We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“genuine Canarian hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apartamentos Estrella del Norte
Cornwall, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“genuine Canarian hospitality”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were looking for something away from the tourist masses, centrally located, independent yet homely, and we found it at Apartamentos Estrella del Norte. Family run with everyone playing their part, excellently managed by Noemi, food in the resturant was delicious, plenty of variety with local dishes on offer plus great choice of local wines (house wine particularly good).
Apartment was clean and well appointed, bed very firm, kitchen adequate as did not really do much cooking. Good to have room with balcony overlooking town of Icod, only down side was a lot of traffic noise. Easy car parking (free), would say having a hire car essential. Great location for exploring the wonders of Tenerife. would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fran-n-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    79
    38
    19
    26
See reviews for
35
161
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed here for 10 days until 30th March 2012 and highly recommend this place. It was my first time in Tenerife, travelling alone as an Irish tourist, and I wanted to see some authentic parts of the island, away from busy tourist beaches - am very impressed with the many interesting and beautiful places to see. I found the location perfect ( although do recommend you hire a car to get around, or alternatively use the bus system ), the hotel manager and her husband are very courteous, pleasant and always knowledgeable! My room was spacious, beautiful views over the sea and mountains to the side, and perfectly clean. I would be very happy to return here or recommend the hotel/apartments to friends and family. The lava caves are amazing and only a short distance from the hotel, a trip to Mt. Teide is a must, Icod is a lovely small town and there are many many wonderful areas to explore - the Teno area, and Masca.....stunning!! Garachico is a quaint seaside village and in the North there is a lovely authentic feel to the Island which I did not experience on a trip further South. If you like to explore this is a perfect base. Parking is free, the restaurant belonging to the hotel is good, although I also loved to eat at local Canarian restaurants and the free wifi is very handy.

Room Tip: I was very happpy with my room on the higher floor ( wasn't a self catering apartment ) with bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

These apartments are situated in the North of the island around 90 minutes drive from the South Airport..
The Manager Naomi is a gem, very helpful, nothing is too much trouble for her of her partner(Juan Carlos).
The apartment I occupied for two weeks in March, was very clean spacious and well appointed, with a shared balcony, with tables chairs, and even a large double bed under a large canopy.
I chose a self catering apartment, and my only gripe is that it was not too well equipped with utensils(kettle toaster etc) although I am sure if I mentioned it to Naomi she would have supplied them. I managed to cook a number of full meals with ease.
The restaurant downstairs is run by a charming lady, and the menu is Canarian and international, good portions, and very reasonably priced.
The town of Icod lies below the apartments, but beware it is quite a hike down and frankly I took a cab for the five minute ride both ways..well I was on holiday...... Icod is totally unspoiled, and with no fast food outlets or any sign of rampant commercialism, just a local restaurant or two, and shops. It is a lovely place but beware, little or no English is spoken.Two supermarkets have reasonably priced food and very cheap alcohol(decent white vino del casa) €. 60...a litre...beat that
Getting around was easy as previously stated, the bus system is fast, efficient, frequent, and reasonably priced with a discount fare card €12. You can get to the airport via a bus directly to Santa Cruz and changing for the airport.
So one gripe only, the TV is geared towards German TV and apart from Sky News and a couple of other news channels, along with the usual bible bashing channels, no English speaking channels, wheras the rest of Tenerife have all th usual UK Channels. This issue needs to be addressed urgently.
Besides that, a lovely vacation,being made to so welcome by Naomi , and in a lovely apartment block with traditional Spanish design with a sub tropical atrium.. All in all if you want to be away from the madding crowd... then Icod would be a great choice, and the apartments will not disappoint

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with a sea view.when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fontevraud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We spent here one week in the end of January 2011. We are hikers and we had a rented car.
It was little difficult to find the hotel in the first evening. We followed signs to village Amparo and it is not so many roads going there. The hotels sign is big on the roof and it is easy to see when you are close.
There are several parking places both sides the hotel and even by the road. Parking will not be a problem.

We had a apartment with a balcony with a sea view. It was very clean and beautiful. The kitchen was good enough for us because we only had breakfast there. I think lack of bowls, scissors, peeling knife etc might make cooking difficult. Personnel was very helpful and polite. They seemed to be happy to help us when ever we needed them. The room was cleaned, beds were made and dishes washed daily.

Due to winter time the rooms were chilly and the floor was cold. Not even woolen socks could prevent feeling the coldness of the floor. I recommend you to take flip-flops with so that you can use them inside. It was also impossible to dry hiking clothes inside. We had to leave them on our balcony and usually they were dry next day.

There is a heated Jacuzzi on the common balcony on third floor. It is very nice! There is also a sauna but it was not yet ready to use. I think the electrification is missing.

In our room WiFi was not working. Either satellite channels on TV.

There is a restaurant downstairs the hotel. Food was good and local.
There is also a very nice local bar pretty close: take left road downhill . Soon there is T-crossing, turn right downhill. After two block there is a Bar cafeteria Amazon on the left side of the street. They speak English and are very polite. Prices (Jan 2012) beer 1,20 euro; hamburger (added fried egg , tomato and slice of ham) 1,80 euro; double sandwich with french fries 3 euros.

Town itself is local and quiet. We could not find any restaurant open 10 pm. Not even on Saturday evening.

A tiny local shop is located one block uphill road from the hotel. You can buy coffee, bread, cheese, salami and juice but the selection is very small. It is open 9 to 9 every day, I think.

There are several hiking paths close to Icod. You can easily get there by bus but rented car is easier. We took a bus to Puerto de la Cruz and one-way ticket was 2,75 euros/person.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raikuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in the Penthouse over Xmas. The apartment very comfortable with views of the sea to the front, and Tiede to the rear. The kitchen could have done with a bit more space to wash pots, but it was fine for the week. The sun streaming through the windows in the morning was lovely. Our balcony was a little shaded, but maybe the time of year. Icod itself was a nice little town - it's not touristy like many places on the Island, so feels quite 'real'. The hills are something else! It is only a short walk into the centre (20mins) but walking back up those hills... wow! I was out of puff by the time we got back to the apartment (and I'm a regular runner!) The staff were very friendly. We arrived at about midnight, but it wasn't any trouble to prepare us some tasty food. I would definitely recommend a car for getting about - parking at the apartment was absolutely problem-free. We hired a car at the airport - it was about a 90minute drive to Estrella - but that meant we could easily get around the island (though the roads are not just a little winding - be warned!). Would go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony for lovely views over the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larafro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icod de los Vinos
17.3 km away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#15 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
330 reviews
22.7 km away
La Quinta Park Suites
La Quinta Park Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Ursula
832 reviews
34.7 km away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Panoramica Garden
Panoramica Garden
#61 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
173 reviews
46.9 km away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
875 reviews
17.9 km away
Sol Costa Atlantis
Sol Costa Atlantis
#12 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Estrella del Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Estrella del Norte

Property: Apartamentos Estrella del Norte
Address: Carretera Amparo 75, 38430 Icod de los Vinos, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Icod de los Vinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Icod de los Vinos
Price range (per night): $41 - $110
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Estrella del Norte 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrella del Norte Apartments is a nice family-run aparthotel located in the north side of Tenerife, in the town of Icod de los Vinos. Estrella del Norte offers different types of accommodation, from double rooms to 1 or 2 bedroom apartments. Some of the apartment have a lovely private terrace to enjoy the panoramic views and the sun of Tenerife. Equipped with separate bedroom, bathroom with hairdryer, amenities, large lounge with sofas, a kitchenette with toaster, kitchenware, microwave. Its privileged situation in Icod offers tranquility, nature and wellness. Relax on the terrace , and enjoy a delicious meal at the restaurant of the house, "Los Faroles". Free daily maid service, wi-fi internet, elevator, minimarket, laundry service, tour desk and free parking . Family atmosphere. Pets are allowed on request. Cots and high chairs for your baby. In the same building there is a pharmacy, a bakery , minimarket, restaurant. Some of the nearby attractions to Estrella del Norte Apartments are: * Cueva del Viento:Wind Cave: the experience of visiting one of the biggest volcanic tubes in the world at your fingertips * Drago Park: know this mythical tree, symbol of the city of Icod, and star of many legends. * Historical and artistic center of Icod: Stroll through typical cobbled streets, full of interesting places, stores, warehouses, museums and restaurants. We await you in North Star Apartments, the ideal place to enjoy your holiday and discover the real Tenerife ... See you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Estrella del Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Estrella Del Norte Hotel Icod De Los Vinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing