We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Never mind the weather”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach just down from our house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The beach just down from our house
Sunset from our Lounge
St Kilda View Point
Lobster Pot
Garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deepinthe...
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never mind the weather”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (my wife and I and a friend from Switzerland) have stayed many times in the Western Isles and often on North Uist.
This was our first stay in 'Tranquil Sands'.
The house is completely weather proof, warm and comfy.
The weather was wet, windy, sunny and cold - rainbows, amazing clouds. Often all in one day.
The house was great to come back to after days out.
Comfy, spacious, well equipped and easy to use.
Really good walk down to the local beach and across to Balranald or round to the next bay.
Corncrakes and Redshanks in the garden every day were a real treat.
Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and informative review. We are always grateful when guests like yourselves who take the time to write about their experiences staying in our house on our beautiful Island of North Uist. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viv482015
Lairg, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Holiday Home”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Tranquil Sands is everything you could wish for and more from a holiday home, and set in a lovely quiet location yet only a few minutes walk from the nearest beach. We have stayed in the Western Isles many times but never in North Uist until now, and if you love beautiful scenery and abundant wildlife this is the place for you. If our experience is anything to go by you will need to book Tranquil Sands at least a year in advance as it is extremely popular, but it will be worth the wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern, smart but comfortable accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Thanks again for a wonderful honest review, we are just so lucky that we have such lovely guests that stay in our house in North Uist and that always take the time to write a review to help future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilp91
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil Sands”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had booked this accommodation back in August last year – you have to book early as it is that popular! The descriptions given on the Internet are accurate and the house was clean, well equipped to a high standard and we couldn’t think of anything else we could have wanted. You could easily stay here in Winter very comfortably. It is set in a superb location if you like peace and quiet (apart from the wildlife). Oystercatchers flying overhead and letting you know they’re there – a lovely sound. Corncrakes could be heard in the fields surrounding the house. On our travels around North Uist we saw seals, short-eared owls, a golden eagle, deer, plenty of birds and sheep!. Directions given were very helpful and accurate, we benefitted from excellent ferry crossings, mostly dry weather and the guidance of the friendly dog from a neighbouring property when we wandered slightly off course on the way to the beach! A totally relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you for such a positive review of our house and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay on our beautiful island. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mee275
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't think about it. Book now.”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Perfect. Beautiful trip from Fort William through Skye.
If you like birds, beaches, walking, cycling,peace, big skies and friendly folk then this is for you.
Amazed that this beautiful house would take our dogs.
Special things, sitting out at night to the sound of the sea, Corncrake ( just arrived) and Snipe and dark sky. Stars and Planets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review about our house and the surrounding area. We are always so happy when guests enjoy such a beautiful area and its wildlife as much as we do. I coudnt agree more that it is a beautiful drive with stunning scenery on your way here to the islands.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances D
1 review
“A breathtaking holiday”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

What can I say,I can only echo what others have said,beautifull accomodation ,well equipped with everything you will need from spare wellies to fishing rods and pick nick hampers ,if you like to cook the kitchen is superb ,with everything you could wish for .
What we liked most was the panoramic windows wich looked out on to the sorounding landscape wich was stunning .What more can be said about the area ,beautifull coastline full of wild life and not a person in sight the whole nine days of are holiday bliss!
If your into paddling there's no better place ,lockmaddy has a grate opportunity with its many islands to explore.We took are touring kayaks on this occasion ,next time we would also take bikes as the roads are ideal for cycling .we also took are Hungarianwire haired Vizsla Hector ,the island is perfect for dog walking as its noise free and remote ,Hector was without a lead for most of the holiday .
We shall all return on are next road trip and will definitely stay at tranquil sands again ,it's the best holiday cottage we have stay in , thanks mark and may for a grate relaxing holiday .
Karl ,Frances ,Kanace ,and Hector x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our house. It is so helpful to future guests when customers like yourselves spend time putting a honest review together about their stay on our beautiful Island of North Uist.
Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing