We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service all round ”
Review of Yao Yai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yao Yai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

This was my boyfriend and my second visit to the beautiful island of Koh Yao Yai and Yao Yai Beach Resort.

We had as lovely experience second time around as we did last year. The huts are basic but very clean and have a fridge / safe / tv / air con - all you need. Given that the cost of the bungalows are so cheap (as we paid for the most basic room) you definitely get your monies worth.

The staff who work in this resort are absolutely lovely and are really helpful - top notch service. The restaurant is brilliant, hence why it caters for half of the Santhiya 5* resort clientele next door each lunch and dinner time. The food is some of the best we have had in Thailand. The seafood is safe, fresh and delicious.

We would definitely recommend visiting Yoa Yai to anyone who is looking to visit a Thai island which has kept to its roots and hasn't been overtaken by commercialisation and tourism. This resort is on the islands best beach so well worth a stay here. Just don't tell your friends!!!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2015

The smal huts need a refurbishment. When it rained was the straw hut was built by very wet and everything was damp. Otherwise it was all one needed inside the cabin and a lovely terrace at sunset.
The biggest problem was that the staff did not speak English. they can ask if you want coffee or tea, but understand nothing. a major problem. manager on site speaks English but is not always. The food was very good !!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Goerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile

Ko Yao Yai is a beautiful place! Yao Yai Resort is in a good location (nice beach, close proximity to other resorts and a few small shops). Unfortunately, the members of staff don't speak English and communication was very hard. The language barrier can be a problem when you rely on transport bookings, want to amend an order from a menu, or have general queries about activities. It would be amazing if reception offered advise and tips about the island. The bungalows are dated and we had a building site right next door that we didn't know about (they're expanding). Overall it could have been better but the location made up for it. I'd recommend renting a scooter which you can do down the beach from the resort. Evenings and sun sets in the resort restaurants and stunning und food is generally very good.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Freia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

We booked Yao Yai resort for 4 nights but extended our stay because we enjoyed our stay so much!
This hotel is located on the "best beach" side of the island which isn't effected too much by the tides.
Also, it's the only hotel with sea view bungalows.
Hotel has a laid back, relaxed atmosphere which reflects small island life very well. There's some construction on the back side but we never heard any disturbing noise. Rooms are very basic; double bed with a mosquito net, wardrobe, dresser, air conditioner, ceiling fan, good size fridge, water boiler, cold shower, clean (and rather spacious) bathroom.
Staff doesn't speak English but they really try to help you if you can somehow express yourself.
Owner of the hotel is a very nice and helpful gentleman who even took us to the local clinic in an emergency we had.
Breakfast isn't great but there are lots of places to eat around the town (same goes for lunch/dinner).
We were able to rent a very nice scooter from a nearby place for 150 thb pd
It's the perfect choice if you're looking for a midrange place to stay.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rambler U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015

We were very unsure booking the Yao Yai Island Resort but based on a great priced package, decided to give it a go. We stayed for 2nights/3days in early January 2015.
Our package included pickup from our hotel in Phuket, boat to Yao Yai, 2 nights accom, day trip (island hopping), boat trip to Krabi and transfer to our hotel in Krabi. Everything ran smoothly and according to plan and we arrived safely to Yao Yai.
We were a bit shocked upon arrival ....walking down the 100 meter 'plank' (luggage in toe) to get to the hotel ...and laughed nervously saying "OMG ...where are we staying ..what have we done!!" ...however we arrived and the resort was lovely!! So it ended up just being a great story to tell our friends about!
We didn't go into it expecting 5 star bungalows (I spoke to the owner via email during booking and understood it was NOT a 5 star resort) ..however ..it was an amazing 'glamping' experience! The owner was lovely and made the booking experience easy (given all the transfers I had a LOT of questions for him and he was always happy to help and responded quickly to my emails).
The bungalows are dated and basic ..but the view from your bed and the overall location are beyond any words I have! The restaurant food was delicious (the prawns are a 'must') and the view from the table was stunning ....especially at sunset! TIP: Get to dinner early to get the best tables for sunset. There's also a cute little bungalow bar down next to the water which we spend a bit of time at ...again ....another perfect spot to watch the sunset.
The only suggestion we would have would be for a pool! ....yes it is beachfront so you can swim in the beach by only taking a few steps from your bed, however, we got bitten by a 'sealice' type thing in the water each time we went in (yes ..we kept going in hoping it would get better). This may have been a temporary issue in the water or just that they were attracted to us so I don't want to deter anyone by mentioning this ...as our overall stay was fantastic!!
We couldn't have asked for anymore in a luxury camping trip ...we only wish we could've stayed longer! We went with 2 other couples and all 6 of us didn't want to leave after our 3 days of bliss!
Although it is really a place to just chill and relax, you still can find some things to do ...we hired scooters (cheap as) for a day and went all around the Island ...it was amazing! Some of the view points were just out of this world! We had so much fun exploring the Island and enjoyed getting to meet some of the locals - who were very welcoming and helpful. The men (of our 3 couple party) also thoroughly enjoyed a night fishing trip with some locals (us ladies choose a night of massages by the beach instead).
I highly recommend this Resort .....we will definitely be back! Thank you Yao Yai Resort for our wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be front on to the water or to be the closest to the water for the best experience ....though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
6.7 km away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
868 reviews
15.2 km away
Cape Kudu Hotel
Cape Kudu Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
218 reviews
0.1 km away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
503 reviews
7.3 km away
Baan Taranya Resort
Baan Taranya Resort
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
111 reviews
16.3 km away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yao Yai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yao Yai Resort

Address: 80/8-12 Moo 7, Ko Yao Yai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range: $75 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yao Yai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Yao Yai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yao Yai Hotel Phang Nga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing