We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
USD 83
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUSD 250
Agoda.comUSD 217
Expedia.comUSD 228
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveller rating
206
506
178
40
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
206
506
178
40
25
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 955 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The New Furano Prince Hotel has a great location for a ski in ski out holiday, but we found the service, restaurants, and shuttle bus options extremely limited and expensive.
The in hotel restaurant options were over priced, and the restaurant staff were unwelcoming and inflexible. For example at the Japanese restaurant we asked if we were able to order sushi and were told that we would have to sit at the sushi bar. As this sat ten people it was unlikely our group,of six would have got a booking during our six day stay. We also asked for a mixed tempura which was listed on the children's menu but were told the chef wouldn't make this for adults. Left a sour taste.
One of the kids lost the lift pass that was part of the accommodation deal and the staff said we would have to buy another one. They seemed to have no way of reissuing another or cancelling the lost one. That was another ¥11000. And they were quite rude about it - unable to explain why.
I've never before been charged for the use of the Onsen in a Japanese hotel either. As this is one of the great experiences of Japanese travel, this was yet another disappointment.
So we had to travel on the shuttle bus into the town of Furano to eat. 500¥ return and 30 minutes each way every night. The buses also run really irregularly so there's no such thing as an impromptu quick bite to eat.
The rooms are clean and spacious and the cleaning staff were great.

Room tip: Others have said look over the town but looking over the ski fields was great.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2013

What a fab holiday I had at the New Prince. Rooms are spacious and clean, and the house-keeping team obviously works very hard! Kudos to them. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet - what an amazing spread especially if you like Japanese food. The salad bar is perfect for a vegetarian like me. Service is top-notch. Plenty of shops in the hotel to keep us entertained, from the little shops and cafes at Ningle Terrace to the Bakery and even the Arcade room in the basement.
My only small gripe is: the menu options in the restaurants are not really catered to vegetarians; there is meat or seafood in almost every dish. You can always request for no meat but essentially you will just be eating rice + curry sauce + some some bits of vegetables. At the end of the day there really isn't a wide variety for vegetarians.

Room tip: You can choose either a room which faces the ski slopes or one that faces the town (and looking at the distant mountains). Both are great!
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greenflubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Our second stay at New Prince Furano, having returned to Furano after our trip in Dec 2011.

Just as before- a great hotel, many restaurant options, spacious rooms (this time our 8th floor room overlooked the ski slopes), friendly, helpful staff, and great snow and slopes. We returned partly because we have a three month old baby along and want something familiar (being out in the sub 0 temp with a baby is not an option) so we returned, to no regrets.

Through an excellent ski op, we had an early bird special deal with free transport to and back from chitose airport, free buffet breakfast (delicious as always-- but I do miss last year's grated yam). We skied for 6 full days.

This time, we went to kitanomine more often, making use of the free hotel shuttle between the two prince hotels.

We also had some dinners in the hotel, and some in furano town (a taxi costs about ¥2000 one way. Or take the shuttle ¥500 return per person).

Will return, maybe in a few years time.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank areisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Lovely surroundings. Good selection of Japanese as well as Western food. Nice lounge. OK onsen (the outdoor part was functional without having pretty views).

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyce l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Our family of three stead at this resort hotel over Christmas 2011/12. We found all staff to be unfailingly polite, despite language difficulties. The restaurants were varied in style and price. For us, with a vegetarian and a 6 year old in our group, we found the onsite Izakaya, and also the bakery, best suited. The food, particularly at the Izakaya, was beautiful. Cost wise, is wasn't cheap, but this was anticipated as we were in the ski fields. I read a previous comment regarding tattoos and the onsen. As an individual with ink, I chose discretion to be the best tactic. My husband stated that he saw heavily inked Japanese men in the male baths. As a final word on this subject, as with traveling anywhere, if you don't like the rules, don't go there, and certainly don't whine about it after the event. Investigating local custom prior to travel ensures that your behavior is in tune with the way people live. I would also like to recommend Scott Tovey, the international bookings and sales manager, who is often at the hotel. Scott was very helpful in answering all our questions, gave us his mobile in case we required his services on a day off, and had many wonderful suggestions for local touring whilst in the Furano are. I hope Furano stays as wonderful as it is. A true family destination, this hotel had it all. We will definitely return.

Room tip: Ask for village view; the volcano and town is more interesting than the ski slopes.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews