We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ramuntcho(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
USD 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Les Pyrenees(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
USD 208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maison E. Bernat(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maison d'hotes Itzalpea(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Camping Narbaitz(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
Booking.com
View Deal
Gite Azkorria(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel des Remparts(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maison Garicoitz(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citadelle 21(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
193
13
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
13
0
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean francoisthe riveryogurtbreadthe ownerthe perfect hostold bridgea great stayswimming poolclose to townlocal areabeautiful houseplace to staysecret gardenriverside walkbreakfast tableconsummate host
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

really nice place to stay, the bedrooms are decorated with a modern touch whereas the main room downstairs is older in style but really interesting. Jean Francois goes out of his way to make sure that your stay is enjoyable, nothing really is too much trouble and his breakfast is special! when we left he asked us what route we were taking. When i showed him he showed me how low the cloud was and advised us against the route that was in the clouds. thank you for the advice!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xuebar64, Owner at Maison Donamaria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

I thank you for your warm message. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Donamaria with my personal touch to welcome you in my "modest private museum". It is always a pleasure to give guidance and participate in my unique way to your camino. JF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Jean-Francois and his amazing Maison Donamaria!!! Upon arrival I was very sick with bronchitis. I was very apprehensive about starting the Camino when I felt so poorly. Jean-Francois immediately picked up the phone, made an appointment with his personal doctor, then promptly put me in this car took me to the doctor, then to the pharmacist. Since I had been traveling for 4 months prior to the Camino, my feet needed some serious attention as well. The next day he made an appointment for me and took me to his podiatrist!!! He was my first "Camino Angel" and I will never forget his kindness and compassion. His home was lovely and clean and the breakfast was substantial and perfect for the first leg of our adventure. I will never forget Jean Francois and his amazing kindness. I highly, highly recommend staying at his lovely home!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacy4442015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xuebar64, Owner at Maison Donamaria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

It was a great pleasure to receive you and help you to begin your camino in the best possible health condition. It was great to be efficient and make your life a little bit easier.JF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely location next to a river and the Madison is perfectly maintained - very clean - good breakfast
BUT you will be subjected to the proprietors/owners moods and stress level and it could affect the exciting start to your Camino! He threw two rude tantrums at us because two American women that were staying there and were asking for too much assistance on the future bookings and they were exhausting him ( he said) the other two rude snippy tantrums aimed at us were because we wanted our compostela stamped and to pay our bill- in fact another French guest who understood his rude French quips apologized on his behalf. No optional accom in SJPdP so we were stuck there with this miserable man for two nights.
We were glad to get out of there and enjoyed our Camino despite mr rude misery

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank capieatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

This was the perfect place to stay the night before our Camino venture. The house is just a short walk along the river to the town center and just 2 streets from the start of the Camino. Jean Francois is a delightful host whose English made it very easy to reserve a room in his beautiful house. Our room was well-appointed with a large bathroom. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xuebar64, Owner at Maison Donamaria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

It was a great pleasure to receive you and to participate in my way at the beginning of your camino. We do hope you return. Buen camino. JF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

We had a very nice stay here. Only 1 night but really homey. Our host met us at his home. He was very friendly. Gave us maps. Gave us suggestions for dinner. The rooms were spacious & clean. Breakfast was delicious & we got to visit with some of the pilgrims who were staring their trek on the Camino.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank heiny-gianino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xuebar64, Owner at Maison Donamaria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

It was indeed a pleasure to host you and to participate in my way at the beginning of your camino. Community breakfasts with pilgrims from all around the globe is one of the highlights of my job. Buen Camino. JF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews