We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved every minute”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crud yr Awel

Cosy, comfy living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom Patio terrace with mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom
Patio terrace with mountain views
Time for tea!
Gas-fired 'woodburner'-type stove
Fully-equipped, modern kitchen
Fully-equipped modern kitchen
Recently renovated bathroom with excellent shower pressure
Twin bedroom
A small cot is provided.  measuring 55x90 cm, height from mattress to top of the rail is 40cm.
Toys and teddies
Summer blooms in the terraced garden (steep steps)
Help yourself to herbs growing by the back door
Crud yr Awel / Cradle of the Breeze
View of the Moelwyn mountains from the rear terraced garden
Nearby Portmeirion Italianate village
Llanberis Pass, Snowdonia
Black Rock Sands, Porthmadog
Caernarfon Castle
Slate locomotive on display in Blaenau Ffestiniog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Teresa B
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved every minute”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the nicest, most fully equipped house I have stayed in for ages. It is small but really well organised. Fully modernised but with old touches to make it a home from home. My teenagers loved it. Wi Fi worked perfectly. We were greeted with a fantastic hamper of treats which topped the lovely cottage. Good communication from the owner and we will be returning.
The area is beautiful and we were really lucky with the weather. From the cottage you can walk in fantastic surroundings or you can go further into the National Park
.if you love walking it is the place to be. The quarry up the road has zip wires above and below ground as well as a bouncing cavern.
We found a fabulous woodland Segway near Criccieth where we were welcomed and entertained and will definitely go back there too.
There are a variety of villages and towns inland and on the coast to explore and discover local legends.
Many thanks to owner Mary Ann.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Couldn't fault it at all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
I'm thrilled to bits that you all had such a great time and I would love to welcome you back any time. Thank you so much for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRIS B
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed here from 28 Dec 2015 to Jan 1st 2016. We had the most comfortable and relaxing time staying at this cottage. It is very well equipped for all needs. It is warm and clean and the owner has tried to think of everything the person renting would need. There is a lot of considerateness shown to people renting as there is lots of info left to explain how things work, where everything is and it feels that you could call the owner at any time (though I would suggest for most there would be no need). The only way to truly understand what this cottage has to offer and what a pleasure it is to stay here is to book and see for yourself. The complimentary hamper of goodies are really 'goodies' not just a token. We would definitely stay here again. Due to the time of year we did not venture to the rear garden, however based on what the cottage had to offer, we would suggest it is likely that the same attention has been given to the garden with visitors in mind to providing a restful area in the summer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and comfortable bed and seating
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were warm and comfortable. I have tried to make the cottage a home from home (I stay at the cottage quite a lot myself) and it is wonderful to know that guests like you find it well-equipped and welcoming. I'd love to welcome you back at any time, hopefully when the weather is a bit warmer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, great short break”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A really lovely cottage fitted with everything you could need for a short break. Warm, cosy, easy parking, everything just right.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and I'm so glad you were warm and comfortable. Please come back again any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My wife and i spent a few days at Crud yr Awel in september what can i say, it is a lovely little cottage beautifully clean with everything in it one might need, we especially appreciated the hamper that was left for us after our long drive. The surrounding area of the snowdonia national park is outstanding. only slight criticism was the lack of TV signal as my wife does like her soaps but that aside we had a great time. Thank you Mary Ann for the warm welcome we received.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for writing a review. I'm sorry the lack of TV signal spoiled an otherwise lovely stay. This is due to the huge rock immediately behind the cottage and I have drawn attention to it in the description of the cottage on Holiday Lettings at Trip Advisor. Other guests have managed by watching their favourite programmes on iPlayer, as the free wifi signal is excellent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edclan
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked this cottage for my Sons 12th birthday as it was close to Bounce Below and we liked the look of it.

Having arrived late on the Friday we were met with a lovely hamper with some bread and other supplies, really nice touch and saves you having to hunt for the local supermarket (only a short drive into town).

The cottage is on a main road but not too busy or noisy opposite the rugby ground, has a lovely homely fell with the main bedroom downstairs next to the living room with the other (kids) bedroom upstairs, this worked well for us as the kids liked that separate feel and gave us both some privacy, the stairs to the kids room are very narrow but this does add to the feel of the place, the kitchen was really nicely done out and contained everything you needed to have a good stay, even things like foil and cooking oil.

The location is really good for getting about that part of Wales with Harlech Castle not far away and also Portmadog, went to bounce below which is about half a mile up the road.

The batroom was very nice and also the main bedroom, the kids said on several occasions on how comfy the beds were as they were the best they had ever slept in! the only downside (If you can call it that) is the lack of TV channels, for us this was fine as we liked going out and about and then at night relaxing and watching the many dvds that were also provided.

This really was a lovely little place to stay in somewhere you may not think of staying, worth a visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alll of it
Liked least: The soke alarm going off which appeared to just be the heat as no smoke
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
What a lovely review, thank you so much. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, exploring lots of the local attractions and were comfortable in the cottage. Please do come back another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing