We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ramuntcho(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
USD 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gite Azkorria(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)(Great Value!)
USD 94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Maison E. Bernat(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maison Garicoitz(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camping Narbaitz(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Citadelle 21(Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
193
13
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
13
0
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean francoisthe riveryogurtbreadthe ownerthe perfect hostold bridgea great stayswimming poolclose to townlocal areabeautiful houseplace to staysecret gardenriverside walkbreakfast tableconsummate host
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016

my room overlooked the river. tranquillity, birds singing, beautifully decorated, historical, traditional, clean. Good quality bedding and towels. lovely host. all very romantic. superb breakfast - all you can eat, fruit, yoghurt, breads, cheese, eggs, and a variety of honey - from different seasons. (The honey may have been a one-off).

Room Tip: You either have views of the mountain or the river!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailingJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Very happy with our 2 night stay to this delightful part of France. Accommodation very comfortable. House beautifully decorated. Breakfast bountiful. Host willing to go the extra mile to make our stay a special one. Nothing was too much trouble. Absolutely recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank K2K62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Wow! Wow! Wow! 2 weeks traveling by the country side of France and this was our last stop before Spain. And...Wow! We were a family of 7 adults traveling and this is the best place we have stayed during our holidays. The place is just beautiful. The location, well, it is just beside a little river and 3 minutes away from the downtown,walking on one of the best passages ever. What else can you ask for?
A great host. He is so dedicated, full of good energy and peace.
The best place to stay in the world. Seriously.
Oh! one last thing: the homemade breakfast is delicious!!!!!!!! Don't miss it.

Room Tip: The one beside the river!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1210
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

The house. Perfect in every way. 2 minutes from the downtown, so totally quiet, just the sound of the beautiful River. Beds are very comfortable. And you hear the river when you lay by the pool in the backyard.
The Host. Funny, smart, attentive and totally knowledgeable re Basque area and all of the walks.
The Breakfast. Yummy! Somehow he buys the best bread in town. Sheep yogurt.
This was our second time staying here. Every guest we met was a returning guest. We know why. Jean Francois is a true gentleman and his trusty companion Zubi is adorable.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Perfect host. Perfect location just a short stroll along the riverside to the town. Just far enough not to spoil the perfect peace and tranquillity of the wonderful house, garden and pool and relax in the sun or the shade of the many trees. Our spacious room overlooked the river with just an audible hint of the nearby waterfall. Great breakfast make sure you try the sheeps milk yoghurt and tree dried figs. Ask Jean Francois nicely and he will show you round his collection of blacksmiths anvils which will always be one of my best memories. Another was coming into the cool darkness of the house from the 38'c heat Going back next year but for longer

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgenosheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews