We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beach and good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samui First House Resort
Ranked #75 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Excellent service at this hotel, which is located at the far end of Chaweng (the best/main beach on Ko Samui). The people who work the reception were excellent. The pool is excellent and you have direct access over a bridge to the two beaches (chaweng beach or Chawneg Noi - the BEST beach) We stayed here for a total of 8 days on two separate occassions during our trip.

The first time, we stayed for 3 nights in the standard room which was in a different building. The room was a good size, small with an old bathroom, but was pretty clean and quiet, but the mattresses were not the best. We booked our room with the western style buffet breakfast which was good enough - omelets, toast, hash browns, fresh fruit, cereals, etc. The beach is what really impressed us. It was a better and more secluded beach that some of the five star hotels located on Chaweng.

We returned to this hotel and booked the standard room again, but were upgraded because it was our second visit. The mattresses were not great in this room, which was bigger and VERY clean. The next day, we complained and were upgraded again to the deluxe room. This room was very large, VERY clean and quiet. The only issue was that the shower drain needed cleaning. But once again, it was the beach. Chaweng Noi is a fabulous beach with perfect soft sand and shallow, clean waters. The hotel provided loungers and umbrellas, a bar/restaurant on the beach and a place to get a Thai massage. A wonderful relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms in the main building might be best if you are not a backpacker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leessam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel looked dated and probably built in 80′s without refurbishment afterward. The swimming pool is charm but actually I prefer the beach because it is just 2-3 minutes walking distance away. With that affordable rate and short distance to the beach, you can’t complain much. However, I would prefer the sister hotel First Residence Hotel which just a little bit farther away from the beach but newer. Airport transportation is available for 450B and takes around 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laisir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Arriving at the hotel after a taxi from the airport, we were taken to our room which was in one of the 3 buildings making up the complex - these vary in age and quality. Our room was in the older block near the mini-market up 4 flights of stairs with no lift.

The rooms are small - our twin room just had the 2 beds, a small bathroom and little else. Nice touches included finding stains and hairs in the minibar, and holes in the bedsheets which is completely unacceptable. If sheets are worn out they must be replaced straight away. The rooms in our block didn't have a balcony, so feel very claustrophobic. We had a view out the windows of a concrete building, perhaps the kitchen. We asked for a pool or beach view but were told these would cost more. The bathroom had a few ants so we complained and these were dealt with.

The pool is nice, clean and fairly small with nice sun loungers. The beach is acccessed over a bridge of stagnant water which isn't very appealing.

The hotel restaurant isn't very good. There is a huge menu and it is all executed very poorly. Most days for lunch we ate at the beach bar for the hotel next door, which was okay. What was most despicable was seeing a member of kitchen staff use the toilet, and come out and not wash her hands at the basins located outside the toilets. This is simply unacceptable hygiene which the manager must address.

The hotel has a 'gym' - which is effectively a dank room with a few bits of rusty equipment, some of it broken. In addition you have to pay extra to use this which is outrageous! It looks very unsafe so I chose to exercise at the nearby World Gym which is a short taxi ride away. There is also a poorly stocked mini market and an internet cafe at the hotel.

Despite this the atmosphere is pleasant and the beach is lovely to relax on, but for your money it is worth staying in a hotel further down towards the centre of Chaweng Beach.

Room Tip: pay extra for a pool-side view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brommers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was a medium sized resort with both hotel and bungalow style accomadation. The rooms were clean but the bathroom was small. There was also no elevator so getting our bags up and down the stairs was a challenge but if there were staff around they were ready and willing to help. There was a pool and a nice strip of private beach with beach lounges. This was a nicer strip to swim in compared with other places along chaweng I've been to. The resort is also located right near the main road and shopping strip and there are markets just a short walk away. Overall I thought the resort was good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

For wifi, this can only be used in the lobby and not the bedrooms because of the signal issues.

The rooms were basic but the shower was really poor especially for the price i paid of £26. If you compare like for like with another hotel, it was crap

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SayItHowItIs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 km away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#47 of 104 in Chaweng
238 reviews
0.1 km away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
1 km away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#68 of 104 in Chaweng
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.8 km away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#67 of 104 in Chaweng
188 reviews
0.7 km away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui First House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui First House Resort

Address: 4 Moo.3 Chaweng Beach | Tambon Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $25 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui First House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui First House Hotel is located on the largest island of the Gulf of Siam, called Koh Samui. Its beautiful white sand beaches, crystal clear water, jungle, hills and waterfalls create a very changing landscape, rarely found on the other islands. Koh Samui has now become an internationally-renowned holiday destination and receives more and more tourists every year, attracted by its unchanged beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samui First House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui First House Hotel Chaweng
Samui 1st House Resort
Samui First Hotel
Samui First Resort
Samui First House Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing