We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, limited menu, slow service”
Review of Talunga Estate

Talunga Estate
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Gumeracha
Price range: AU$10 - AU$5,000
Description: Open on Saturday & Sunday 10-5pm,or by appointment. Talunga Estate is a 5 star winery located on the Adelaide side of Gumeracha in the beautiful Adelaide Hills. The outlook boasts views over the surrounding hillsides and vineyards. Why sit in a café in a main street when you can visit us and enjoy the superb views overlooking the Adelaide hills and the gardens. A perfect place to relax and enjoy a glass or cup of your favourite aperitif with a share platter or pizza and scrumptious home made desserts. The glory vines cover an outdoor area suited to the fine days, an enclosed atrium for those days when its pleasant to sit in a warmer area and for those cold days an open fire and heated dining room or extremely hot days an air-conditioned dining room. Fully licensed, family run and owned with friendly staff and great award winning food makes this a fantastic place for a birthday or any other function. Fully liquor Licensed for up to 105 allows for the larger functions/weddings.
Restaurant details
Description: Open on Saturday & Sunday 10-5pm,or by appointment. Talunga Estate is a 5 star winery located on the Adelaide side of Gumeracha in the beautiful Adelaide Hills. The outlook boasts views over the surrounding hillsides and vineyards. Why sit in a café in a main street when you can visit us and enjoy the superb views overlooking the Adelaide hills and the gardens. A perfect place to relax and enjoy a glass or cup of your favourite aperitif with a share platter or pizza and scrumptious home made desserts. The glory vines cover an outdoor area suited to the fine days, an enclosed atrium for those days when its pleasant to sit in a warmer area and for those cold days an open fire and heated dining room or extremely hot days an air-conditioned dining room. Fully licensed, family run and owned with friendly staff and great award winning food makes this a fantastic place for a birthday or any other function. Fully liquor Licensed for up to 105 allows for the larger functions/weddings.
Reviewed 21 June 2021

Nice location. Food and service not value for money. $22 for small pizza that could have been reheated from Coles. $49 for Antipasto with supermarket quality cheese, salami and water crackers. 50 minutes from order to delivery. Seemed overrun with our small crowd of 16 people. Wine tasted ok.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ceeteet2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart F, Owner at Talunga Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

So sorry you didnt enjoy youre experience with us. We are a boutique winery and not a Hotel. We are not a alarge conglomerate like coles, we are a family run business. All our products are sourced from our local suppliers. our pizzas are rated in the top 3 in the Adelaide hills.
Unfortunately due to COVID and the government increasing wages and the cost to buy our supplies we have had to maintain our prices.
As you were in with a large group of 14 all meals are sent out togeteher. we apologise if you thought the wait time was too long.
Thankyou for your review and we will take your points on board, We hope you have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2021

A lovely experience Rhona was so lovely as we were wine tasting, we had cheesy fries and pizzas absolutely delicious well worth the money, the only down side is that there is only one toilet, and a coach of young adults arrived and when i needed the bathroom there was a young lady that "wasn't very well!" So had to leave and go elsewhere.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2020

For our lunch we ordered the pumpkin/chorizo pizza and the chef’s special pizza. Both were really delicious with the chef’s special having a mustard pickle taste. We then had Devonshire tea out in the garden which was lovely. The wine tasting prior to lunch was a surprise to find their Rose’ to be so nice we had a bottle with lunch. The owners were exceptional hosts and they were only too happy to change our table to outside. We had little waiting time to receive our meal or drinks. Overall a very lovely relaxing lunch at a beautiful setting.

Date of visit: June 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank char5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart F, Owner at Talunga Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2021

Thankyou for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

We went with another couple on a sunny Sunday and so sat outside overlooking a vineyard. There's acosy restaurant with a fireplace and views so nothing stopping us from returning in cool weather! Lovely food, amicable hosts, quality wines. Why wouldn't we return ..

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank rosaliep988
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
366donnaf, Owner at Talunga Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

thank you for the lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

We visited today after purchasing a Groupon voucher.
The 2 people that took care of us through wine tasting an our meals were lovely. I assume the owners? They both made us feel very welcome.
It was lovely to sit outside and take in the spectacular views.
We enjoyed our wines so much so that we came home with a bottle to enjoy for a special occasion.
The food was delicious, we shared the chilli cheese fchips and 'the don' pizza. While the Satay sauce wasn't what I was expecting it was still delicious. Disappointed we had no room for dessert!
Great spot to take an arvo to chill out on a weekend. We will certainly be back.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank Chex_diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
366donnaf, Owner at Talunga Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

thankyou for the love;y review, Donna the Manager and Stuart the Host thankyou so much and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talunga Estate also viewed

 
Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to Talunga Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.