We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful villa with huge character”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Bordighera beach
Camporosso al mare
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Apricale, Province of Imperia, Liguria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Jon P
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa with huge character”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We really enjoyed this rental. The villa is extremely well kitted out and perched at the top of Apricale, a hill top village. The pool is fantastic and the house as a whole great for relaxing in. The village is quiet but extremely characterful with good food options. Steep roads that are too narrow for cars lead to the villa but that is half the fun (just avoid midday!). Nearby villages are great as well - Dolceacqua in particular.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just stunning!”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The villa is just stunning, everything you could wish for a relaxing break.
Apricale is a lovely little village and the people are very friendly. The choice and quality of the restaurants for such a small place was excellent. The owner Stuart supplied all of the information you could need for your stay and Charlie was extremely kind and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pathfinde...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect relaxing weekend in Apricale”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From before we arrived, Stuart the host provided us with detailed information about the house and the town Apricale, communicating quickly and in detail about anything we needed. This meant we were able to arrange to arrive and meet him at the house which was really helpful.

Getting to Apricale is relatively simple, around half an hour off the main motorway, the final road up through Apricale and to the house is narrow and winding, with great views but can need some flexibility when you meet oncoming traffic.

Stuart made us very welcome when we arrived and gave us a guided tour, showing us the indoor and outdoor space of the property. It is split over three levels inside and out and is laid out in a well thought out way. The real benefit of the house is that it is primarily a family home, only rented out a few weeks each year, this means it has all the home comforts you could need. The kitchen is extremely well equipped with pots, pans, spices and the herb garden made cooking a really enjoyable experience.

Whilst the inside space was extremely well presented, the outdoors and the views really set this place apart. The private pool with uninterrupted views over the town and the valley below was clean and well maintained. The terraces are laid out to make the most of the sun, with there always being a place to relax in the sun or in the shade as you liked.

Apricale was a lovely little town, with steep narrow cobbled streets that wound through and under houses. We did not eat out in the town but It had many restaurants and the guide in the house gave full details and recommendations for you to decide. There is a small shop in the town too for basic foods, but you'll most likely want to head down the road 20mins to the supermarket for better choice at least once in the week.

The heat in August was manageable but did mean we spent less time out walking than we expected, fortunately the house and pool was so excellent this wasn't a problem and we loved relaxing around the house. I would thoroughly recommend to a friend and would happily return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise777...
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous villa in fantastic setting”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two teenage kids stayed here in July and had a wonderful holiday. The house was extremely well equipped and had everything we needed. It was spacious and very comfortable, well appointed with tasteful decor. There were stunning views from every window and the most beautiful setting for the pool which overlooked the Liguria countryside.

Apricale is a picturesque village, with tiny streets (no cars) and bustling village square which had good free wifi for my teenagers!! There are some great restaurants and the village has a dreamy, laid back atmosphere. It is built on a hill and the villa is at the top of the village (be prepared to walk uphill from the village square but it is only about 5 minutes). We spent most our time relaxing at the villa and pool but also were able to visit Italian beaches and those in the south of France as the village is within easy reach of the both.

Stuart, the owner, could not have been more welcoming. We received excellent instructions of how to find the villa/Apricale, info about the house and places to visit/things to do in the area.

I would thoroughly recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa/pool and the beautiful setting
Liked least: Walking up the hills!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBeiji...
Beijing
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“It's a Dream Come True”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay (2 adults 2 children) in this magnificent villa in Apricale was an absolute delight! As an Australian family experiencing a true Italian get-a-way, we were so lucky to pick a gem. A unique experience. This magnificent villa was beyond our imagination and expectations! Not only was it well appointed, meticulously renovated and decorated with flair and finesse, it was also comfortable and welcoming ! We could have easily just stayed-put!

However, we had the added bonus of exploring Apricale: a village of remarkable beauty we had never even heard of. Just a five minute walk to meander down the pathways into the village-heart and experience the Italian ‘vibe’. There is no room for cars in the village which just adds to the magic. It's a small hike from the villa up to the car park - about 100-odd metres - but wasn't a problem and no trouble finding a parking space.

The main piazza was fantastic. The local bar and restaurants, people-watching, a real treat. There was also a free wi-fi connection in the piazza and another bar/restaurant further down the hill. And incredibly good food at four different places.

The absolute jewel in the crown was the infinity pool in the villa with incredible views of the valley - would be perfect for a mid-summer stay, so we will just have to go back.

Stuart, the owner, was so accommodating and very easy to communicate with. He made our first Italian experience one we will never-ever forget!

This place is an absolute GEM! My advice? Book-it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting and quality of house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing