We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful farmstay with fabulous hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
A guest feeding lambs in August Queen sized bed with en-suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Maungakawa Views Farmstays is spread before you
A guest feeding lambs in August
Queen sized bed with en-suite
Family room with twin beds
Your hosts, Shirley & Alan
Mother sheep with twin lambs
World map showing where our guests come from
A guest getting up close to the cows
Lounge with fire burning in the cooler evenings
Sheep in the yard for shearing
Hen with newly hatched chickens
Sheep in the yards for shearing
calves
Our working dogs waiting for their next job
Hereford cattle on our rolling hill country
We have native bush surrounding parts of the farm
Hereford cows eating hay
Hen with chickens
Curious cows
Bush and farmland
Travelling up the driveway to the house
Shirley in the kitchen
A view down the valley
The creek, the stock's water supply
Rooster with hens
The view along Piakonui Road
Vegetables from the garden and fresh eggs
Our home in March
Shearing time for the sheep
Walking in the bush
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matamata, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dorothy G
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful farmstay with fabulous hosts”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We wanted to have at least one farm stay on our first trip to NZ. Shirley and Alan Dodd were fabulous hosts. Shirley prepared excellent meals and the setting was exceptional. We were treated to a tractor ride that reminded us of a slow Mr Toad's Wild Ride. The horse, chickens, sheep, cattle and koi pond all contributed to an experience we will recall fondly for many years. Our only regret was we needed to leave for our Hobbiton tour which was so conveniently close. Would highly recommend to anyone. The en suite accommodations were great.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The hosts were gracious and informative
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
It was a pleasure hosting Gary and Dorothy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tristan P
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than we could've imagined!”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Simply put, this was the highlight of our trip in New Zealand.

We only stayed 1 night but saw and experienced everything we could've possibly wanted to! Home veggie garden full of fresh produce, chickens and fresh eggs, sheep & shearing of two right in front of us (!!), 3 working dogs, plenty of cattle to move around, wild blackberries, a baby black lamb, riding on the tractor... we really couldn't have asked for more.

Alan and Shirley were so generous with their time and made us feel completely at home and welcome. Full of stories, fun facts and answers to all our questions! We learnt so much about the farm and got a great insight into what living on the land might be like.

Our room was beautiful, wifi was excellent, all meals were delicious and thoughtful.

Again, couldn't have asked for more and so grateful to have had this experience.
If you're curious about farms and are hungry to soak up as much as you can, this won't disappoint at all. Just do it :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2016
It was our pleasure hosting Tristan and Sara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances M...
1 review
“Wonderful memories! ”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My family of 5, including 3 children aged 14, 12 and 10 years had a lovely 2.5 days at the farm. Beautiful rolling hills, great weather and of cause, our lovely hosts, Shirley and Alan! They were always patient with our questions about farm life and so helpful when one of the children fell ill on day 2.

Shirley gave us gorgeous meals everyday. My favourite was our lunch on the picnic table in the garden. We loved to stroke the horse, collect eggs from the chicken house and bottle-feed the orphaned lambs! Alan took us out on his "mighty" tractor to give us a taste of farm life : herding the cows, milking them, chopping "naughty thistle" & firewood, mending fences, checking out the beehives, sheep sheering... we loved all of it. I also greatly enjoyed the bushwalk. The view at the top was worth the small effort. We were so impressed by the 3 dogs too, especially Joe, an amazingly fit dog with so many talents and affectionate to boot!

In all, it was a wonderful and memorable experience. Thank you so very much for your warm hospitality, Alan and Shirley!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Jon Paul, Frances, Faith, Luke and Sean, It was a pleasure to host your family and we have happy memories of your time with us.
Alan and Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Shirley and Alan were wonderful hosts. They welcomed us with tea, cookies and muffins. The home cooked dinner and breakfast were excellent and they went out of their way to show us everything that happens on the farm, from shearing sheep to herding cows. They were delightful and interesting. We would recommend this farm visit without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you very much Bill and Doris, we enjoyed your visit.
Shirley and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess D
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Absolutely magical!! Our highlight of NZ”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Where do I even begin? Maungakawa Views farm is a very, very special place - from its amazing scenery, to the beautiful animals and even more beautiful hosts, Alan & Shirley. Alan's love of animals is a tangible thing that is beautiful to witness, and Shirley is so kind and such an amazing cook! I still dream about her farm-style sausages. Nothing will ever compare! I felt so emotional leaving, it was like I had found a new family.

I really hope I get to return there one day :) We often speak about our time there and we will cherish our memories forever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and the animals :)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
Hi Jess,
We loved having you and Pam to stay. Wishing you and your family a happy Christmas and a healthy New Year.
Alan and Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing