We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Review

Very impressed with the COVID-19 safe measures. Well organised and we felt completely safe. The... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Cheryl P
via mobile
Beautiful but expensive

Lovely place. It is definitely overpriced. Such price could be justified if the place was in an... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Michatte
,
Paris
Read all 632 reviews
  
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
371
171
49
24
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
371
171
49
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fern garden assault course lovely walk well worth a visit gift shop highest waterfall beautiful place few hours steep climb stunning views cake country park play area sandwiches value for money on site well worth the effort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
626 - 631 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We decided to go to Canonteign to fill a few hours as we were staying nearby.

It is quite expensive for what it is - but then so are most of the tourist attractions in Devon! You're on holiday - things cost money!

I didn't know anything about the place before we went - so no expectations.

The climb to the top of the fountain is breathtakingly beautiful through the woods. The view from the top is amazing - you can look right down the waterfall.

The waterfall is man made - Victorian. We were a little disappointed to discover this - but there are no attempts made to hide this fact. It is still mighty impressive.

The walk to the top is up paths, dirt track and old victorian steps. It is quite steep in places. You need to be wearing suitable footwear - no flip flops as my mother was! A couple of people turned back when they saw how steep it was but it was ok. I managed it with my 2 year old and we met a man carrying a baby at the top!

The lake, park and surrounding area is lovely. Kids play area is ok.
Shop good - usual touristy fair - jams, pickles, crafts etc.

The only downside is that when we arrived at the impressive looking cafe at just before 3 we were told they had stopped serving food - even sandwiches. All they had was a few slices of cake and scones. Our aim for going was to see the place and have lunch - had they actually advertised the fact they close the cafe we would have eaten before seeing the waterfally. At least 3 other families were turned away in the same way while I was queueing to be told I couldn't eat - and at the prices they were charging they must have turned away alot of money.
I had a cream tea - and to be fair it was nice - just not what I or the rest of the party wanted. When you are on holiday you expect everything to be open!

All they need to do is tell people when the cafe stops serving food when they enter the park.

Thank Acornise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Manmade waterfall very expensive for what it is. Says it takes an hour tbut akes about 30 mins and then when you reach the top, although the views nice, the waterfall is very disappointing as it is basically a piece of metal jutting out - nothing natural about it at all!

Thank littlenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

We discovered this Landmark(?) while trying to find Lustleigh, a beautiful Village in Southern England. This is billed as The Tallest Waterfall In England. Our trip was in the hot month of July 2006 and this sight was not worth the drive off the highway. If you are looking for a Day In The Sun, in the beautiful English Countryside- this would be a good destination but, not to see the waterfall. Being Summer the 'waterfall' was essentially DRIED UP and though the walk in the Forest was nice, it was no bargain at 5+ pounds each. There is a Donkey and Burro , as part of the Petting Zoo and some picnic tables worth a picnic but, I would be hard pressed to make this very long drive again (even 'lost') way out in the Country just to see this 'waterfall'. Best part of the Journey:we found on the way, The Manor Inn in Lower Ashton. Excellent Food (HUGE Sandwiches) and a Very Nice Bartender who went out to his car and brought back a comprehensive map to help us find our way back to civilization. Just remodeled, it was grand faire. We thought he was great!l

5  Thank BentleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews