We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food, but a weaternised”

Sala Thai Art Gallery & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 213 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 30
Description: Sala Thai Restaurant is the authentic Thai restaurant. Our experienced chef proudly presents you our Thai cuisine / Thai menu local style / vegetarian food using fresh ingredients, herbs & vegetables from our garden / daily fresh seafood from local market also European food. Thank you very Much Best Regards Sala Thai Team
Restaurant details
Description: Sala Thai Restaurant is the authentic Thai restaurant. Our experienced chef proudly presents you our Thai cuisine / Thai menu local style / vegetarian food using fresh ingredients, herbs & vegetables from our garden / daily fresh seafood from local market also European food. Thank you very Much Best Regards Sala Thai Team
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Nice restaurant but the food was a bit tame and westernised for my liking. If you are after real Thai food with spice and flavour look elsewhere.

Thank phillandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sathit_samui, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Sala Thai Art Gallery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

dear values customers ( phillandkevin)
our chef all are Thai and had experience almost 20 year in Thai kitchen we provide real Thai food and Thai taste I also Thai , .you might order basic Thai food. you have to order some thing not basic Thai food. and then you will get the same every where.
regards
Sala Thai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Thai restaurant that also offers some European dishes and have some micro brewery beers. All the dishes we tried were very good. The mango sticky rice is excellent. They accept Credit cards but will charge an additional 3% for CC payments.

Thank Qasim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sathit_samui, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Sala Thai Art Gallery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Values Customers ( Qasim H)
Thank you very much for your Kindly shared your experience @ Sala Thai Restaurant we very much appreciated . we hope you have a good time in koh samui.
looking forwards to welcome and see you again next visit
Best. Regards
Sala Thai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Both my husband and I were violently ill the next morning after having the soft shell crab and sweet and sour chicken. Do not recommend and will never go back.

Thank Sallontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sathit_samui, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Sala Thai Art Gallery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Values customers ( Sallontour).
We so sorry for your case we always used fresh product but also possible if some one not really used to it specially some of seafood not because it not fresh but was from allergies. some of our staff staff can not eat Mussel . when they eat always have problem.same as your case not even not they eat here . where ever they eat it. always happen. I suggests please you do not eat this again in any place. it will happen again.
Best. Regards
Sala Thai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Went here because of the good reviews, but we were disappointed. The food is ok, but service was slow, tables were not clean, and it really is overpriced and overrated. Coconut prawns were very good though.

Thank Jens3000H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sathit_samui, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Sala Thai Art Gallery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Values Customers ( Jens3000h)
our food price just average about 160 baht. it not that expensive. and in rush hour as you see have to wait a little bit. our Food have prepared fresh. and take a bit of time. not like fast food.
Regards
Sala Thai Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

I went there cause of tripadviser comments. Food wasn’t good as I expected. I love Thai food, i wanted to try best Thai dining in the town. Basically Thai food adapted to be Europaen food in this place and i didn’t enjoy as street thai food.
European people who don’t want to have spices and flavors, they might enjoy in this place. I had food without any spices, without asked when they were taking order

Thank cemadgzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sathit_samui, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Sala Thai Art Gallery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Values Customers ( cemadgzl)
we sorry and apologize that you are not happy with our food. in our restaurant. our Chef and staff are all Thai we always eat real Thai food. and our customers .not only European or etc. we had many Local Thai customers also eat here and most of staff from Bangkok always also have to eat here. we provided . real Thai authentic food.
Best Regards
Sala Thai Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sala Thai Art Gallery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sala Thai Art Gallery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing