We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Historic gem

If you are into history, and specifically Settler history, then this little church is a must visit... read more

Reviewed 8 February 2018
FireflyAfrica
,
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Very interesting

The caretaker was very helpful and informative. He also sold us a booklet which related the 1820... read more

Reviewed 27 January 2017
Ian L
,
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Read all 22 reviews
  
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
7
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
13
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018

If you are into history, and specifically Settler history, then this little church is a must visit. Make sure you make an appointment and get somebody to open for you as the inside of the church is very interesting. But even if you can't get inside, there is a lot of old historic graves around the outside.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

We visited the church in Oct 2017. The caretaker came all the way from PortAlfred and we had a wonderful time with him. He is a very interesting man.
We saw wonderful works of art about the Passion of Christ inside the church.
And the graveyard is well attended to. All over a very interesting visit. And glad we met Tim the caretaker

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Carien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

This church is worth the visit even if it's just for the history. Unfortunately it was locked and I couldn't enter. The churchyard is interesting. The architecture is beautiful and the history surrounding it is fascinating. It is worth the visit.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Dia_Carstens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

The caretaker was very helpful and informative. He also sold us a booklet which related the 1820 Settlers story through the eyes of their clerics; a very interesting read

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Very nice church, allot of historical value. It is also a beautiful church building, the grave stones are also very interesting. Easy to find and worth a visit, I just regret not entering the church.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank justinfbotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews