We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
JB-in-SB
Santa Barbara, California

Ski-bum kind of place at non-ski bum prices

Review of Hokuseiso
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 July 2017
In June 2017, my husband & I plus our 21-yr-old son & a friend (both of whom speak Japanese) stopped at Kutsurogi-no-Yado Hokusei-so (Hokusei) for one night on our way from Shiretoko to Sapporo.

I can't recommend it -- it's a funky ski-bum kind of place, but not cheap enough for real ski-bums at ~$80/night. The room furnishings are shabby and dirty (example: sheets & pillowcases were clean, but the pillows and futons themselves were gross; the air conditioner probably dated from the 1960s). They offered to deodorize our rooms before we arrived, and I think they tried, but it was hopeless since the entire building reeks of smoke. You can't just stay in your room to avoid it because the toilets are down the hall. Oh, and the Japanese baths (perfectly nice but the only shower/baths there are), are down in the basement.

For skiiers, the location is probably perfect as it is right across from the lift, but it wasn't so good for summer visitors like us who were looking for places to eat and to explore around. This part of Furano has lots of ski condos but very little retail. The part just across the river isn't much better -- no place we could walk to to get a good cup of coffee, for example. You really need a car to find anything decent.

No surprise, the staff were friendly but spoke minimal (no?) English. This wasn't a problem for us but be warned if you think you might need extra of anything or would like to get recommendations for a place to eat or visit.

In absolute terms this was the cheapest place we stayed in during our 8-day Hokkaido road trip. In value terms, it was the most expensive.
Date of stay: June 2017
Room Tip: top floor rooms may be nicest, but not sure if it makes a difference
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$330
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Hokuseiso
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$311
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
0.4 km from Hokuseiso
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$178
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Hokuseiso
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$138
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Hokuseiso
Free Wifi
Free parking
Furano Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$402
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Hokuseiso
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$226
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Hokuseiso
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$152
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hokuseiso
Free parking
Restaurant
The Double Room at the Edel Warme
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$202
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Hokuseiso
Free Wifi
Free parking
外観写真
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$129
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Hokuseiso
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$136
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Hokuseiso
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Furano
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
1
1
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1
1
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2016
Google Translation

Room tip: 3階は食堂と風呂が遠いです
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2014
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews