We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average "package" hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Wasn't particularly happy with my stay here. The hotel is clean but lacks any character. You wouldnt know you where in south east Asia, has a package hotel quality about it.

As the last reviewer commented, a lot of things are overpriced and its one of these places that try to charge you for everything. You were not even meant to take the complimentary water from your room! (they put it in glass bottles) meaning you had to take the plastic bottles from the chargable mini bar menu. This is not exaclty a problem but illustrates their attitude. What hotel in Thailand doesn't let you do what you want with the 2 free bottles of water!?

Another thing that annoyed me was the restaurant menu. The food was a bit overpriced for what it was to begin with but the prices did not include 7% tax and they added an automatic 10% service charge. This meant a 600baht tab for food ended up being about 700baht. Don't get me wrong, this was made clear on the menu but every other restaurant I have been to in Thailand includes tax and does not add service charge.

The thing that annoyed me the most was the staggering 700baht!! joiner fee. I have seen Joiner Fees of 100/200 or so but 700!!

Also when I checked out the guy in charge of the mopeds wanted 500baht as he claimed I scratched it. The reception staff didnt seem to interested in helping even though the moped was rented through the Hotel.

This Hotel is ok for young groups with money to waste who are not bothered about character and value but I would not stay here again and would not receomend it for solo travellers or couples.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 287 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2010

The hotel rooms were clean, spacious, with excellent facilities. The swimming pool was lovely for relaxing, although there was a layer of scum on the surface - probably a combination of suncream and sand but really needed cleaning.
The main problems were that the hotel overcharged us for ferries and transfers that we could get cheaper elsewhere, and they had not removed the previous guest's comment card form the room which was very negative - quite an oversight I think!!
Otherwise a very good hotel, they just need to fix the minor problems.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurse_betty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Here you really can relax, nice staff and lovely view from the poolside bungalows.
We come back....
Its quiet 23.00 closing time for the pool bar and the pool and garden area was dark, we wish for light in the evening, when the kids have gone to sleep. grown up relaxing time.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogalandNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 28 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.7 km away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.9 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,980 reviews
0.4 km away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#33 of 103 in Chaweng
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#3 of 103 in Chaweng
1,550 reviews
2.4 km away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#54 of 103 in Chaweng
425 reviews
0.3 km away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#45 of 103 in Chaweng
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Cove Beach Resort

Address: 17 / 4 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $80 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaweng Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort built in contemporary Thai architecture set directly on the beach front location of the vibrant Chaweng Beach, 10 minutes drive away distance from the airport within short walking distance to the nearby vibrant commercial area offering 101 cozily decorated guestrooms and classic charming bungalows for enjoyable tropical beach holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Chaweng Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Cove Resotel Hotel Chaweng
Cove Resotel Hotel Chaweng
Cove Resotel Chaweng
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing