We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
A guest feeding lambs in August Queen sized bed with en-suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
A guest feeding lambs in August
Queen sized bed with en-suite
Family room with twin beds
Your hosts, Shirley & Alan
Mother sheep with twin lambs
World map showing where our guests come from
A guest getting up close to the cows
Lounge with fire burning in the cooler evenings
Sheep in the yard for shearing
Hen with newly hatched chickens
Sheep in the yards for shearing
calves
Our working dogs waiting for their next job
Hereford cattle on our rolling hill country
We have native bush surrounding parts of the farm
Hereford cows eating hay
Hen with chickens
Curious cows
Bush and farmland
Travelling up the driveway to the house
Shirley in the kitchen
A view down the valley
The creek, the stock's water supply
Rooster with hens
The view along Piakonui Road
Vegetables from the garden and fresh eggs
Our home in March
Shearing time for the sheep
Walking in the bush
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matamata, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
australia...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was a fantastic experience. We got to ride on the back of the tractor while relocating cows, bottle feed lambs, feed young cows and chickens, and walk dogs. Shirley and Alan are beautiful hosts. Shirley's cooking is great and Alan will teach you about all things farm. The scenery is beautiful as well - massively undersold on their website. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind getting a bit dirty, it wa a wonderful thing to do. It was hard to leave and I'd go back in a heartbeat. Spend at least a couple of days here, it's definitely worth it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review Alex - it was great to have you and Charlotte stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The view is magnificent at Maungakawa Views! Just breathtaking! Our stay was everything I had hoped for. Shirley and Alan are kind and lovely people. They made us feel welcome and at home. They took me to visit with the animals and I even got to feed baby calves! So much fun! We really enjoyed talking with Shirley and Alan and felt like we got a glimpse of life for a New Zealand farmer. Amazing place. Amazing people!

Thank you Shirley and Alan for your hospitality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you Kim for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. We enjoyed hosting you and Brian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky v
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable farmstay experience”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a magnificent three nights at Maungakawa Views. Shirley and Alan made us feel so welcome, from the loving attention that Shirley gave to our two boys to the great experiences Alan allowed us to share with him on the farm. Shirley is also an excellent cook. Our meals with Alan and Shirley, our evening chats, and the experiences with the sheep, chickens, and cows made us feel that we had gotten a really good experience of life on a New Zealand farm, and been part of the family for a few days.
This farmstay is perfect for families with kids. Our 6-year-old son actually broke into tears when we left, rounded the corner, and Maungakawa Views disappeared from view, when he realized how much he'd be missing Alan and Shirley.
Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
We enjoyed hosting Vicky and her family. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated..
Shirley and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must do!”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Shirley and Alan were amazing hosts! They provided us with a great insight into their daily farm activities including for example, chopping firewood, herding sheep, feeding their animals and many many more.

Shirley is also an amazing cook! We enjoyed a delicious home-cooked dinner and breakfast :)

The facilities were clean and the bed was comfortable.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thanks so much Christine for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed hosting you and Susan. Have a great 2017.
Shirley and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonwon...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect farmstay experience with wonderful hosts!!”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in this beautiful farmstay is one of the best memories for our recent visit to NZ. Shirley and Alan are the best host ever! We miss every single moments spent in this lovely farmstay; we miss every single meal prepared by Shirley; we miss the beautiful farmland; we miss the wonderful and educational farm tour conducted by Alan; we love the tractor ride; we miss all the animals there especially Boy and Joe; Our daughter miss the trampoline very much; we miss the lovely house with beautiful gardens; we miss the comfy beds and our lovely room; we also miss our hiking trip up the nearby mountain! Thank you Alan & Shirley for your kindness, thoughtfulness and hospitality!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2016
Sharon it was a pleasure to host yourself, Terry and Chloe.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review.
Shirley and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing