We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idylliic Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island, Abaco Islands, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
shrewton
Aussie
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idylliic Location”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We just had the most wonderful stay at On the Rocks. The location is just perfect, peaceful, stunning water views, swimming off the deck, watching dolphins and casting our fishing line.

Christmas was perfect, we were able to go the to Fish House and pick up lobster to bbq . Just perfect. Well equipped house for a short stay made it all the better and an exceptionally nice owner who called us to ensure we were happily settled. We would highly reccomend "On the Rocks" for the perfect break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location right on the water and tranquility
Liked least: we wished we could have stayed longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
I am so glad that you enjoyed your Christmas at On the Rocks and that you were able to swim so easily off the deck and saw so many fish. The dolphin were a real treat for you.
I hope you come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthGeor...
north georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage, Perfect Location!”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My daughter and I just returned from a week-long stay at "On the Rocks". From the moment that we entered the cottage, the view captured our full attention! The location on Eastern Shore was so nice, as it is the last house before the gate across the road, secluded, but very close to all conveniences. The house design is great for 2 couples, with a bedroom and bath at each end, with sitting area and kitchen in the middle.
We were only 5-10 minutes by car from the ferry dock, shopping, and restaurants. If we weren't visiting other islands or fishing or diving, we were right on the deck every day. It was so nice to return home to the cottage and do a little fishing, fish-watching, and capturing amazing sunsets.
Thank you, Christopher for all your advice, valuable information about shopping, eating, and how to get everywhere! Your prompt replies made our planning so easy.
We hope to return to this oasis next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
Dear Karen so glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your week so much with the fishing and diving. The cottage is very convenient for the ferries to the Cays. The deck is always a nice place to relax after a day in the sun. I hope you come back again. Christopher
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David0862
Mt Dora, Fl
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Abaco comfort- on the rocks”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This home was wonderful. Our family was very comfortable and the location is not only beautiful,( even the closet and laundry have an amazing view) but convenient to all our needs. It is tastefully decorated and this adds to the peaceful island and marine environment.
The homeowner Chris is a true gentleman and very helpful in local tips to make your stay better.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for your comments David. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed their stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I were only able to stay for 5 days and that was the single biggest mistake we made. On The Rocks is in a perfect location with lots of privacy and amazing views. It is also close to everything so making a quick trip to restaurants, stores or the ferry to the outer islands is easy. Great Abaco Theater was watching the fish right from the deck. With rays, dolphin, angel and lion fish just to name a few we had a great time. We started everyday with a swim right at the house. I would certainly recommend On The Rocks to anyone visiting Great Abaco and look forward to me next and LONGER visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
I am glad that your stay was so enjoyable and we look forward to your return.

Regards Christopher
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJ_LDN
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Getaway”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We recently stayed at “On The Rocks” and what a fabulous cottage this is !!
The property is situated at the end of a very quiet private road. The House is very spacious with a lovely large bedroom with on suite bathroom and a great sized second bedroom. The decking that over hangs the sea is wonderful. With steps directly into the water, it was perfect for the morning swim. The perfect place to watch the fish by day and study the amazing stars at night. The kitchen has all you need to cook and the property also has great WiFi.
Christopher was incredibly helpful from the first contact and throughout, offering advice on local restaurants, beaches and Islands to explore. He always answered any emails immediately and even arranged to have us collected from the airport and taken to the property.
Marsh Harbour has some lovely restaurants. We especially enjoyed “Jamies” which serves local Bahamian fare, “The Jib Room” on the other side of the harbour serves great lunch and “Java” coffee shop is a must for any caffeine junkies !! For diving and snorkelling I would highly recommend “Dive Abaco”. The owner is a Canadian called Keith who made us feel very welcome.
We rented a car for our trip and this is really a good thing to do. There is a lovely Bay about 30 mins by car called “Treasure Cay”. Stunning beach and crystal clear water. This is also the place to get the ferry to Green Turtle Cay. A beautiful island that is well worth the trip. The ferry to Hope Town and Man O War go from the ferry office that is a 10 min stroll from “On The Rocks”.
The best part of being in Marsh Harbour though was coming back to “On The Rocks” after a day exploring and relaxing in this great house.
I would highly recommend anyone who is looking to go to the Bahamsas to go to Marsh Harbour and stay at “On The Rocks” a real home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2014
Justin thank you for your splendid review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope Lofty Fig was satisfactory for you. Keith Rogers at Dive Abaco is great fun so great that you enjoyed your outings with him.
I hope we see you back again at sometime in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing