We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We had high expectations because of good reviews on Tripadvisor - and were very disappointed.
To start with the meals: they were of the same standard as ordinary pub-food, except in price. Not terrible at all, but not great. The service in the restaurant was quite terrible and not friendly. (To be fair: it's a big hotel with many staff, and the helpfulness and friendliness was quite mixed. Some very really friendly too).
Overall the cleanliness wasn't too bad, but some things were just disgusting: e.g.: twice we were given a highchair for the baby were the tray was so very obviously filthy that it had to be scrubbed with detergent for a minute to get it clean. I wondered how many babies had already drooled over it and nobody wiping it clean afterwards.
A big air-con / ventilator or whatever it was close to our room-window made quite a loud and irritating noise on/off throughout the night, so we had to have the windows closed all night. I complained about it on our departure and was given and automated response by the reception that she was very sorry and that it will be fixed immediately – I did not think she was even listening.
Avoid Saturdays: Party, Noise, constant Doors-banging, loud matter-of-taste Disco-music.

Room Tip: Beware of noisy ventilater/aircon? close to your room. If you can see it close to you when you look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkmWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear pkmWales

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip advisor

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. I will be discussing the points that you have raised with departmental teams to address certain issues that should not of happened. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to redeem ourselves in your eyes.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    255
    96
    38
    22
See reviews for
211
239
21
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

lovely hotel, beautiful location but a bit out of the way, its easy enough to drive into frodsham or get a taxi if you want to go. very quiet. rooms massive, beds very comfy, we didnt have food so cant comment on that, nor did we use the spa.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Natalie

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor.
I was delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us recently.
We are very lucky to be in such a lovely location of Top of Frodsham Hill yet still very close to all that the area has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just been on a kgb deal to forest hills and I must say overall it was excellent. Without exception the staff on reception, in the restauraant and in the leisure club were extremely helpful and welcoming. The location of the hotel is well out of the village but benefits from some wonderful views - particularly from the restaurant. The breakfast was good with eggs cooked freshly to oredr and toast and drinks served to your table. The rooms were clean and spacious. Despite some dreadful weather whilst we were there we had a very enjoyable stay and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Ruth

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor

I was delighted to read that you thought it was excellent value and the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming it will give me great pleasure to pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and lets hope for some nicer weather on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at Forest Hills and had the most enjoyable experience. From the moment we walked through the door, every member of staff was courteous, friendly and professional. Both the evening meals and breakfast in the restaurant were first class . Our room was large and well appointed, and almost faultless. The exception was the "fold away" bed, it had a soft mattress, and because of it's nature was set on a wooden platform. Just the right height for stubbing your toes on in the dark. However, that was only a minor criticism of what is a superb hotel. Would we return... you bet!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candjaydeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Candjaydeebee

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable couple of days with us. It will give me great pleasure to pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.
Keep an eye on our website for many the many events we have planned in the future months.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral, merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

As a group of 9 we attended the Lady GaGa/Katy Perry tribute night. On arrival the staff were lovely and very helpful. We had 4 rooms which were all clean and comfortable. We used the pool and bar area in the afternoon, and still couldnt find any faults. The evening meal and breakfast were both lovely and drinks prices not bad for a hotel of this standard. Overall we had a great night and am sure we will be returning in the future!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funnybunny27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Funnybunny

Thankyou for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor.
I was delighted to read that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us recently and you had an excellent evening attending the Katy Perry/Lady Gaga tribute.
I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team, we have many events planned in the coming months keep an eye on our website.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
0.9 km away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
4.9 km away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
11.8 km away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
8.9 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest Hills Hotel

Property: Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Address: Overton Hill, Frodsham WA6 6HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price range (per night): $99 - $205
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Forest Hills Hotels a modern 3 Star Hotel.Situated just off the M56 yet set amidst beautiful Cheshire countryside.The panoramic views across the Cheshire Plains and the Mersey Estuary instantly tells you that the Best Western Forest Hills is something different.Set amongst quiet woodland,away from the hustle and bustle of the city,for a perfect nights sleep,yet just minutes away from the M56 which opens up the delights of Cheshire and North Wales and just a 20 minute drive from Chester.A perfect base for exploring the countryside,with the sandstone Trail on the doorstep.Ideal for families and Leisure Breaks.Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village for shopping and fun for the family at Chester Zoo,Blue Planet Aquarium and Gullivers World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Forest Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing