We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol La Palma Apartments by Melia
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We stayed over february Half term with our 2 children. First impression of the hotel was good, the foyer was bright and spacious, check-in was fairly quick. The hotel is in a great location at one end of the promenade overlooking the sea and there are amazing sunsets. That's the good bits. Our room was 2102, a ground floor one bedroomed apartment. From the outside the door is very tatty with paint peeling and a tarnished handle. Dark green paintwork which is quite depressing. Inside the room was very dated - not necessarily a problem. The bedroom was dark and stuffy with no opening window, wardrobe door was very stiff and the 2 drawers didn't slide easily. The main room had a sofa bed made up for our children - if you sat on it you almost touched the floor, so you can imagine it wasn't the most comfortable thing to sleep on. The curtains in the room didn't even cover the whole window so at night the lights from outside shone through into the room. TV was old but functional. Fridge must have been from when the hotel was built in the 1990's and the freezer box had about 3 inches of ice all round it and didn't even keep things frozen - it needs throwing away. The noise the fridge made was like an aeroplane engine - presumably because it was trying to cool itself down and it ran all night long! The kitchen had basic equipment but no kettle. I asked at reception for one but was told they are only for the hotel guests and were not allowed to be used for the apartments! Very strange because they were willing to loan me a hair dryer so why not a kettle??? Bathroom ok , again very dated but clean. Our other main problem were the ants. Leave even a crumb of food out and the place will be covered. I complained twice. The first time I was told that it didn't matter which floor you were on the ants will still come; they sprayed our room. They 'may' be able to move our apartment in a few days. After this we put all our food in the fridge - -even crisps and medicine because the ants had discovered it in the bathroom as well. The second time was the day before we left and the man did at least apologize and tried to see if he could find us a different room. By this time we were leaving the following day so we said it wasn't worth it. We also had a visit from a cockroach one morning! Not a relaxing break at all. The gardens etc are pretty but look closely and you will find broken flower pots, cracked steps etc. There was even one step which the tile had cracked on that had been glued back together rather than replacing it - surely a health and safety issue? It would be much better to remove the broken things, replace them when you can rather than leaving it tatty. The pools were pleasant enough - the floor was rough in some places but as its 1.75m deep there was little chance of anybody hurting themselves on it. The dining room was ok - tables quite close together and very busy when we went; eat on the outside terrace if you can and watch the sunsets. Food reasonable, we stuck to the freshly cooked meats and fish at dinner time. Breakfast was the best meal - lots of variety and freshly prepared omelettes to order; lovely fresh bread. The food is mainly geared to German guests who probably make up the majority of the customers. Evening entertainment was geared to older guests - many of them were retired, in fact we only saw a handful of children all week. Wifi is free but didn't work in the apartments only the reception area and the connection was very temperamental. Our apartment was not 3 star - maybe 2 and some of the signs around the place indicate they used to be 4 star, so standards have obviously slipped. This place needs a lot of investment to make it somewhere you would wish to return. The manager should take a personal look at these apartments, I'm sure he would be embarrassed at the state of them.

Room Tip: Avoid the apartments especially 2102, try the hotel instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjk787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017

We had a week in an apartment here. We originally requested a sea view apartment which we didn't get. The first night was hell as the mattress was like a brick and as I suffer from a medical condition I found myself crying in pain at reception early the next morning. Within an hour, the mattress of myself and my partners bed was changed. Unfortunately when changing it they took our sheets, so another trip to reception and 20 minutes later the beds had been done. Cannot fault the staff. They were courteous, friendly and all spoke English. The entertainment was a bit dated but seeing as 80% of the guests were German and in their 70s it was fitting. The hotel and apartments were exceptionally clean and the cleaners came 6 days. If you wanted clean towels, you just left the dirty ones on the floor. All the staff could not do enough to make your stay a good one. Apartment decor could do with updating. The restaurant is fantastic value and caters for every need. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank debra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We booked here last minute as the accommodation we had booked months before in Tazacorte was very disappointing. So to the other reviewers who didn't have a good experience here then everything is relative I guess. We booked a studio apartment with side sea view. The apartment was exactly as described with a large double sided balcony and good location for sunshine. The beds were comfy, the bathroom worked, the shower worked, the staff were very good although we waited just a short while but that was just until the English speaking staff member was available and he was very helpful. The restaurant staff were very good, helpful, efficient, the buffet was absolutely fine for the 3 days that we were there though I wouldn't want a buffet everyday if we had been there longer. The small village of Puerto Naos is a pleasant 5 minute walk along the prom with several small bars and shops. OK no wifi in the rooms but the huge reception area has lots of quiet corners and sofas and in the evening we went down to check emails over Xmas etc we spent a very relaxing couple of hours with internet, reading Kindle and listening to a pianist playing easy and well known tunes. Yes car parking is a problem, we got parked by chance near the entrance and decided to relax & stay put for the 3 days we were there - we were just glad to be in a better place. I think once luggage is off loaded you could park in the village, as you come down the prom from the hotel there is a large area of rough ground on the right hand side before the first apartment block (and up one block) quite a lot of cars were parked. It isn't far and believe me I'm not a fast walker!

Room Tip: We had studio 3201 with side sea view. I think hotel rooms rather than apartments have the front oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Brasspenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel is located near a beautiful bay, with a very nice and cozy village, with good restaurants, but this is the end of every positive thing I can describe. Rooms are old and poorly maintained. There is not enough parking in the immediate neighborhood and the hotel's staff did not inform us about the availability of parking in the village, suggesting to leave the car along the main road. We've been waiting for 1 hour to check-in, only having 5 customer in queue and... no wifi, apart from the main lobby.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Fabruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

This was the fifth time we visited sol la palma. We stayed in appartment 2111.
We were surprised (our fifth visit!!!) we had to stay in this appartment because of the poor location.
The appartment is situated in the middle.It was very noisy because several neighbours where chatting loudly on their terrace until 24.00 so we couldnot sleep. We complained but nothing changed. There were also a lot of chickens and roosters who wake us up from 5.00. The hotel did some effort to catch the animals but a few days later they returned. The chickens belong to a farm next to hotel. Maybe the hotel should speak about it with the farmer.

There are also 5 cats on the property. On signs you can read that the hotel feeds the cats. A few look healthy and fat but there was one cat (the red one) who looked very sick and skinny. We told the reception because as an animal lover it was not nice to see. We felt sorry for the cat. We hope the hotel takes the responsibility. Taking care of an animal is not just feeding but also give medical attention if needed.

La palma and puerto naos is our favourite destination. We also liked the hotel (appartement) the other years and were always looking forward to visit again.

We were very dissappointed! We expect more for regular visitors. I don't think we return!

Ivo de Haan
ivo19804@hotmail.com

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ivolapalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Naos
0 km away
Sol La Palma Hotel by Melia
9.5 km away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
5,022 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
1,052 reviews
28.6 km away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
169 reviews
2.8 km away
Las Norias
Las Norias
#2 of 9 in Tazacorte
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol La Palma Apartments by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol La Palma Apartments by Melia

Address: Puerto Naos | La Palma, 38769 Puerto Naos, La Palma, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Puerto Naos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Naos
Price Range: $68 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol La Palma Apartments by Melia 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set overlooking the tranquil beach of Puerto Naos and the Atlantic Ocean, Sol La Palma is a large aparthotel complex, with excellent facilities, ideal for a holiday with family or friends. Take a dip in one of the 2 swimming pools with ocean views. You can get more active by doing some exercise in the hotel's gym. The Sol La Palma resort also organises a variety of day time activities. Relax your body in the onsite wellness center offering a sauna and a range of massages and beauty treatments. Sol La Palma Apartments is located 8 km from Los Llanos de Aridane and 35 km from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol La Palma Apartments by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol La Palma Apartments By Melia Puerto Naos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing