We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
AU$386
Breakfast included
Agoda.com
AU$333
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
TravellingDj
Melbourne, Australia
Really unique and exclusive on Chaweng Beach
Review of The Library
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Sept 2012
My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights in the Suite Room (downstairs) in August 2012.
To summarise in one sentence, this place is awesome.
The room is very modern and un-Thai like, but I like that. The bathroom is large and has a spa bath and separate shower. The open air lounge is really nice, but not private. There are movable open slat doors that face the main walkway. And as The Library is quite unique and the restaurant is very well regarded, people walk through and look in your room. He bed was large and very comfortable, however stepping down from the bed area at night was a little dangerous.
A few people commented about security stopping them walking through the Library... This happened to me on he first day until I said I was a guest, however you appreciate them doing that with he amount of people who try and sticky beak.
The beach beanbags are a great idea. It makes the normal beach lounges look cheap and old fashioned. They are comfy and there is never a problem getting one.
The food was extremely good. I'll review The Page separately. But breakfast was there as well and was always good. Definitely try Breakfast Culture on the beach. Is free and a nice experience.
The staff were always attentive and especially the pool/beach staff. They would bring free water, extra towels etc without you asking. Little things all resorts should do.
This resort is in the best part of Chaweng Beach. If you go too north, you hit the reef and the swimming is not good. Just near the end of the reef (at Baan Chaweng Resort) it's extremely crowded because the beach is thinner and the people from the north resorts come there. If you go too south, you are too far away to walk to the centre of Chaweng and Green Mango etc. The Library is just perfect. And they keep the jet skis away from you.
The only negative was the base from The Reggae bar could be heard a night. Chaweng Beach has a real noise pollution issue and they need to control it before everyone stops coming.
Date of stay: August 2012
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$558
  • Official Site
    AU$626
  • Agoda.com
    AU$547
  • Hotels.com
    AU$559
0.8 km from The Library
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$133
  • Priceline
    AU$143
  • Vio.com
    AU$115
  • Expedia.com
    AU$131
0.1 km from The Library
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$291
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$283
  • Agoda.com
    AU$251
  • Hotels.com
    AU$262
1.0 km from The Library
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$538
  • Hotels.com
    AU$537
  • Agoda.com
    AU$512
  • Expedia.com
    AU$538
1.6 km from The Library
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$193
  • Expedia.com
    AU$193
  • Agoda.com
    AU$181
  • Hotels.com
    AU$193
0.2 km from The Library
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$192
  • Priceline
    AU$194
  • StayForLong
    AU$179
  • Expedia.com
    AU$203
1.5 km from The Library
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$137
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$172
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
  • Hotels.com
    AU$160
0.5 km from The Library
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$211
  • Expedia.com
    AU$324
  • StayForLong
    AU$173
  • Agoda.com
    AU$192
3.0 km from The Library
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$94
  • Priceline
    AU$117
  • Hotels.com
    AU$85
  • Expedia.com
    AU$87
2.2 km from The Library
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$216
  • Expedia.com
    AU$263
  • Vio.com
    AU$200
  • Hotels.com
    AU$308
1.7 km from The Library
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chaweng
Reviews (891)
Filter reviews
891 results
Traveller rating
596
174
60
27
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
596
174
60
27
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red pool thai tapas chaweng beach koh samui pool villa chapter thailand tik tiles privacy nightlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 891 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The Library is a cluster of bungalows right on the beach in the heart of Chaweng. Step outside the hotel, and you are in the midst of all the wonderful craziness. Step inside, and its an oasis. Breakfast on the beach every morning was lovely. The design of the hotel is ultra modern hip. Beanbags instead of beach lounge chairs, a pool with red tile. The rooms are full of amenities, like an espresso maker, MAC desktop with free wi-fi, IPOD dock and mini fridge. The outdoor space in the suites is also lovely, offering privacy and the chance to smell the ocean air from your own room. The bed is a very comfortable mattress on a high platform, or level above the floor. Also on the platform is a chaise lounge, some artwork and a table with fresh fruit. This platform is about 18 inches higher than the floor. It is NOT safe for a baby or toddler, or an adult who gets up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and forgets he or she is 18 inches off the floor. You can really hurt yourself, especially if you have sampled some of the amazing cocktails at the drink gallery.
Unfortunately, the service is below standard for this price. For example, they have a "Pillow menu" which allows you to sample all kinds of pillows in various shapes, sizes and materials. However, when we tried to order some, we ended up with appetizers. My adult children vacationed with us, and when they returned to the hotel late in the evening the security guard gave them a really hard time.
There is no "main building" at this property. The entire hotel consists of bungalows housing two rooms (one upstairs and one downstairs) or suites, and there are 26 total rooms. There is always a place to sit at the pool, the stretch of beach is roped off and lovely. Since its a bay neither the tides or the surf pose any danger and ocean swimming is lovely.
This hotel is not for everybody, but it is unique, fun, and a holiday I will never forget. Choose carefully and you will have a great time. There are no bad rooms if you don't mind the platform thing. All of them have a partial ocean view.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubyAZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2012

There's a lot of buzz from this Hotel. Though it is beautiful with its ultra modern look, I thought it could have been better for its price. But there are some memorable details such as the color light board above the bed and the red pool.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nkewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This place is amazing, in the heart of chaweng but away from the craziness of that street.
The location is great, cocktails are good and cheap for a place like that, and the landscape is amazing. We didn't eat or sleep there but it definitly worth going there if you are in chaweng!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank valoche_amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We visited the Library Bar every day we were in Koh Samui. If you want excellent service and the best cocktails on the island, this is where you want to go. It was dissppointing to see the venue empty day after day when it is such a little piece of paradise in an otherwise completely tourist set up arena.

The staff and the cocktails,only slightly higher priced and well worth it, than the dreadful drinks served elsewhere are well worth it. The decor beats that of almost any bar in Melbourne and Sydney and the service is beyond reproach.

VERY IMPRESSED!!

Room tip: If you want a littel piece of paradise in the middle of such squalor then go to the Library Bar, have a drink, enjoy your surroundings and chill out!
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnaTravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I had high expectations of luxury accommodation and service when we checked in to The Library given the price of the room and some of the previous reviews...and I was disappointed immediately from just the first few hours. At the first breakfast I ordered a cappucino, only to wait and wait and wait for no server to come back to me at the table. I got up and walked in and asked for it again and was shewed off. Then, finally 15 minutes later, I asked another server and explained that i had been waiting for it, she finally returned 5 minutes later with the coffee, but no apology. The front desk staff were not helpful at all in recommending activities or restaurants and often gave us blank stares (with smiles of course) when we asked questions. At the pool or beach, it was very difficult to get someone's attention to order a drink or snacks and the wait times were extremely long. The rooms were nice, but the bed was very soft. Overall, my biggest disappointment was with the service of the hotel, which i have experienced much better from hotels in Thailand at a fraction of The Library's cost.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pmsanfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews