We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort in not such a beautiful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort in not such a beautiful spot”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

What can I say, we were at the Chaweng Regent Resort in June 2011 and stayed in a beautiful room that looked over the pool to the ocean.
The resort in great, 2 big pools, good breakfast, great rooms, perfect you would think.
Unfortunately we didn't really like Ko Samui, the place is just too dirty, my wife had been here previously, like 15 years earlier and there wasn't much left of the good old days, the main street is a mixture of massage parlours, bars, cheap knock off shops and all to flash restaurants.
Hey, I'm travelling with kids now so 20 years ago this would have appealed but for a family stay, I'm glad we spent more than we budgeted for by escaping to this Resort whilst here.
Oh, there is a great little restaurant down the lane way across the road, Green Frog maybe, plastic chairs, plastic tables, even plastic table cloths but the food was Thai at its best, go there and write on the walls, everyone else did, beautiful food.
Oh and try the corn cooked on the beach out front of the hotel, plenty of butter and salt, mmmmm
The beach isn't anything special but the corn, yummmmm

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddijett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    568
    187
    69
    59
See reviews for
426
858
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel and rooms are beautiful and perfect for families.
The staff are wonderful and friendly. But, they did not remember to add the second bed in the kids room - boy and girl teenage siblings cannot share a bed. Luckily my daughter was ok on the pullout bed.
The spa room was a bit too closed in for me (no view or view to the sea) but still lovely and very private. Jacuzzi is open to the elements and wonderful in the rain!
The staff at the hotel beach restaurants are attentive and work with pride and care.
The hotel is smack in the middle of the town and this has plusses and minuses:
Pluses - eating out is fun, cheap and easy. The simple Thai restaurants in the market are the best. Shopping is okayish...very iffy quality.
Rain is not a deterrent for day trips.
We took a boat to snorkel. Didnt see much fish but the islands and beaches on the islands are stunning and will remain etched in your memory.
Minuses - the town is very crowded and walking in the evenings is not pleasant.
At a multitude of stalls, from night one, any type of drug was attempted to be pushed onto my teenage son (14 yrs). I would not allow my daughter (13 yrs) to walk on her own.
The Regent does not seem to encourage drinking on its premises and the staff seem to know who belongs and who doesnt.
I would return to this hotel if I were travelling with my family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nothemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Nothemba,

Thank you for your feedback, staying with us and your happiness to return again.

It is concerning to hear what you write about the 'issues' in the shopping stalls of Chaweng. I shall share your comments with the appropriate authorities as we certainly do not want this issue to progress.

Again, thank you and hope to welcom you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, VIC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Went to this hotel in Jan 2012. Was a great stay and trip. The hotel is of really high standard and the rooms are perfect and spacious. We stayed in a spa villa suite and had 2 kids. The suite has a queen sofa bed for the kids not to mention the awesome king bed for us. The staff at this hotel is what make the stay really really special. They are friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated right in the heart of the Chaweng beach strip and is central to everything. It also is right on the beach which makes it even more convienent.

The only down side to the resort that I could recommend to improve is the breakfast. The quality of food is not very good and the range is also much less than what some of the other resorts provide.

Room Tip: Spa villa suites are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karzrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear karzrao,

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback.

Your comments are noted and I have currently advised the team to form a breakfast committee to evaluate our offering, presentation and that of our neighboring resorts.

Trust improvement will be made.

Again, thank you and do visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We have just returned home to Vietnam from a 6 night stay at the Chaweng Beach Resort (followed by 3 nights in Bangkok). I originally booked this resort based on the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. For whatever reason, in the week or so leading up to our stay there were quite a few negative reviews posted so I must admit I came to the resort with low expectations. I needn't have worried!

From the seamless airport pick up (they waited for us despite the late plane and delayed baggage) to the hotel check in, everything went smoothly. We booked a spa villa suite and when the staff showed us to our villa (Rm 411) we knew we had picked the right place to enjoy our Chinese New Year holiday!

The rooms: gorgeous. If you can afford an upgrade to a spa villa suite it is worth it. We had one a couple of rows back from the pool and off down a side path so it felt very secluded from the main walkway. We are a family of 4 (with 4 year old twins) and this was a perfect size for us. A massive king sized bed for the adults and a sofa bed for the kids that was like a double bed. Some reviewers have complained that there was not much room with the bed folded out but I disagree. Decent size for the price. There is an outdoor area at the front, but the best touch is the outdoor spa bath/shower which our twins loved.

Location: bang smack in the heart of Chaweng Beach. We have stayed on Chewang Beach before (at the northern end) and felt we were too far away as we had to get a tuk tuk to the restaurants. The Chaweng Regent is in a great spot. It has a few backpacker/all night bars next door but that was no issue for us as once you are back inside the resort it is tranquil and relaxed. If you are after a secluded resort holiday, this is not the place for you. If you want to be able to walk everywhere and try many different restaurants and do lots of shopping this place is perfect.

Food: breakfast was good, but not excellent but I must say I am not often a fan of buffet breakfast (especially in Asia!). A good range of options. I liked the fact that the egg station had hard and soft boiled eggs already prepared and kept hot in a steamer. There is a limited bar menu for lunch by the pool but all the options we tried were excellent and good value and they offer a daily special. Other reviews have complained about the prices here but I think they are fair. After all, Koh Samui is one of the hottest tourist destinations in Asia so come here expecting western prices and you won't be disappointed! It is really the 17% tax on top (service and Government) that makes the final bill hurt. We also had an excellent meal at the resort's Red Snapper restaurant which was good value. They have a kids menu which was great. As other reviewers have mentioned there are plenty of places outside the resort if you want to eat cheaply. My pick is "Our Place" which is a grungy (but sanitary!) restaurant further up the beach that does not charge service tax. Very decent Thai food.

Staff: excellent and very friendly. Nothing is too much trouble and everything comes with a smile.

Without a doubt my favourite place in the resort was the swim up bar at the second pool! Lots of areas for the kids to swim around while the parents enjoy a cocktail (or 3!). They have a couple of happy hours each day.

In regards to the fireworks noise that a few reviews have mentioned, although we stayed over Chinese new year it wasn't a huge issue. Yes they were loud and went off at random times during the night, but it is nothing the resort can control. Guests are advised at check in that fireworks are illegal without Govt permission, so as long as the resort guests aren't running around setting them off there is not a lot that can be done.

In summary, this is a classy place to use as base to explore Chaweng Beach. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a spa suite villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TeamSomerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear TeamSomerville,

Thank you for visitng Koh Samui and choosing Chaweng Regent.

I also appreciate your faith in the overall big picture point of view of Trip Advisor and not the comments of the minority.

It was a pleasure to serve you and look forward to welcoming you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Over New Year we stayed at the Chaweng Regent in Koh Samui. The staff were friendly and attentive. The accommodation was comfortable and well situated. The hotel put on a spectacular New Year's Eve function around the pool with excellent food and great entertainment. Alot of trouble went into make the occasion extra special. The Thai people's love for children did not go unnoticed. The hotel is well situated along Chaweng beach. If not for the sound of aeroplanes taking off and landing I think it would have been THE nicest experience i've had in the east so far.

Room Tip: The family villas are excellent. With it's own private enclosed veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sedica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Sedica K,

Thank you for spending your New Years Holiday with us!

We are thrilled to have had the opportunity to help you welcome in a New Year and that you enjoyed your stay.

Should you visit Koh Samui again, do allow us the honor of welcoming you again. Until then, Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.6 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
1.8 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.2 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
1.3 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.8 km away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): $149 - $461
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing