We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanna be luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wanna be luxury”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just checking out from this hotel and must say I feel disappointed. Rooms very average, bathroom below average, aircon did not work for entire stay so did not have one good nights sleep during whole week. Also fireworks were shot at the hotel area each and every night... room was not even cleaned every day and when asked for a late check out (a paid one) just bluntly told to check out at 12 without any effort to make us happy customers. Not a lot of the friendliness we are used to in Thailand.... If we come back to Samui we will choose another hotel for sure

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NasuJOMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear NasuJOMI,

Thank you for staying with us at Chaweng Regent.

While it is not our intention to 'be luxury,' it is our goal to provide a comfortable and friendly stay with all the modern conveniences amidst the heart of Chaweng.

I am sorry we failed to meet this goal in reference to your recent stay and should you return to Samui, it would be my pleasure to make this up to you.

Until then, rest assured we will improve our product offering, service and experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    576
    192
    69
    59
See reviews for
435
877
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was the first stop on our honeymoon and our first visit to Koh Samui. Unfortunately our first experience with the Chaweng Regent left little to be desired during check-in. The hotel had over-booked and over-upgraded (as I understand is a hugely common practice with this hotel) and because our flight landed late in the evening all the room types which we had booked were taken. After much haggling we settled on a compromise to first downgrade and then enjoy the rest of our time in an upgraded room - a Spa Villa suite.
The spa villa suite is absolutely beautiful with its private outdoor spa, private entry way and balcony, day bed and most importantly it is a stand alone building within beautifully manicured gardens and has a modern bathroom. A modern and appealing bathroom is what most other room classes lack at the Chaweng Regent. The Spa Villa suite certainly MADE the tropical holiday so much more special.

Interestingly we noticed a hugely rare occurance at the Chaweng Regent where families of four were offered and clearly utilised an extra double bed or two singles within their rooms (space permitted) so that the families could all stay in one room. These days it is extremely hard to find a hotel willing to have a room occupancy of more than 3 no matter the age of the children.

After walking up and down Chaweng Beach it was evident that Chaweng Regent was in a class of its own on the beach with its room types and fit out, manicured gardens, koi fish ponds, excellent facilities, obvious frequent maintence/cleaning and 2 seperate swimming pools being decades ahead of any other hotel south of it on Chaweng Beach. There were one or two other hotels North of Chaweng Regent directly on the beach that I may have considered staying at but none had the tropical feel coupled with the facilities of the Chaweng Regent and they were generally modern and sterile.

The location of the hotel was brilliant, It is on the main strip with shops, bars, massage palours and street vendors at your doorstep, and because it is located on the North side of the main strip it means that you miss out on most the crowds heading out or most of the associated music. If there was a downside to its location, it is that the hotel is within close proximity of the Ark Bar which is a good place to drink the day/night away, but which unfortunately holds late night parties twice a week with thumping bass and fireworks which are able to keep you and your neighbours awake until the early hours of the morning. However the Chaweng Regent isn't the only hotel suffering from this issue as I suspect every hotel in a 1km radious would be affected in some way by this bar.

Unfortunately like most hotels, the Chaweng Regent has an extremely expensive food and beverage menu which showed in the attendance at its restaurants and the use of its pool and beach bars. It really is a shame that a hotel which gives its patrons so many quality facilities and reasons to spend money inside the hotel that it is unable to maximise this potential by catering for its guests. Even around happy hour time the beverage service points were nearly deserted. This did translate to staff who looked depressed and bored out of the lack of customers.

Breakfast was definately delightful and made getting up before 10am every morning well worth it. The buffet is extensive and caters to all tastes (western and eastern). If breakfast is not included in your stay I must say that spending the extra is well worth it.

We only ate dinenr once at the Chaweng Regent restaurant, Chomtalay. It was during one of its many themed buffet nights which again is dissapointingly expensive and from what we saw virtually unattended by guests. We decided after some deliberation to try 'Thai Night' which we later regretted as any seafood was hideously overcooked, any dish with fresh chillies in it was uneatable (and I love spicy dishes) and lacked variety as after two trips I had sampled all that was on offer.

My gripes are small and not a reflection on what matters most on a holiday, the quality of the resort, the service excellence and the ability to relax and enjoy your time. The Chaweng Regent is a hotel which offers all of the above and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I recommend all types of travellers to stay here as it is truely one, if not the best on Chaweng Beach.

Room Tip: Spa Villa Suit - Trust me its worth the extra if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunburntViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I love this hotel. The spa villa room is perfect. Great jacuzzi, comfortable bed. I love the location its right in the center of the strip, but you never hear any noise. The beach is good. The staff are very helpful, but I am a low maintenance traveller. I love the big clean bathroom.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a spa villa room, you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikefromsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear mikefromsingapore,

Thanks for your comments and for staying with Chaweng Regent again! We pride ourselves on having many repeat guests like you who enjoy our relaxed and caring service tied with our amazing location.

Look forward to seeing you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We arrived late to this wonderful resort, and were greeted with smiles, a cold drink and refreshing wet towels. After checking in , we were taken to our bungalow. There on the bed was a huge " Happy Birthday " written in tiny flowers all over the bed. It was amazing ( I had previously emailed them to let them know of our late check-in and that I would be celebrating my 50th ). The breakfast each morning is terrific, with lots of variety. The gardens are simply breathtaking, so well looked after. The Resort itself is right on the beach . The water was so clean, and clear and a deep blue, just like you see in pictures.Out the front of the Resort are the markets, bars, restaurants ect.
Do go to this wonderful resort, you will not regret it. I know my husband and I will book again in the near future.

Room Tip: It's only ten minutes by taxi from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel10140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Once again we find ourselves in the Regent on Chaweng Beach Koh Samui, we have stayed here several times and it never fails.

You are right on the main street but would never know it s the lush tropical grounds are set back on to the beach directly.

The whole place is very easy going and again caters for both couples and families with seperate swimming pools the first of which is away from the beach area and tends to favour the family with kids.

Like most Asia hotels hospitality is top of the agenda, the food in the main Chomtalay restaurant is good and not over priced.

My reason for using this place again had a personal reason and a surprise for the lady in my life which, with the very professional assistance of the top man there and Michael you know who you are, we were able to spring a surprise that I can say went very well, all down to the brilliant Hotel staff, thank you Michael.

Being right on the beach is wonderfull in the day but at night gets even better when the whole beach transforms in to brilliant reataurants and bars to suit all ages, a stroll up the beach after dinner is very romantic if you want it.

The only negative if I had one at all is that the rooms now, although purposly rustic, are showing their age a little and a little untidy around places like the service stations at the bottom of the stairs, that said, nothing would detract me from returning, we love it.

Thank you again Michael.

B.D. / P. W.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferrarilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.6 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,352 reviews
1.2 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,732 reviews
1.8 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,393 reviews
1.3 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,331 reviews
0.8 km away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): $147 - $595
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing