We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Site
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$54
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 June
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
natasha t

lovely room amazing view quiet location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2013
We stayed here for 2 nights, and were upgraded to a villa we got a deal on lastminute.com
Pros:
Stunning room, amazing bathroom and shower, awesome bed and views, we found the hotel very relaxing. We enjoyed having two days where we were out of the hustle and bustle
Ther guest relations Andi was awesome and having someone speak english was really helpful and made our stay more enjoyable. On our final day we checked out at 12 and there was facility for us to shower before we got on our plane

Cons:
We had to walk to our villa which isn't problem however at night it was dark and there was noone to drive us up, we had to wait till midday for pool towels despite aasking for them from the lobby there were none. There was no room service menu in our room, there is only wifi in the lobby. There was no spa menu in our room.

Despite the small cons I would still stay here again and recommended friends and family stay here too for a quiet relaxing time
Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this review
Responded 27 Feb 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is so heartwarming to read your review, thank you!
We created Bhundhari to provide a fun and relaxing atmosphere where our Guests can have a super nice holiday.
I am really glad that you had a memorable stay with us and based on your review, you could make the most of your stay!
We really would love to have you back with us as we would like to welcome you to the Bhundhari Family!

Very Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$179
  • Priceline
    AU$164
  • Agoda.com
    AU$152
  • Expedia.com
    AU$198
0.1 km from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$351
  • Priceline
    AU$440
  • Hotels.com
    AU$439
  • Expedia.com
    AU$439
1.4 km from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$89
  • Priceline
    AU$118
  • Agoda.com
    AU$77
  • Vio.com
    AU$90
1.0 km from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$451
  • Official Site
    AU$523
  • Agoda.com
    AU$391
  • Priceline
    AU$420
3.8 km from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$187
  • Priceline
    AU$247
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$174
  • Expedia.com
    AU$250
2.0 km from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$114
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$119
  • Agoda.com
    AU$97
  • Expedia.com
    AU$123
2.8 km from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$134
  • Priceline
    AU$134
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
  • Expedia.com
    AU$133
3.1 km from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$119
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$114
  • Vio.com
    AU$105
  • Expedia.com
    AU$125
2.4 km from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$196
  • Priceline
    AU$196
  • Agoda.com
    AU$181
  • travelup.com
    AU$245
1.5 km from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$289
  • Hotels.com
    AU$256
  • Vio.com
    AU$188
  • Expedia.com
    AU$269
4.1 km from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chaweng
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
332
236
118
83
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
332
236
118
83
83
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were upgraded to a bigger room at no extra cost(with personal pool)
Need to request for mossie repellant as there are so much of mossies...
Breakfast is great and plenty of variety. Public pool is very nice too.

We were staying in the pool villa & need to request for club car ride each & every time we need to go in to our room / come down from the room. Though the staffs are very helpful & waiting period is quite minimal.

Credit to the manager Mr Andi for the pleasant stay arrangement and brief resort tour.

It is worth the money of course.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
10  Thank Oong S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, it is very nice to read that you will return to us!
The check in time at Bhundhari is at 2 PM and if someone arrives in the morning and there is empty room before, we surely provide it free of charge. At the time of your check in Bhundhari was operating at full capacity and therefore we could not offer this to you. If someone needs to wait longer than 2PM - our official check in time - we happily offer complimentary meals. According to our records - no one had a delay in check in - but if that was the case on your arrival, please let me know and I make sure to invite you to a dinner next time you visit us - feel free to write to me directly!
I am happy that you have enjoyed our views and found my colleagues to be friendly and courteous.

Thank you for your review once again and I am looking forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I got a great 'secret deal' from lastminute.com.au. Wow - 5 star hotel for $80 a night!! BUT, despite the fact the hotel was booked out, it doesn't deserve all those stars. The good bits - beautiful setting on a hill, pools overlooking the ocean, beautiful soft enormous beds, and OK decor.
Bad bits - first, the service is really bad. If you ask for something and get given the wrong thing, it doesn't matter if you're polite and try to explain what you asked for - you'll get sullen replies. I arrived at 5.30 pm - although I said I'd arrive at 4pm. I had to wait until 6.30 for the room to be ready. No one explained where things were. I thought I'd try in town for a meal and asked about 'tuktuks' (public taxis), since the Bhundari is about 3 km from the centre of town. Private taxis cost 250 each way ($8, whereas tuktuks cost $1.50). The front desk pointed to the road (dark) and said 'get one there'. But what does a tuk tuk look like I asked? She shrugged and served the next customer.

So I was tired and decided to stay and have a meal at the restaurant. If you like bland music sung badly and loudly by a philipino band, then this is the place for you. After waiting a long time, I got up and asked for a menu. I ordered a glass of white wine and a thai meal. After 15 minutes I asked where my wine might be. I got offered a glass of warm white. 5 mins later I got given a cold one to replace it. So by this time they must have decided I was a difficult customer. After another 20 mins I asked whether my food was coming and got a sullen 'it's coming' with a sigh. Now, I'm always polite, and not very strident, but this attitude was getting to me. After my meal I waited 15 mins - saw all the staff inside chatting, they hadn't come to ask me 'anything else?', so I got up and started walking away. Boy did they come quickly with the bill then!

Toothbrush and toothpaste mysteriously was taken each day and not replaced. Requiring a call to front desk. And so it went on.

Wifi is only available free in the lobby - so technically the website advertising free wifi is right. Actually OK if you want to see everyone else in the hotel. Almost a plus.

It's also a great and not too far a walk along the beach to get back to Bhundari. I really enjoyed going onto Chaweng by tuktuk and walking back along the beach. Bit of a hill to climb through the resort but the reward is the lovely pool awaiting you when you're hot and bothered.

In summary, if you're very rich and just exhausted and just want a nice pool to sit around, enjoy a comfortable bed and view, and don't mind spending $20 to get to a restaurant and back, then this is a good place to do it (although if you're that rich, go to 4 seasons instead - much nicer area).
But if you're like me and like a tasteful room but don't want to spend a fortune, want to be in the middle of things so you can walk to restaurants, AND you like some service, then avoid this place. I bought soda in town that required a bottle opener. The hotel wouldn't leave one in my room - everytime I wanted one open I had to ring the hotel front desk and hope to see them within 30 mins...!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gypsychristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Chris,

I would like to thank you for your review.

We are in existence because our most basic value is that we do everything with LOVE. Because of this, it is very important for us to make sure that our Guests - whom we consider the part of the Bhundhari Family- are having a fun and relaxing time.

Sadly we have to accept that because Bhundhari is a unique Resort with a very special personality, it can not please everyone equally.

The points that you mention: the kindness of our colleagues, the comfort of our room, the fun atmosphere of the restaurant are all points that other Guests praise us for.

Of course feelings are subjective and as the manager of Bhundhari I feel 100% responsible for all our Guests.
Because of this I am truly sorry that on this occasion we have not met your expectations.

Chris, I am thankful for your feedback and I will investigate how we could have served you better.

Very Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Bhundhari for 8 nights in August 2012.

The place is lovely, but the service and attitude of the staff was an absolute disaster! From the moment we arrived, the attitude of the staff at reception was appalling, they ignored us, we had to wait 45minutes for our room, also having travelled nearly 24 hours we were exhausted, my 7 year old daughter really needed water and the staff took over 15mins to bring out water, the most shocking thing was that they gave us 1 glass of water when there was 4 of us !

No staff or towels at the poolside, we had to find someone each day.

We had endless problems with the staff from breakfast to housekeeping. The problem was that the manager was on holiday for the week and the staff were all having a field day.

Having spoken to Andi on the last day as we were leaving for the airport, he was keen to listen, but at the end of the day, our stay had been ruined. The reason I have decided to write a review 6 months later is that upon reading the latest reviews, I can't beleive that the other guests are facing the same issues, clearly things need to change.
I agree that this place is definitley nowhere near 5* or even 4*.

Ruined our stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Npd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I understand that feelings are subjective and I am sorry that Bhundhari was not the right fit for you and your partner.
I am shocked to read your review as it is in very stark contrast to what the overwhelming majority of the people say who stay with us.

When we started out developing Bhundhari we did so we a healthy disregard to the impossible. We decided to create a Resort that provides an open and welcoming atmosphere for all travelers. A place, that is a testament to the true meaning of hospitality. A place where we organize for joy and help in creating fun and wonderful memories – like our cooking classes with Khun Somkid. A place where both Guests and our colleagues can be a part of the Bhundhari Family.

We knew that this goal is ambitious and sadly have to accept that not everyone can equally love Bhundhari.

Thank you Once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed 7 nights with my girlfriend on Dec 26-Jan 2 for an average of 280€/night breakfast included in Deluxe Villa with pool & ocean view #5207.

Beautiful resort with great views ideally located on a hill slope with lush vegetation north of Chaweng. Resort divided by the main road into 2 parts. Best to rent a motorbike to ride around the island and enjoy Koh Samui wonderful beaches. Easy to reach busy Chaweng for restaurants, shopping & night life… Approx. 10 mins by local taxi or tuk tuk [50-100bh per person].

Deluxe Villa rooms are clean and spacious with a king bed, a sofa bed, a desk area, 2 large closets, a safe, a full-size bathroom with outstanding outdoor shower. Bar fridge & small lcd tv. No wifi in room. Wooden balcony with sun chairs and private pool. Usually located uphill so be prepared for a steep walk or ask for a lift by golf cart!

Facilities include a private beach, 2 pool bars with open terrace for snack-lunch, a small restaurant for buffet-style breakfast and all-day eating, 2 cascading relaxing pools with open air jacuzzi, a Thai spa and a basic fitness room.

The staff speak basic English and are quite helpful, despite having had sometimes to insist to get the desired level of service… Not a 5-star hotel by international standards! Many thanks to Andi Jones and his team for making our stay enjoyable. We hope to return one day. We will definitely recommend this place.

Cons:
  1. food can be improved
  2. power can drop out in case of heavy rains
  3. staff needs to be better trained to cater to international travelers

Tip: bring your mosquito repellant!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FRWorldCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing a review about Bhundhari. I was glad to read that you find our colleagues to be friendly!
I can see from you review that what you least liked about Bhundhari is our location. While I appreciate that the preference for location is a very subjective matter, we consider the view from Bhundhari, and our serene atmosphere to be one of our biggest advantages.
For Guests who would like a relaxing atmosphere for the base of their holiday we believe Bhundhari is in an ideal location. We also chose this location to create our hotel because being on a hill provides the chance to enjoy amazing views from all rooms and facilities.
At the same time we are only 5 -10 minutes (by motorbike) from busy Chaweng.

Because we believe that our location is an advantage we communicate this on our website and also on our partner websites.
It is our desire to make sure that our Guests have the right expectations and I will make sure that we find a way to communicate our location better to avoid even very rare disappointments.
Thank you again for writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Had a good experience staying at this hotel. They have a great location close to the chaewang beach. The rooms are a little dirty and we were graced with some cobwebs. Though I must say the rooms have a decent view overlooking the sea. They have a decent spa. The food is also great. The pool is nice with a bar closeby and great music playing.

We had pre-booked & got a decent package. When we reached the hotel staff were clueless on the package. The service was horrid as we would need to ring them up every time we needed anything. For basic amenities we had to call the reception, who were never responsive. Overall an average experience.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arjunvai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

May I address our recent staff issues,

How we, addressed the “human side” systematically through the eye's of Orapin Group.

Any significant transformation creates “people issues.” New leaders will be asked to step up, jobs will be changed, new skills and capabilities must be developed, and employees will be uncertain and resistant. Dealing with these issues on a reactive, case-by-case basis puts speed, morale, and results at risk. A formal approach for managing change — beginning with the leadership team and then engaging key stakeholders and leaders — has been developed early, and adapted often as change moves throughout our organization. This demands as much data collection and analysis, planning, and implementation discipline as does a redesign of strategy, systems, or processes. The change-management approach has been fully integrated into our program design and decision making, both informing and enabling strategic direction. It is based on a realistic assessment of our organization’s history, readiness, and capacity to change.

Our ongoing structural transformation has four characteristics: scale (the change affects all or most of the organization), magnitude (it involves significant alterations of the status quo), duration (it lasts for months, if not years), and strategic importance. Though we believe our company will reap the rewards only when change occurs at the level of the individual employee.

Because change is inherently unsettling for people at all levels of an organization, when it is on the horizon, all eyes will turn to the CEO and the leadership team for strength, support, and direction. The leaders themselves must embrace the new approaches first, both to challenge and to motivate the rest of the institution. They must speak with one voice and model the desired behaviors. The executive team also needs to understand that, although its public face may be one of unity, it, too, is composed of individuals who are going through stressful times and need to be supported.
Executive teams that work well together are best positioned for success. They are aligned and committed to the direction of change, understand the culture and behaviors the changes intend to introduce, and can model those changes themselves.

As transformation programs progress from defining strategy and setting targets to design and implementation, they affect different levels of our organization. Change efforts must include plans for identifying leaders throughout the company and pushing responsibility for design and implementation down, so that change “cascades” throughout our organization. At each layer of the organization, the leaders who are identified and trained will be aligned to the company’s vision, equipped to execute their specific mission, and motivated to make change happen.

Individuals are inherently rational and will question to what extent change is needed, whether our company is headed in the right direction, and whether they want to commit personally to making change happen. They will look to the leadership for answers. The articulation of a formal case for change and the creation of a written vision statement are invaluable opportunities to create or compel leadership-team alignment.
Three steps we have followed in developing the case: First, confront reality and articulate a convincing need for change. Second, demonstrate faith that the company has a viable future and the leadership to get there. Finally, provide a road map to guide behavior and decision making.Our leaders have then customized this message for various internal audiences, describing the pending change in terms that matter to the individuals.

The best change programs reinforce core messages through regular, timely advice that is both inspirational and practicable. Communications flow in from the bottom and out from the top, and are targeted to provide employees the right information at the right time and to solicit their input and feedback. Often this will require overcommunication through multiple, redundant channels.

Successful change programs pick up speed and intensity as they cascade down, making it critically important that leaders understand and account for culture and behaviors at each level of our organization. Companies often make the mistake of assessing culture either too late or not at all. Thorough cultural diagnostics can assess organizational readiness to change, bring major problems to the surface, identify conflicts, and define factors that can recognize and influence sources of leadership and resistance. These diagnostics identify our core values, beliefs, behaviors, and perceptions that must be taken into account for successful change to occur. They serve as the common baseline for designing essential change elements, such as our new corporate vision, and building the infrastructure and programs needed to drive change.

Once the culture is understood, it should be addressed as thoroughly as any other area in our change program.Our leaders have been explicit about the culture and underlying behaviors that will best support the new way of doing business, and find opportunities to model and reward those behaviors. This required developing a baseline, defining an explicit end-state or desired culture, and devising detailed plans to make the transition.
Bhundhari culture is an amalgam of shared history, explicit values and beliefs, and common attitudes and behaviors. Understanding that all companies have a cultural center — the locus of thought, activity, influence, or personal identification — is often an effective way to jump-start culture change.

Change is both an institutional journey and a very personal one. People spend many hours each week at work; many think of their colleagues as a second family. Individuals (or teams of individuals) need to know how their work will change, what is expected of them during and after the change program, how they will be measured, and what success or failure will mean for them and those around them. Team leaders should be as honest and explicit as possible. People will react to what they see and hear around them, and need to be involved in the change process. Highly visible rewards, such as promotion, recognition, and bonuses, should be provided as dramatic reinforcement for embracing change. Sanction or removal of people standing in the way of change will reinforce the institution’s commitment. Most leaders contemplating change know that people matter. It is all too tempting, however, to dwell on the plans and processes, which don’t talk back and don’t respond emotionally, rather than face up to the more difficult and more critical human issues. But mastering the “soft” side of change management needn't be a mystery.

Our focus towards our team and the roll on effect it will have to our guests.

With full understanding and respect.

Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews