We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best night's sleep in ages!”
Review of Maison Donamaria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Donamaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Maison Donamaria is a haven of tranquility just 5 minutes by foot along the river from the centre of the town. A typical old Basque house oozing with character and most welcoming after a scorching day in the sun. A delightfully peaceful location overlooking La Nive and a little swimming beach. Shady gardens with a swimming pool and a charming, very knowledgeable and helpful host with a great sense of humour and a gorgeous dog. Beautifully decorated en-suite rooms with crisp white bed linen/towels and ultra comfortable beds. A most enjoyable breakfast with all the other guests around a large table laden with dried figs, kiwis, cheese, muesli, delicious sheep's yoghurt and fresh bread with butter and a variety of jams all washed down with fruit juice and hot coffee. A great choice of restaurants in the town which is a photographer's delight with picturesque interest everywhere you look. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deejtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2016

I helped arrange travel for two priests who hiked the Camino in July 2015. I searched for lodging at the start of the trip where the gentlemen could meet, adjust to the time difference, and begin their pilgrimage. Jean-Francois, the innkeeper of Maison Donamaria was invaluable to me. He confirmed payment and answered all of my questions promptly. He referred me to transportation to get both men from the train station an hour away to the inn. When one form of transport fell through Jean-Francois quickly connected me to another reliable source, enabling me to make reservations for the transportation and arrange payment and meeting arrangements. Additionally, my French is pitiful and Jean-Francois kindly worked with me in English. When the gentlemen returned from their pilgrimage I asked for feedback on Maison Donamaria and they said I could not have found a better place for them to begin their pilgrimage. This is a long overdue review of a fabulous property. Thank you Jean-Francois!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RedRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

St. Jean Pied-de-Port has been declared a UNESCO site for a reason!! For approximately 1000 years this tiny village(?)town(?) has been a funnel point for the French Routes converging in the south to cross the Pyranees into Spain on the way to Pamplona for the Pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostella. And today one STILL can feel , to some extent, what a long-ago Pilgrim might have experienced walking up and down the steep "main" street to the church and over the bridge southwards "towards salvation". For the past 900 or so years, there have been the equivalent of "tourist-tat" shops along this street and many places offerring food and lodging (from good and "good value" to bad, indifferent to rip-off). And the setting is exquisite (especially, at glorious sunset, from the area of the tiny bridge and along the tiny river.....) One truly feels here the anticipation that "heaven" is attainable.

MAISON DONAMARIA is, similarly, a "heavenly" and peaceful place to stay while visiting St.Jean Pied-de-Port. It is a charming old house, decorated in an "artistic" and traditionally "antique" manner, tucked about a 5-minute walk away from the "Pilgrim street" in the woods along a small river.

The owner is a kind, thoughtful, helpful and intelligent man who really understands hospitallity and what being a good host is all about: Rooms are peaceful and lovely, breakfast is substantial and delicious.; The owner is generous with his time providing any information and help you may need about the area and your journey plans. You are made to feel as though you "belong here" and are valued! There is also a pool to swim and relax about and a lovely, peaceful garden extending along the shady, wooded riverbank.

Note: Deposit can be made in advance by PayPal and then balance in cash, rather than by credit card, and arrival time is c. very late afternoon. You should book well in advance as such a good B & B as this books up very quickly.

We really did NOT want to leave!!!!!

Room Tip: ALL are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbararitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

my room overlooked the river. tranquillity, birds singing, beautifully decorated, historical, traditional, clean. Good quality bedding and towels. lovely host. all very romantic. superb breakfast - all you can eat, fruit, yoghurt, breads, cheese, eggs, and a variety of honey - from different seasons. (The honey may have been a one-off).

Room Tip: You either have views of the mountain or the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailingJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Very happy with our 2 night stay to this delightful part of France. Accommodation very comfortable. House beautifully decorated. Breakfast bountiful. Host willing to go the extra mile to make our stay a special one. Nothing was too much trouble. Absolutely recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank K2K62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
0.5 km away
Hotel Ramuntcho
Hotel Ramuntcho
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
147 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Les Pyrenees
Hotel Les Pyrenees
#3 of 3 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
100 reviews
0.5 km away
Gite Azkorria
Gite Azkorria
#6 of 20 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.2 km away
Chambres d'Hotes villa Yoda
Chambres d'Hotes villa Yoda
#1 of 6 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
128 reviews
36.7 km away
Ferme Elhorga
Ferme Elhorga
#2 of 13 in Saint-Pee-sur-Nivelle
143 reviews
0.6 km away
Maison d'hotes Itzalpea
Maison d'hotes Itzalpea
#5 of 20 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Donamaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Donamaria

Address: 1 chemin d'Olhonce, 64220 Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
Price Range: $85 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Basque house is situated in a quiet spot along the banks of the river "La Nive." Five minutes will take you to the historic center of the village... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing