We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable room”
Review of Maison Donamaria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Donamaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We ended up here because we had booked 2 nights at Errecaldia, but somehow they overbooked and required us to vacate the second night. Our host, Tim, made reservations for us here and carried us here. I had only 2 negatives: the breakfast is served late if you're walking the Camino and want an early start and we had difficulty sleeping due to the outside noises. When were there, it was extremely hot and the windows had to be open, as nothing in the area has air conditioning. Our room was next to the road, and well past midnight there were sounds of people talking very loudly just below our window. Although they don't serve breakfast until late, our host graciously agreed to set out cereals, bread, coffee and juice for us the night before. The location is great -- next to the river, very close to town center, and very close to the Camino where it exits St. Jean Pied de Port. Other than for the outside noise, the room was comfortable, and would have warranted a 5 instead of a 4.

Room Tip: I temperature is hot be aware that there are street noises below the open windows.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wvlivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Maison Donamaria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2016

Stayed there in my way to the start of the Camino de Santiago. Jean François, our host could not be more wonderful , he would do everything to make you fell that you are home. To get to this magical place, you walk by the river in a magical forest, rooms are wonderful, bathroom is clean and with a lot of space, decoration is another plus, breakfast to die for, and he has one of the best stamp for your credencial.
If I go back to St. Jean, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Have to start review by saying: Thank you so much Jean-François! He helped us a lot, provided a lot of info about the Camino and even got us the Pilgrim Credentials. The B&B is a 4 minute walk from the main street. But on the way to start the Camino. Comfortable bed. Good night sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pepito506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

After a long flight and train ride, we arrived n St. Jean and were utterly captivated by this storybook town. When we finally arrived at Maison Donamaria, we are welcomed by Jean Francois, the owner and his dog, Zubi, who are waiting outside to greet us. From then on, we felt as if we were visiting an old friend.

Our room on the second floor was charming with a picturesque view. As we fell asleep, we could hear the sound of the rushing water from the river outside our window.

Jean Francois had already returned from the local bakery with bread for breakfast, as we made our way downstairs. He served it with homemade jams and figs from his garden, homemade apple juice and yogurt and cereal; delicious!

Be sure to ask Jean Francois to show you his secret garden. It is a lovely area to the side of his property with a swimming pool, fig and apple trees.

Jean Francois seemed to be as excited as we were as he wished us "Buen Camino". This was a magical experience that we will not soon forget.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank amoxiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I agree with all the other reviews about how well located and comfortable Donamaria is, but what I wanted to comment on is the owner and host Jean-François. He welcomed me in his gentle softspoken way into his home, showed me around and made sure I was ready for my hike the next day. He sensed my anxiety over the 1st and hardest part of the Camino Frances and gave me caring advise, go slow, open your chest, look up and enjoy the beauty around you. You could tell his sincerity by how he touched base the next day to find out how my day went. Great person. Great place.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
0.5 km away
Hotel Ramuntcho
Hotel Ramuntcho
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
140 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Les Pyrenees
Hotel Les Pyrenees
#3 of 3 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
99 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel Andreinia
Hotel Andreinia
#1 of 1 in Esterencuby
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Hotel Clementenia
Hotel Clementenia
#1 of 1 in Arneguy
41 reviews
2.9 km away
Logis Hotel Xoko-Goxoa
Logis Hotel Xoko-Goxoa
#1 of 2 in Saint-Michel
87 reviews
11.9 km away
Hotel Erreguina
Hotel Erreguina
#1 of 1 in Banca
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port

Been to Maison Donamaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Donamaria

Address: 1 chemin d'Olhonce, 64220 Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
Price Range: $82 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Basque house is situated in a quiet spot along the banks of the river "La Nive." Five minutes will take you to the historic center of the village... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing