We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort in a Great part of Chaweng”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort in a Great part of Chaweng”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had a very nice experience at this resort. Coming from another luxury resort in Lamai, we had high expectations and our first impressions were that it wouldnt be as good. But as we explored the resort and talked more with the staff, we realised it was a great resort, with friendly staff and great service.

The highlights of this resort is the pool, food, day spa and great staff.
Pool:
The resort has a communal infinity pool, overlooking the beautiful North Chaweng beach, which is not the main Chaweng beach, but rather a much quieter and more pleasant beach. It felt completely private, and the hotel had a security guard, monitoring who was walking in and out of the resort and using its facilities, which was good. There were plenty of sun lounges and also amazing sun beds to use at any time, and the pool had great bar service for cocktails, beers and of course light pool side meals.
Food:
The food at the resort was great. Every morning we were provided a magnificent variety of food to choose from, fresh juices and coffee. I had an omlette every day, and it was cooked perfectly (great way to start the day). I should also mention the food was served in their restaurant which overlooks the beach, quite a stunning way to share a meal. One evening the resort offered a dinner on the beach, a BBQ, which was great. It included meats, seafood, and other lovely food, and had entertainment including a karaoke singer and a fire twirler.
Room:
We stayed in 2 rooms (an upgrade by choice not because we had issues with the rooms) including a normal room or 3 nights and a room with a private plunge pool for 3 nights, which was fantastic!! I highly recommend the private plunge pool, it was very large, especially compared to other resorts ive stayed at. The rooms were a bit aged inside, that is the only improvement point for the resort. We were delivered fresh water daily, and the room was nicely made up every day for us. The room also had good air conditioning to ensure it was cool for sleeping in. The bed was very comfortable and enjoyable - it included a mosquito net in case you wished to use.
Other services:
One day we ordered a private tour car to take us around the island to explore without worrying about taxi driver issues.. and it was great. He took us to waterfalls, to an elephant ride and other great view / photo spots around Koh Samui.
Day Spa:
I as a man, am not usually one to have a massage in a day spa, but the Anantara day spa was top class, with great service, friendly staff and a professinoal service. My partner got a Alo Vera scrub, which she loved after a day in the hot sun!
Improvement points:
The only criticisms I had was that the resort was quite large, which meant that walking around was quite an effort in the humid climate - but that is the nature of the resort, and probably due to the generously sized rooms. Also some fo the rooms were a little bit dated, but that only goes to show that it is a well used resort!
Staff:
The staff were magnificent thorughout the stay. The lady who greeted us for breakfast every morning was so nice, and staff were always very happy to have a chat and help out with any request. During our stay, we observed quite a number of rude overseas resort guests, who for no reason would push in and be rude to staff. This was always met with a gracious smile and a willingness to help, desipte having rude customers to deal with!

Overall, I only have nice things to say about this place. It had beutiful gardens and trees and was far enough out of the main part of Chaweng for it to be enjoyable. Would highly recommend for all family and friends of mine.

Room Tip: Private plunge pool rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richozzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Richozzz,

A very positive and complimenting review which we highly appreciate! It will encourage us to strive for becoming even better and hopefully being able to surpass expectations of the friends and family you recommended our resort to.

We are certainly very proud of the location of our breakfast restaurant because there are not many on Koh Samui which is so close to the beach with the view of the rising sun. We want to ensure a great start into the day for our guests and have obviously succeeded in your case, which is great to hear.

My apology if the room you have been allocated hasn’t been in the perfect conditions which it should have been. We are performing a regular maintenance program which every room will be scheduled for throughout the year. Based on your profile and review we could locate your room and will ensure that it will be moved up in the priority list to be serviced.

Again, we certainly appreciate the praise and great feedback and would be delighted being able to welcome you back one day.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    494
    137
    62
    50
See reviews for
334
1,060
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
moscow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

At the first glance this hotel looked quite luxury and we decided to choose it. A week stay there costed 2,000 usd and we expected real 5 star hotel for this price. In practice it appeared that living there is not that inconvenient, it seems that people who desiged this hotel and who are running it now did not think about very basic but necessary things that make feel people comfortable, but they rather focuse on some luxury stuff that is absolutely unnecessary. For instance, every evening a cleaning lady came to our room to bring a leaf of some tree or flower with a weather forcast written on it and a wish of sweet dreams. This is nice, but when you do not have cold water in shower (only hot), such nice things just irritate you.

Rooms are not convenient:

1. The room is really big, but the space is not used in a smart way. There is lack of tables/bedside tables, shelves, etc in a room - we really did not have enough surfaces to put our things on.
2. Main light switch is located near bathroom, thus when we entered the room we needed to walk half a room in dark until we reached the swith and could turn the light on. Same with beds - no light switch near the beds.
3. Some sockets did not work. Plus there was really not much light in the room and not many lamps overall, so if someone would like to read in bed, that would probably be very difficult.
4. One of the ridiculous things was wardrobe located in the bathroom! You put your clothes there and they become wet in a steamy room.
5. We were quite disappointed when it appeared that we do not have cold water in our shower (only hot). We asked to fix the shower and guys tried to do it for a couple of hours and then concluded that nothing can be done and offered us to move to another room. We did that, but in the second room we did not have hot water in the shower. We did not complain as it was useless, but used instead a bathtube shower which however was not convenient.

Attitude of staff:

Some guys were really nice but the overall feeling was that staff there is a bit snobbish and they are not not much happy to help you.

There was a lady at breakfast who's only responsibility was to ask you for your room number and what you would like to drink (you cannot get drinks yourself). In practice she never passed our order to barmen and we had to wait for a long time and then look for a barmen ourselves and ask for drinks again. I do not mind to get a drink myself, but then please be honest and set respective rules in the restaraunt without any pretense.

Another issue - they tried to withdraw money from my card twice. The room was prepaid by me but when we arrived, reception personnel tried to withdraw the room charge for the second time and when I told them that I had already paid they continued to slip my card. This was not professional at all.

You may say that all the above are minor things that should not spoil the vacation. I agree, but when it happens to you every day all day long it becomes irritating. Also, this is a matter of expectations - I expected to stay in a decent 5 star hotel and at least having hot and cold water in my shower.

Beach: The beach space is arranged really cool, there are nice beds on the beach and lounge music plays in the beach bar, it is not noisy and crowdy. But the beach itself is a bit disappointing - it is located away from the main Chaweng beach, in a small bay and water there doesn't look and smell as an ocean. To get to the main beach you need to walk about 10-15 min by the road outside of the hotel (not beach). But the main beach is a nightmare - too many tourists and locals selling various stuff.

Breakfast: one of the really nice things in this hotel is breakfast, the choice of food is simply stunnig.

Overall, I would not return to this hotel - not really value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muraffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear muraffey,

We appreciate that you have taken your time sharing your feedback with us.

Apparently we have clearly missed to life up to our own standards and have disappointed you on a couple of occasions. Please accept our sincere apology for this. Nevertheless, your feedback is giving us the opportunity to work on those challenges and improve it for future guests.

It is a pity to read that you wouldn’t consider returning again especially as we believe that the majority of the challenges are not reflecting the usual guest experience in our resort and we would appreciate the opportunity to proof this to you and your family.

I will get in touch with you directly via TripAdvisor in order to discuss this further and discover opportunities for a second chance.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

First half of what was a wonderful week in 2 great hotels. We booked a pool villa for the space as traveling with 4 year old son and 3 month old son. The villa is spacious and comfortable. The pol was the highlight as getting our children to leave the villa was a struggle ! Breakfast at the beach side restaurant is a great way to start the day. The bar is a great way to end it!
Tree tops restaurant is a must and hire a baby sitter to make it perfect romantic night out.
The beach side restaurant is also a great venue for a really sublime way to enjoy the evening. Must do the spa - top quality and the world streses just melt away in there.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money take the pool villa. Only issue is you won't bother leaving the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fraserross48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear fraserross48,

Thank you very much for your most recent stay and sharing your very positive feedback with us.

We are glad to hear that you and your family had a lovely time in the Pool Villa and we are certainly looking forward welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

had a wonderful honeymoon at the resort couldnt falut anything! staff made our stay so great will defo stay again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear matt198,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

Congratulations once again on the recent wedding and my team and I are looking forward welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed at the Resort for 1 week with my partner during Feb 2012 for a relaxing break. Had been recommeded the hotel by Trailfinders and confirmed it after reading Tripadvisor reviews.

Location:
The quieter Northern part of Chewang Beach. Ideal if you want to get away from the noisier party section. Many of the hotels along the beach front are subject to the noise and music from the lively southern part of the beach. Disadvantage is that you are a 20min-25min walk from Chewang centre along a dusty road in the hot sun. So if you want to go into Chewang centre regularly your'll need to use taxis.

Room:
Big dissapointment for us. Booked deluxe rm. The actual bedroom itself was nicely decorated but the bathroom esp shower area was very dated and dilapidated, It really looked the type of shower you'd find in run down budget motel. Also the Bathroom smelt of urine throughout the stay, despite numerous efforts by hotel staff decrease the smell. Additionally there were reg dirty plates and used bottles left outside the rm by cleaning staff.
Additionally the room was about a 5min walk from the beach area and pool. Al the deluxe rms are away from the pool and beach front and none of them have sea views. (For a room costing £150 /night- this is dissapointing)

Food:
Expensive(as you would expect with any 'luxury resort')
Breakfast was o.k, good choice, however it was slightly spoilt for us by the fact on day we found dead insects in our food. The staff were not particularly apologetic, simply getting us new food. Meals at the restaurant were good. They have another gormet restuarnt called Tree Tops. The menu was not our liking but I must add the prices were that of a London Michelin Star Restaurant. We cam't comment on the food since we didn't eat there.

Beach, Pool, other areas
Beautiful, quiet beach area with clean sand and water, great for swimming, relaxing. Pool area stunning views over beach. Main selling point of this hotel. Good internet access. Well kept hotel clean in communal areas.

Service
Variable. Awful to Excellent. The main issue being communication. Certainly alot of the staff didn't quiet understand waht we were asking had to repeat ourselves alot. Often agree to do things but not understand what we had asked. On 2 occasions asked to speak to the manager and were told by staff they may lose their jobs if we complained. However there were a times when the staff went out of their way for us. Also they were always happy and smiling. Overall service not quiet there for 4 + luxury resort.

Overall:
The beach and pool area are the real selling points for this hotel. You do however sacfrice on location, but this may be what you are looking for since it is quietier. The rooms even basic ones are expensive, note all luxury hotels in Ko Samui are expensive. I would shop around there are alot of luxury hotels along the strip and in Bhoput with more cmpetitive pricing and perhaps better rooms. The service, room standard and price paid were not quiet there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to the beach front as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kasigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Kasigan,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and the opportunity to investigate your comments.
Please accept my sincere apology if we haven’t always met your expectation on our service levels and English comprehension. Rest assured that we are putting strong efforts into our English language classes that are provided for our team members free of charge as well as the service trainings. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us improving in those areas and hopefully will be able to serve future customers better.

Also our apology that the room location and design wasn’t to your satisfaction. Even those there is very little we can do about the overall bathroom design I am confident that my team would have been able to help on allocating a room closer to the beach or giving better directions how to get there. We will certainly raise the cleanliness issues with our housekeeping team, which usually is receiving quite good comments here on TripAdvisor, but obviously have failed to perform to their usual standards in their room. Please accept my apology for this on their behalf.

I couldn’t resist commenting on two other points you have risen which are certainly of concern to us.

Unfortunately you haven’t experienced our highly recommended TreeTops restaurant but commented on the pricing which you felt were inadequate and comparable to Michelin Star awarded restaurants in London. Even though we certainly appreciate this comparison in terms of food and service levels, we feel that with our pricing for a 7 course Romance menu of about THB 3,200 per person including all taxes and service charges we are still falling slightly short behind the 7 course menu of for example Restaurant Gordon Ramsay in London, which comes at THB 6,750. If you include the wine option and consider the heavy 450% important tax on wines in Thailand this comparison moves even further to our favor.

Last but not least we encourage a culture of learning through our mistakes in our resort and company. Part of this culture is that not only my Managers but myself are available at any time for any customer and we have proven this in many cases. None of our employees have to fear if constructive feedback has been voiced out by our guests and we believe that our team is aware of this. Based on your feedback part of our team members have not been reached by this message and I can only hope that this was a rather new member of the team and not used to our culture at Anantara. We will certainly put additional efforts into ensuring a faster and more efficient communication of this key component.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
6.0 km away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.9 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,354 reviews
0.7 km away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
2.8 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,331 reviews
3.6 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): $249 - $869
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing