We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM OF A RESTAURANT IN A GEM OF A TOWN”
Review of Baqqala

Baqqala
Ranked #6 of 109 Restaurants in Scicli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 34 - USD 68
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Scicli happened to be close to where we stayed in Sicily for 5 weeks. I had selected Baqqala di Mezzasalena (Drunken Fish) for lunch. It turned out to be one of the best restaurant selections. The quality of the food is excellent. We ordered a plate of the fried cod to share and had to order another because it was outstanding--light as air, crispy, succulent. We shared the pasta bottarga and the pasta with sardines--both traditional dishes of this region. Both were delicious. We also shared a traditional cassata for dessert and a modern deconstructed cannoli--both elegant and flavorful. Good service, cozy outside atmosphere and excellent food

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScarboroughFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2018

Buonissimo e delizioso, servizio gentile, il tavoli all'esterno accanto alla porta laterale c'ha delle mosche irritevoli ma per il resto davvero buono.
Abbiamo ordinato una protezione di linguine con vongole e asparagi marini, tonno scottato con tzatziki.

Great and Delicious!
Everything was great, the staff friendly and willing to explain everything that you might want as well extremely willing to be helpful in case of allergies.
Food: outstanding. Extremely fresh seafood, food is traditional with a twist and creative without overdoing it.
Location: great views of the baroque palace as well admits the lovely alleys.
Price: more than adequate.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marziadcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Place is nice, food is great and it gives a revised twist of the traditional Sicilian cuisine.I had fried cod for starter which was perfectly executed ( crisp in the outside and soft on the inside and not soggy) for main I had pappardelle with Tuna ragu’ sauce also perfectly done... my wife had gnocchi with cod and pecorino sauce... very delicate and very well balanced.... I strongly recommend to go here.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank LucaEsposito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Very good food. No children’s menu so more suitable for adults but accommodated asks for children.

Romantic setting.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank OnAir712686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Came to this amazing restaurant.
There aren't enough words to describe how good the good was here. The snap fish was tender and the sauce in It was unbelievable!
Service was mind blowing along with the setting of the restaurant.
Would definitely recommend this place.

You must book in advance to eat here

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Beautiful_day771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baqqala also viewed

Scicli, Province of Ragusa
Scicli, Province of Ragusa
 
Scicli, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Baqqala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing