We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Villa, Amazing Hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Jill S
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Villa, Amazing Hosts.”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Our family (of 13) recently spent Christmas at this Villa and had a wonderful time. Lot's of room, everyone had their own bathroom and bed. WONDERFUL hosts Calin and Sylvia took very good care of us. We opted for breakfast and several dinners and we were astounded at the quality of the food. The view if fantastic, quick walk to the beaches. We woke up several mornings to the sounds of the Howler monkeys and we couldn't have been happier. We will definitely return and I want to again thank Calin and Sylvia for their care of us, especially "Dr." Sylvia. I wish you all the best for 2017 and we look forward to getting back to see you both.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2017
Jill and Mark and the rest of their beautiful family where the perfect guests which we had in more than 13 years since we open our rental accommodation business in Costa Rica. A host can’t hope for better guests in his rental villa! If it will be a contest of best guests, we are sure that this family will get first place! Respectful, polite, civilized, very neat, caring for the things in our villa, I want to thank you again for everything. With all our love we expect to have you again to be our guests.
Sylvia and Calin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius P
1 review
“The place to go while in Guanacaste, Costa Rica”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were in Costa Rica this year in June, in our honeymoon, at the beginning of the rainy season. Initially we were supposed to stay only 2 days at Vila El Sueno at Ocotal Beach and then visit other locations in Costa Rica. But when we got there, we were wonderfully impressed by this peaceful location, with its great view over the ocean and the nice beaches around, so we decided to stay for 2 more days. Even if the rainy season had just begun, the weather was nice during the day and whenever we got a shower in the evenings, we'd found it as a real blessing.

Since the villa is just a few minutes away from Coco, we were able to go out and experience some of the local cuisine (the locals call them "SODAs", don't have any idea of what that means). The only point I would make is that the roads are in a poor condition, so if I would go to Costa Rica again, I'd definitely rent an SUV

Sandy and Dean, the property managers, were great hosts and they made us feel like home right away. They provided us with all the information needed, where to eat, what to see and what to avoid, in order for us to make the best of our time there. Even Coco, their dog, was a friendly and funny host :)

The Vila El Sueno rooms weren't so fancy, but very clean and comfortable (AC, big bed, cable TV, wifi, refrigerator). Also having access to a real kitchen made it easier to cook our own meals and store our food, when we were not in the mood for dining out. In Costa Rica it gets dark around 6pm, so in the evenings we preferred to cool ourselves in the swimming pool, while contemplating the sunset, listening to the birds and the howling monkeys :)

To conclude, I highly recommend El Sueno to anyone. I would gladly choose the same villa if I were to revisit the Guanacaste region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
I am happy when I make my guests Happy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve b
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Paradise revisited”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in January 2015

This was our second visit to Vila El Sueno and will certainly not be our last! Calin and Silvia treat us like family and continue to go above and beyond all expectations. We arrived New Years Eve, and accompanied our hosts to a nearby hotel where we danced the night away under the stars. It was a truly memorable experience. This time around we enjoyed the spacious upstairs apartment with full sized kitchen and stunning balcony views. The bedroom was large, and the bed very comfortable. Totally laid back and unpretentious is the best way to describe our experience here. A quiet place with a great beach, yet a short cab ride (we liked to walk) to the town of Coco for shopping, restaurants and nightlife. The best of both worlds. Thank you Calin and Silvia for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Calin and Silvia's hospitality
Liked least: Leaving paradise for more Canadian winter
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you Steve: we certainly enjoy you being our guests and looking to see you again. We are welcome any time. Calin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcandy
Barrie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our version of Shangri La...”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

El Sueno de Ocotal is our version of Shangri La, defining it as an idyllic, peaceful, and picturesque hideaway on Playa Ocotal, an easy 3.7 km from the hustle and bustle of exciting Playa de Coco, and only a 5 minute walk down a natural path to the most exquisite and quiet beaches we have ever seen.

We stayed in the modestly decorated, yet clean and comfortable huge one bedroom apartment with king size bed located on the first floor of a beautiful Spanish style villa, with its own wing, and very large outdoor patio dining area which is adjacent to the crystal clear pool we used for cooling off, and swimming lengths.

The kitchen is equipped with a two burner electric cook top with adequate cooking and storage containers, a toaster oven, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and utensils for four. Although basic, it does the job very nicely. All food except that are in airtight containers (including food waste) is best stored in the refrigerator, as it will attract insects.

The bathroom is quite large with ample space to store toiletries...we brought our own travel size body wash and shampoo etc. as none are provided, but that is perfectly fine, as we prefer using our own anyway. Dish soap and hand soap are both provided. Upon request Calin and Silvia were more than happy to oblige my request for the use of a hairdryer for the duration of our visit.

We chose to stay at El Sueno de Ocotal because it offered us the opportunity to cook for ourselves, to enjoy the beautiful scenery and natural environment, was an easy and very pleasant 45 minute walk (which we did daily) to the tourist area of Playa de Coco...most of all, it was a trip to unwind and get a feel for what it could be like to live in Costa Rica, and so far this is our favourite spot by far! Words cannot adequately describe the feeling of waking up and seeing the spectacular blues and turquoise of the Pacific Ocean from one’s bed – nothing sets you up for your day like that.

Having said all this, the true highlight of the trip was to spend time with, and getting to know our hosts Calin and Silvia - an absolutely delightful couple. They provided us with the most enriching opportunities to experience the local area, as well as the Guanacaste region as a whole...from shopping at the grocery store the locals use, buying fish from a local fisherman whose location would never been known if not for someone taking you there, visiting a very remote waterfall, experiencing the mud baths at Las Hornillas Volcano Hot Springs at Miravalles Volcano, accompanying them on their visit with friends at the luxury resort Rio Perdido Hotel and Thermal River, and shopping for fruits and veggies at the Farmers Market in Liberia. Most of all, we enjoyed cooking dinner for them... enjoying cocktails, good wine, ‘breaking bread’, and lively dinner conversation. We feel we have made friends for life.

We highly recommend El Sueno de Ocotal, in fact we are hoping to rent the 2nd floor 3 bedroom apartment (that spans the entire first floor) next year for ourselves and my in-laws to share 2-3 weeks in paradise together. El Sueno de Ocotal has excellent cost/value, is an easy drive from Liberia Airport, and in easy access to many of the other fantastic beaches along the coast. If you are looking for an upscale luxury resort experience, this is not for you...but if you are interested in experiencing more of the real day-to-day living in Costa Rica, hands down, stay here; it’s as close to authentic as you can get without losing any of the comforts of home.

Pura Vida,
Anne-Marie & Paul Candy, Barrie, Ontario, Canada

P.S. It’s much better to book directly with Calin at: info@elsuenodeocotal.com

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authentic Costa Rican experiences
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEThigpen...
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Remarkable and memorable.”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and adult son and I loved our stay at the Villa El Sueno and getting to know Silvia and Calin. We are delighted to leave the highest review. We enjoyed the upstairs suite with beautiful views of the ocean and islands. Spacious, luxurious, quality construction. Beautiful furniture, granite counter tops, BBQ, gazeebo. We took advantage of the breakfast offer and were so glad we did. Delicious, hearty food. Great hosts.Comfortable beds, several balconies with views all around. We loved the patios, garden and pool also. Lovely couple, WONDERFUL PLACE and FABULOUS VIEW!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing