We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm hosts that love the experience they bring”
other travellers have booked this property
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
A guest feeding lambs in August Queen sized bed with en-suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
A guest feeding lambs in August
Queen sized bed with en-suite
Family room with twin beds
Your hosts, Shirley & Alan
Mother sheep with twin lambs
World map showing where our guests come from
A guest getting up close to the cows
Lounge with fire burning in the cooler evenings
Sheep in the yard for shearing
Hen with newly hatched chickens
Sheep in the yards for shearing
calves
Our working dogs waiting for their next job
Hereford cattle on our rolling hill country
We have native bush surrounding parts of the farm
Hereford cows eating hay
Hen with chickens
Curious cows
Bush and farmland
Travelling up the driveway to the house
Shirley in the kitchen
A view down the valley
The creek, the stock's water supply
Rooster with hens
The view along Piakonui Road
Vegetables from the garden and fresh eggs
Our home in March
Shearing time for the sheep
Walking in the bush
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Matamata, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wildhobbi...
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Warm hosts that love the experience they bring”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Alan and Shirley were absolutely fantastic as hosts. From the tours of the farm to the home cooked meals, this was a highlight to our vacation in New Zealand. We should have stayed 2 or 3 nights instead of just one! My kids are still asking to go back to play with Riley the lamb and the head dog of the farm, Joe. I'm missing the vegetables of Shirley's garden. The wife is missing the comfortable bed and the bird sounds in the morning. What a great experience. Thanks Alan and Shirley!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2016
Allan thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We enjoyed hosting your family and wish you all the best and a very happy Christmas and New Year.
Alan and Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent farmstay experience!”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I went to Alan & Shirley farmstay for two nights which is unforgettable! My parents are so happy to have such experience that we can never try in Hong Kong, definitely. Alan & Shirley are very nice! You will just feel like home. You will not forget Shirley's cooking, ESP the apple crumble and chocolate.
We miss Railey (a sheep) so much!
Thanks Alan & Shirley again for everything! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
Thank you Camille for your lovely comments. We enjoyed hosting your family and we hope to see you again.
Alan and Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Being city dwellers, we had never stayed on a farm. Also since we live in Canada we knew about the farms that we have here but certainly not about sheep farms. Our hosts were super welcoming and accommodating. You can do as much or as little as you wish. We wanted the full experience and so we were given a tour of the small area with their hens that laid the fresh eggs that we had the next morning, the pet baby sheep, horse and so on. The views were quite spectacular and so the name of the establishment is appropriate. We marveled at the trained dogs who herded the sheep and cattle. We saw a lamb being sheared. Saw and learned about their beekeeping operation. We helped put down a fence. All in all in was very educational for city slickers.

One note. It is no longer true that there are more sheep than people in New Zealand. As we drove to the farm we noticed that all the farms had cattle and not sheep. It seems that cattle provide a much better income than sheep and so most farmers have moved to cattle. This was true for our hosts too but they kept enough sheep so that they could show tourists what they wanted to see. We spent one day here and I think that is enough but it is worth the time if you are interested in how small farmers live and work.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you William,
Warm regards Alan & Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wan N
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“home sweet home”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This my 1st review on tripadvisor. Im not used to comment or review the place that i hv stayed or visited, but this time i cannot resist myself to write a review about this place.. What i can say is this : Allan & Shirley are very nice and make me feel most welcomed. They make me & my familly feel like a part of their family. Im so surprised with their services. For those who want feel a farmer life, so this is the place and the best homemade cook i ever taste prepared by Shirley. Not only that , Shirley served me with her CHINA set - noritake.. during the dinner & brunch.. whoever stay here.. i can guarantee you will not forget the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the meals & the experience as a farmer
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Yani we enjoyed sharing our home and farm with you and your family.
We hope to meet again.
Thank you,
Alan & Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celine17k...
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A "wow" farm stay for my family”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was a fantastic 2 nights stay with Maungakaws View. The farm is on a hilltop and the views from it is amazing! The owners are nice and their service is excellent. We will definitely be back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
It was our pleasure to share our home and farm with Celine and her family and we would love for them to come back again.
Alan and Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing