We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Remote Rest & Relaxation by the river” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Beautiful BC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Remote Rest & Relaxation by the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

While this location is remote ... down a dirt road ... and not "near" anything - a few km (or miles) to town ...it is an oasis beside a river ... and it is easy (and inexpensive) to get a taxi to town. If you make arrangements with the driver to pick you up at a destination and time to return to the hotel, that worked well. Be prepared that beyond your room and a very cold swimming pool, there is nothing to do here but relax. If you want to spend time unwinding ... this is the place. Several reception staff speak English, most other staff do not. Dining room food was sometimes buffet (and ordering off menu was discouraged) and other times off menu. From other's experiences, we were warned to "pay as you go" for drinks at bar (which is inside restaurant) meaning one by one ... otherwise, your tab could be greater than your orders. And, if your supper meal is included with your room rate and you wish dessert, be sure to ask for the dinner menu for desserts, otherwise, they may give you the 'bar dessert menu' which has prices beside the desserts (some are different desserts from the dinner menu) and then bill you for the dessert separately. .. if you know this ahead and choose that dessert, just know it will be a separate bill. Overall, an oasis of quiet, on beautiful grounds, with pleasant staff.
(If you like the sound of the river flowing, ask for a riverside room ... lovely.)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are lovely if you like the sound of the flowing water ... we found it re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miraclesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry for the unpleasant experiences you had during your stay. Our menu has been completely renovated and our buffed has been expanded to a much bigger variety. As of the mishap you faced with the bill for your dessert we are definitely taking this into consideration and will share your experience to our entire service team.

We will like you to know that our road has been completely renovated so it will be easier to get to us without dust.

We apologize for not responding your comment before. We had some problems with the assistant of this area but its all been solved and now you will be able to experience an immediate response. We hope to see you again so you could enjoy all of our upgrades.


Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    100
    34
    14
    8
See reviews for
55
90
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were driving and had a heck of a time trying to find this place. We finally had a kind soul on a motorbike who led us to the turn in the road. Even after that it was a couple of rough miles on dirt roads. We had a room with a balcony view of the river. The setting and the grounds were beautiful. The beds were a little uncomfortable and the bathroom was a little rough. Making a reservation was quite a process, they emailed us a form and it was hard to decipher exactly what information they were requiring. Evenso, the check in process went smoothly and they had our room reserved. . Breakfast in the morning was included and very good, Pool did not look like it was very well maintained. If you are white water rafting or visiting the waterfalls in area it is an inexpensive place to stay for a few days. Don't think I would recommend for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river more expensive - but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LibLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding our hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences you faced getting to our hotel, we have placed more signs that will direct all of our guests to our point. As of the dirt road, you might as well know that it has been completely renovated. Our rooms have been fully refurbished so you could have a more comfortable bed and a better-equipped bathroom.

I am truly sorry that your reservation process was a bit hard and that you encounter problems with the pool. We will truly take hands into this problem and trained our staff so it can’t happen again.

We apologize for not being able to respond your comments earlier. We were facing some problems within this area but it has been fixed. We now count with qualified personnel to respond your reviews immediately.

We hope to see you soon around our hotel, wish you the very best.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

We arrived after a hair raising drive through Santiago to the hidden jem that is Jarabacoa. After a week in Sosua this was a refreashing change of scenery. The hotel is pretty hard to find as there are no signs off the main road so make sure you can speak enough spanish to ask for directions. The road leading up to the resort is a bumpy gravel road but once you get to the resort it is worth the effort. We arrived and were the only 4 people at the resort, which is odd considering how amazing the food and service turned out to be. The weather is about 10 degrees colder than the beach so dress warm, and caution booking the spa if it is cold as the wind makes the experience reminicent of an outdoor spa in Canada. The Karaoke bar was rocking, and the staff went above and beyond looking for English speaking music. For 250 pesos you can buy a tourist map from the reception, and I recomend it, we ended up seeing 2 of the most amazing waterfalls in the Caribbean. The view from our suite was amazing, the rapids on the Jimenoa river played in the background as we enjoyed cervesa's on the patio. Overall I recomend this hotel for anyone who wants quite elegance away from the relentless vendors and crowded beaches that are easy to fond on the DR.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aduffy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking a time to review our hotel in such a positive way. We are glad we fulfill your expectations.

Regarding the road it has been completely renewed and we have posted more signs so our guests are able to reach us in a faster way.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.

We hope to see you soon and wish you the very best.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estados Unidos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

The waiter at the restaurant brought three beers to the table and placed four on the bill. He used the 3rd beer to fill both glasses. The were the small beers and we were charged over twice the market price for the beers. Additionally, beans were 75 Rd extra along wtih salad at 165 Rd. The bill was 1600 Rd for lunch. I have nothing good to say about the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Jhovan

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We apologize for the problems you had with the food at our restaurants. Since your visit, our menu has changed and the restaurants’ staff, too. You may be interested to know that since your stay at our place we’ve added a new area to our hotel. The guests room has been refurbished, as well as our lobby bar and restaurant. We’ve included an activity area where you could have meetings, weddings and any other activity you desire. As of the roads they have been completely renewed and we have posted more signs over so your arrival could be easier this time.

We are sorry for lasting so long to respond your review. We’ve experienced some inconviniences with our tripadvisors assistant. From now on our guests will get an immediate response.

I will like to personally contact me whenever you decide to visit us to make sure everything goes well with your stay. I hope to see you soon and wish you the very best.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

It's a lovely place to stay and enjoy the views of this region that some call "the Dominican Alps". It's near the small town of Jarabacoa, but one feels completely in the middle of the jungle, next to a scenic mountain river, the Jimenoa.
Not the cheaper hotel for Dominican Republic, at least compared with the prices one pays in the great beach resorts of the country, but I guess that I could have paid much less if I had made a reservation not directly at the hotel.

  • Liked — The scenic location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank stego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for providing us with your feedback. You may be interested to know that since your stay at our place we’ve added a new area to our hotel. The guests room has been refurbished, as well as our lobby bar and restaurant. We’ve included an activity are where you could have meetings, weddings and any other activity you desire. As of the roads they have been completely renewed and we have posted more signs over so your arrival could be easier this time.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.

On behalf of the hotel we encourage you to come and experience the entire enhancement we’ve had in the past years.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarabacoa
14.1 km away
El Rey
El Rey
#1 of 2 in La Vega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
6.9 km away
Jarabacoa River Club & Resort
3.2 km away
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
#2 of 9 in Jarabacoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Rancho Baiguate
Rancho Baiguate
#3 of 9 in Jarabacoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
7.7 km away
Hotel Rancho La Aurora
Hotel Rancho La Aurora
#5 of 9 in Jarabacoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
6.1 km away
Rancho Olivier Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Jimenoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Property: Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Address: Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Price range (per night): $74 - $151
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Jimenoa 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only eight minutes away from the town of Jarabacoa, surrounded by a spectacular natural environment with a magic mountain landscape of the river Jimenoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Gran Jimenoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Jimenoa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing