We'd already spent a few days staying in florence so didn't want to get into town, but we did get the bus directly to the train station at the end of our holiday which was easy.

We arrived on a sunday and were treated to a wonderful sunday brunch homemade by Marco's mother.

All in all a great stay but we did think the price was slightly too high for what it was.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravellingRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

My wife and I spent six nights at Le Cevitte during our 25th Wedding celebration trip to Italy. Having never been to Italy, we really did not know what to expect and did have difficulties traveling from Rome to Florence for our stay here (ie. nobody told us the Italians don't call it Florence, it's called Firenze. Call me stupid but I kept looking for a sign with the word Florence on it).

However, once we finally arrived at Le Cevitte, we were taken in as though we were a part of the family. The atmosphere is very laid back, as you can imagine staying in the hills just south of Florence. Vineyards, olive groves, rolling hills, all out your front door and very picturesque. The rooms were very accomodating; not the Four Seasons by any means, BUT very warm and inviting, clean, spacious, etc. etc. Remember you are staying at a converted farmhouse, with only four rooms; not a highrise hotel on the beach. I have nothing bad to say about the rooms and will stay here again if we ever return.

Marco (the owner) is most helpful along with Bettina; his helper during the day. They run a first class operation and are more than happy to provide advise or help out with any special needs you may have. Marco even let me borrow his GPS to travel around Northern Italy for the week.

Day trips into Florence are easy, given the bus stop is about a 10 minute walk from the apartment. However, we did have a rent car and ended up driving to the bus stop to take trips into the center of Florence. I would certainly not recommend anyone drive into the city center, BUT driving around it as well as in the Bagno di Ripolo area (where Le Cevitte is located), became easier and easier as the trip progressed. Also, we did make two trips to the grocery store about 2 miles away from the apartment for coffee, breakfast items, fruit, etc. which came in handy.

Le Cevitte is also a good "base camp" for making day trips elsewhere. Although we "pushed it" and traveled as far as Venice during one day via the railroad, it was helpful to not have to carry around any luggage with us during these trips. We also discovered Cinque Terre for a day as well as took the "Chianti Trail" from Le Cevitte, down SS222 to Sienna - a trip I would highly recommend to anyone. The scenery was postcard Tuscany and the road was not crowded with tourists.

In summary, you can not go wrong with Le Civette, especially if you are wanting to stay out of the hussle and bussle of Florence. The city is jammed with people during the day and I would not want to stay in the city center. Besides, the price at Le Civette is very reasonable and the restaurant's that Marco recommended were all good. If you don't feel like eating out, there is a full kitchen in each room/apartment.

(beware, the pool was ice cold when we were there. something I found out AFTER jumping in).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PlanoJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

My wife and I went to stay at Le Civette for our honeymoon on a recommendation of a friend who had stayed there previously. We were overwhelmed by both the warm reception by the owner (Marco) and his staff and the comfort of the facility. From the outset we felt right at home and there were opportunities to either enjoy the villa, sightsee in Florence or experience the Tuscan countryside. The pool, the rooms, and ideed the entire site were spotless, well maintained and well appointed. A jewel in the Tuscan landscape.

Will definitely return here.

Michelle and Tim (Ottawa, Canada)

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ottawanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews