We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing farmstay experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
A guest feeding lambs in August Queen sized bed with en-suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
A guest feeding lambs in August
Queen sized bed with en-suite
Family room with twin beds
Your hosts, Shirley & Alan
Mother sheep with twin lambs
World map showing where our guests come from
A guest getting up close to the cows
Lounge with fire burning in the cooler evenings
Sheep in the yard for shearing
Hen with newly hatched chickens
Sheep in the yards for shearing
calves
Our working dogs waiting for their next job
Hereford cattle on our rolling hill country
We have native bush surrounding parts of the farm
Hereford cows eating hay
Hen with chickens
Curious cows
Bush and farmland
Travelling up the driveway to the house
Shirley in the kitchen
A view down the valley
The creek, the stock's water supply
Rooster with hens
The view along Piakonui Road
Vegetables from the garden and fresh eggs
Our home in March
Shearing time for the sheep
Walking in the bush
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Matamata, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Justin B
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing farmstay experience”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My friends and I had an unforgettable experience at the farmstay, the host(Shirley and Alan) were hospitable, the location was serene and we experienced the workings of a farm.

We arrived on a sunny day and had afternoon tea in the garden, which overlooked the nearby vicinity. The afternoon tea was a prelude to the delicious food that Shirley made during the our stay.

There were a variety of activities that we did during our stay; picking fresh chicken eggs, feeding the calfs and watching Alan shear the sheep.

A unique part of the experience is that my friends and I, being the only guests, had lots of interaction with Shirley and Alan. Through our conversations, we learnt so much about stuff that we had seen in New Zealand as well as the workings of a farm.

We spent our last night of our vacation in Maungakawa Views and left the farmstay with small gifts from Shirley and Alan to remind us of the amazing experience we had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Justin it was a pleasure hosting you and your friends, Cherie, Hui Yan, Gordon and Liyu. We wish you all a great year and hope to see you again. Alan and Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilaryNga...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

It is very worthwhile to have a visit. Food is excellent and hosts are so friendly. Living place is excellent and very clean! Real farm activities experienced and time flies so quickly!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
Thank you Hilary, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was a pleasure to meet your family.
Shirley and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan0428...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and unforgettable farm stay!!!!!”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

"We had an unforgettable memory for our 1 night stay @ Maungakawa Views New Zealand Farmstays. It's simply the best farm stay experience ! (We wish we could stay longer there. )

Shirley and Alan were so friendly and made us feel completely at home. We can feel the kind intention and the effort they put in, ensured that we have a very comfortable stay.
Every little things in the house making a home feel cozy and inviting.

Better to see something once than hear about it thousand times. An amazing lushed greenery was a treat to our eyes! We had wonderful experience of farm activities. We learnt so much about the farm and animals from Alan. And filled with laughter at the farm with some "animal game", truly unforgetable experience.

The night sky at the farm was amazing. We loved the feeling of watching the night sky that full of stars. Of course, Shirley's cooking was also one of d best part of our farmstays.

Thank you so much for the warmth hospitality, Shirley and Alan. It was truly a "feel at home" farmstays for us! We shall be back in the near future!"

With Loves,
Susan, Grace, Pearly & SzeYing

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Shirley and Alan was super friendly and nice
Liked least: nothing as all is so good so far
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Hi Susan, Grace, Pearly &SzeYing, We were so pleased that you were able to enjoy the night sky. See you next time. Alan and Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy G
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful farmstay with fabulous hosts”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We wanted to have at least one farm stay on our first trip to NZ. Shirley and Alan Dodd were fabulous hosts. Shirley prepared excellent meals and the setting was exceptional. We were treated to a tractor ride that reminded us of a slow Mr Toad's Wild Ride. The horse, chickens, sheep, cattle and koi pond all contributed to an experience we will recall fondly for many years. Our only regret was we needed to leave for our Hobbiton tour which was so conveniently close. Would highly recommend to anyone. The en suite accommodations were great.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The hosts were gracious and informative
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
It was a pleasure hosting Gary and Dorothy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tristan P
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than we could've imagined!”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Simply put, this was the highlight of our trip in New Zealand.

We only stayed 1 night but saw and experienced everything we could've possibly wanted to! Home veggie garden full of fresh produce, chickens and fresh eggs, sheep & shearing of two right in front of us (!!), 3 working dogs, plenty of cattle to move around, wild blackberries, a baby black lamb, riding on the tractor... we really couldn't have asked for more.

Alan and Shirley were so generous with their time and made us feel completely at home and welcome. Full of stories, fun facts and answers to all our questions! We learnt so much about the farm and got a great insight into what living on the land might be like.

Our room was beautiful, wifi was excellent, all meals were delicious and thoughtful.

Again, couldn't have asked for more and so grateful to have had this experience.
If you're curious about farms and are hungry to soak up as much as you can, this won't disappoint at all. Just do it :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2016
It was our pleasure hosting Tristan and Sara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing